We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Panico's

Panico's
422 Broadway, West Cape May, NJ 08204
609-884-7170
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
NJ
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We had a great meal here, recently. We arrived around 5 on Memorial Day weekend Saturday and got seated immediately. When we left around 6, people were waiting to get seated. We started with a fresh greens salad topped with strawberries, blueberries and a balsamic dressing to which a hint of honey was added. Delicious! We ordered the shared salad and it was huge. As an entree I ordered a grilled chicken and mozzarella with pasta which was excellent. My wife had crab raviolis in a light blush sauce that she enjoyed, as well. We finished with a tartufo shared desser that tasted good, but came out hard as rock making it impossible to eat with a spoon. Letting it sit for a few minutes allowed it to soften up, though. It's about a 4 block walk away from the beach from the 7-11. They do offer priority seating if you call ahead, but don't take reservations. The restaurant offers local wines by the bottle or you can bring your own.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    66
    18
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Food - Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Wow! We were visiting Cape May for the first time. This place was recommended by someone who lives in Cape May. The food was incredible. We had a fresh mozzarella appetizer, a wonderful blueberry/strawberry salad, and the Stuffed Mortadella Chicken entree. The portions are large, so sharing is a good idea. Everything was fresh, the presentation was beautiful, and the taste was amazing. The service was wonderful. We called about reservations and found out they only do preferred seating. We used this option and were seated immediately upon arrival (Saturday evening at 7:30). The prices are not cheap, but it is well worth the money. The restaurant itself is a converted church. The tables are close together and it gets noisy, but this reminded us of being at a restaurant in Italy, so we thoroughly enjoyed it. We even met the people sitting at the table next to us. We would definitely visit again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrick, New York
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
“Very pretty, an old church”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Well, besides being inflexible about not giving separate checks, they are very friendly. The restaurant is an old church that has been renovated. The owners are Greek, which means they have their own spin on Italian food. Don't count on their sauces or dishes to be meatless. Not many vege options other than pizza. What's nice is that it's byob so an evening out isn't too expensive.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square, PA USA
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Wow! Their grilled red snapper was out of this world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Oh yeah!!! We have tried to eat at Panico's for the past 2 years; however, they've always been closed when we've stopped by! The wait was well worth it!

Panico's is a wonderful Italian restaurant located inside an old church. It is beautifully decorated and our waitress was great! I ordered a personal brick oven pizza which was very good. My hubby ordered the fresh grilled red snapper. It was the whole fish ~ eyeballs, fins and all! Truly a yummy treat!!! and it was grilled to perfection! We shared a fabulous red wine gelato for dessert! OMG ~ another fabulous treat!

Panico's is only open for dinner Thursday-Sunday. Beginning Mother's Day weekend it will be open for dinner 7 nights a week.

We'll definitely be back! :)

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Italian Gem in West Cape May”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

This restaurant is in a former church so it is a unique setting. With high ceilings, the noise level might be a little high but don't let that stop you from coming here. We visited in April and it was packed! It is a BYOB. The food was enjoyable and the portions were generous. Our service was also good even with a packed house. It is in West Cape May so you may need to drive over but well worth it.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panico's also viewed

West Cape May, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Panico's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panico's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.