We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly owner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riccarton Motor Lodge

Save Saved
You added Riccarton Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Riccarton Motor Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riccarton Motor Lodge
214 Riccarton Road,, Riccarton 8041, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Riccarton
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great location and friendly owner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Riccarton is a very busy place post earthquake with great shopping especially the Mall. Riccarton Motor Lodge is one of many many options on Riccarton Road but based on the friendly owner George we will be back. Nothing was too much trouble for him. He was outstanding. The price was competitive with the rest. Everything was extremely clean and tidy. The unit we stayed in wasn't that big but it didn't really need to be. It was very warm and cosy during what was a very cold few days. We will return!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
2
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Geraldine, Canterbury, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

well another Hotel down and so many more to go, but this one has to be one of the nicest. Its very quiiet although on a very busy street. The bed is very comfortable and the room spacious and well equiped. The owners are lovely and very accomodating. We recommend this place as a great stopover to a wonderful city!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I visited Christchurch with my wife and son for the first time and I ended up at this premises looking for accommodation. George (owner) was very nice and welcomed us in a very professional and accommodating manner. We booked the room for one night as we were not sure of the plans for the next day but when I went to the reception this morning to extend the stay, I wasn't lucky enough. All the rooms were sold out. We moved out of the property and now staying at a property close to it but my wife and I still regret not booking it for the 2-3 nights at the first place. My son really enjoyed there as well and always kept showing me George's puppy who was inside their room ☺. I would recommend this property to all my family and friends planning a trip to Christchurch in the near future. Very pleased with the service. It's more of how you get the treatment really and George and the wife were very very kind.

Room Tip: Even their basic queen bedroom single unit is great. Can't go wrong choosing this property for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Clean, modern basic accommodation.
Great location, literally across the road to Riccarton Mall.
Very friendly and helpful staff.
Room was at the back and was lovely and quiet overnight.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

As a family of 3 arrived from Ireland, we arrived at the lodge feeling knackered after a very long journey. We were made welcome by George the owner and was showed the room. Admittedly, the one-bedroom apartment looked decidedly small for us and it couldn't have been more so in the weeks to come. We were literally on top of each other. The rooms are kept clean and tidy and kudos to the cleaning team. They made a brilliant job cleaning the place. If you want extra towel, just let Reception know and they are more than happy to accommodate you. The area is quiet too away from the hustle and bustle of Riccarton. It's only a walking distance to the Mall and you can catch a bus to anywhere in Christchurch, which was a boon.

Room Tip: Best to inquire about rooms on the ground floor... we felt an aftershock when we stayed there but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

There was a bag full of tea towels left in the room by the cleaner but the room was clean and tidy and had everything we needed for our short stay. The rooms are smaller than other motels on Riccarton Road but we were in a room that was situated away from the road and was quiet which was great.

The room would benefit from having blinds on the bathroom window as we kept the bathroom door open to avoid the room becoming too stuffy.

The owners were very friendly and the check in was prompt and easy. Probably wouldn't be my first choice on Riccarton Road but would stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the property are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Great motel in a great location. The rooms are clean and well appointed with modern decor. Staff are very friendly and super helpful. The motel is a very short walk away from the Riccarton shopping mall - fantastic shopping, movies and plenty of eating place choices! A great destination.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riccarton Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riccarton Motor Lodge

Address: 214 Riccarton Road,, Riccarton 8041, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Riccarton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Riccarton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish accommodation in the heart of Riccarton. Kiwi owned & operated, we offer friendly helpful service with our 16 well appointed units comprising studio, executive spa studio, 1 and 2 two bedroom spa units. All units comprise of a king size bed, electric blankets, free wireless high speed internet, phones, ironing facilities, hairdryer. Fully equipped kitchen facilities which include fridge, microwave & ceramic cooktop. LCD Televisions with Sky GUEST SELECT 50+ Channels. Cot & Highchair available. Continental breakfast, laundry. Double glased for quietness. Sprinkler system & smoke alarms.All units are non-smoking. Serviced daily. Private, off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riccarton Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riccarton Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.