We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Gallois

Le Gallois
Pant-Yr-Afon, Penmaenmawr LL34 6AD, Wales
01492 623820
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Penmaenmawr
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Our first visit to Le Gallois won't be our last. Don't be put off by the rather dated decor and the general scruffiness of Penmaenmawr with its many empty shops, boarded up pub etc. This is a little gem of a place to eat. Good range of items on the menu. We had venison and steak for our main courses and they were delicious. All the food was cooked beautifully with clear attention to detail in presentation without being ridiculously "cheffy". Peter is using top quality produce with resulting first class flavours. Front of house service by Carol made it a really special night. They are a friendly and genuine couple, I would recommend anyone to give this place a visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    7
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

A pleasant small restaurant serving very high quality food with a friendly welcome and attentive yet unobtrusive service. Definitely worth another visit (especially if the venison is on the menu).

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“So lucky to have on our doorstep!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This place is very good. The food is great especially the steaks. I've enjoyed many a celebration in here and have never been disappointed. Carol and her husband are very good at looking after you and we felt so lucky that we could have first class food in a little village without traveling miles.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Just as good as the first time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Visiting Carol and Peter for many years ( twenty years. !!) Food and service are superb and always with a friendly welcome. One of the top places we've eaten anywhere. Worth travelling to if staying in near by resorts. But book first. Seasonal and local food for all tastes expertly cooked and served. No request is too much trouble. It is a meal experience and a lovely evening out. So don't plan on being out in ten minutes! We look forwrd to many more meals here.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant - delicious food and great customer service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We went here for dinner after reading the reviews and recommendations from friends. The restaurant is cosy and it was busy when we arrived. There was a good selection of starters and main courses. We had the onion soup and scallops and then the steak and sea bass which were all delicious - the steak was cooked just as we asked and the staff were attentive and friendly.
There was a tempting selection of desserts to choose from to finish off the meal. The owner seemed to know most of the guests and was very welcoming. We will definately be going back again. Booking is recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Gallois also viewed

Penmaenmawr, Conwy County
Penmaenmawr, Conwy County
 
Dwygyfylchi, Conwy County
Conwy, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Le Gallois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Gallois, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.