We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in a cozy little restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Backstreet Simply Delicious

Backstreet Simply Delicious
600 Park Blvd, West Cape May, NJ 08204-1267
(609) 884-7660
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
new york
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food in a cozy little restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

If you're looking for a wonderful meal, look no further. This charming little restaurant offers a variety of interesting dishes. We ordered two appetizers- the fried tomatoes and the baked brie and wow, were they delicious! The best thing on the menu though,was their chilean seabass. It was so good that the following evening, my husband wanted to go back so he could enjoy it for dinner again! The food is fresh and flavorful, and the atmosphere is lovely. If you have children, they do have a children's menu. Although I wouldn't recommend this place if your children have a hard time sitting still or are extremely loud. This is a tiny and quiet restaurant. THis is a fine dining experience at a fair price. Go and enjoy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    33
    17
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westport, CT
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Delicious food, restaurant a bit noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We enjoyed our favorite dinner at Backstreet Simply Delicious. The food choices were interesting and our food was excellent. The ambience is very casual and the tables are closely spaced, so it was very noisy on a Sunday night. It is located in West Cape May, a longer walk away from the area near Congress Hall.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Interior isn't fancy, but food is wholesome & delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This place is off the beaten path--but not hard to find (just down the road from the CVS.) Delicious food; the sea bass and the lamb chops melted in our mouths. The side vegetables were yummy, too. If they fix up the interior a bit more they'll have the ambience to pull the whole thing off--though, as it is, we were not put off. This one closes after the season--so go now!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Unmatched area chef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled on this little gem after few days at Cape May and plenty of mediocre food. Without a doubt the chef is at the very top of the totem pole. The sushi quality tuna, pan seared sea bass, crab stuffed flounder - all were coked and seasoned to perfection and beyond . I read previous guests were upset the kitchen did not accommodate their requests cooking method, etc- duh! This is not the deep fried fast food restaurant with fisherman platter. Salt and pepper are not on the tanle cause one shoyld not need extras if the meal is perfect. For the quality and creativity offered this place is a steal. The deserts are outstanding( bread pudding, peach cobbler). btw try the fried tomatoes, a real French cuisine dish done perfectly

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A Great Breakfast Find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Come on Saturday or Sunday mornings to this small bistro for a more adult breakfast experience. The menu is not extensive but everything is first rate that the loyal local crowd greatly appreciates. The daily omelet specials are tempting and my crab and asparagus omelet was delicious. Next time I will bring some champagne to mix with my hand squeezed orange juice.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Backstreet Simply Delicious also viewed

West Cape May, Jersey Shore
Cape May, Jersey Shore
 
West Cape May, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Backstreet Simply Delicious? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Backstreet Simply Delicious, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.