We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awfully Disappointing food AND service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Vida Garden Cafe

Bella Vida Garden Cafe
406 North Broadway, West Cape May, NJ 08204-1208
(609) 884-6332
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Dessert
Vineland, New Jersey
1 review
“Awfully Disappointing food AND service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Ok, so I've been at Bella Vida for breakfast previously and had generally good food and service, plus it has a nice atmosphere, so I went here for dinner with my fiancé last night.
Upon checking in we were told the wait would be 10 minutes. Not bad for 7:30pm in the off season, being one of the few places open. We were surprisingly seated more quickly-- at one of 2 tiny tables squished in-between the booths, specifically in the walk path of wait staff.

The waitress took coffee order was made but it took over 5 minutes for it to arrive. By that time we realized that the tiny table needed to have the flower vase removed just from the creamers, sugar, 2water glasses and silverware (which did not include any spoons, ergo stirring coffee was accomplished using the butter knife).

After perusing the menu, we ordered burgers and fries, along with a cup of black bean soup. When the bread/oil arrived, we had to ask for another table, realizing there was no way the table would hold 2 plates as well. We were moved in a few minutes to foyer area table, including old utensils (still no spoons...) but minus the oil for bread.

Anyhoo, down to the meal part... Our burgers arrived fairly quick, though I had the lettuce and tomato he had ordered on my bun, and the black bean soup (which was lukewarm on arrival).

Long story short the burgers were the most tasteless either of us ever had, fries had unexpected vinegar taste and the soup was terrible. All in all an expensive/$30+ change bad experience and we will never go back. The 26 cents change back by the way, which should've been there was not. Really now!?

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    72
    27
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Knox
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Great Place for Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We had dinner at Bella Vida our first night in Cape May. The food was very good and our service was great. We had a very friendly and efficient waitress. Had planned to return for breakfast, but did not make it. Maybe on our next visit to Cape May.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“A very well hidden gem in Cape May”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Bella Vida is off the beaten path and the tourist areas. But it's well worthwhile to hunt it out. The food is a combination of seafood dishes, Italian dishes and Costa Rican dishes. The pastas are homemade and the seafood is 'off the boat' fresh. The service was a tiny bit off the mark the night we visited. The restaurant is BYOB and I had to help our waiter uncork our wine. Otherwise it was a great night. I would recommend Bella Vida highly. They serve breakfast, lunch and dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“BEST BREAKFAST/BRUNCH/LUNCH IN CAPE MAY AREA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

A West Cape May gem. I have eaten here many times. The portions are large, omelette specials hard to ignore, fresh mixed juices delicious...for brunch I love the tempeh reuben and the sweet potato fries are spectacular. Also this is Salad heaven with too many choices and no limits to what you can add to your salad.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“GLUTEN FREE HEAVEN!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I did some reasearch about Cape May's restaurants before our vacation to find out which had GF menus. We ate at this restaurant 3 times during our week stay! It even pleased my Gluten eating family! We had two breakfast meals and one dinner. My family could not tell the difference between their regular pancakes and my GF pancakes. Amazing!! The seafood pasta dishes were so good!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bella Vida Garden Cafe also viewed

West Cape May, Jersey Shore
West Cape May, Jersey Shore
 
Cape May, Jersey Shore
West Cape May, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Bella Vida Garden Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Vida Garden Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.