We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wicklow Way Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wicklow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wicklow Way Lodge
Save
You added Wicklow Way Lodge to your Saves list
Oldbridge, Wicklow, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Wicklow B&B and Inns
Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We used this guest house for 3 nights after spending ten days camping around Ireland. We were made very welcome by Marilyn, Seamus and the other staff (who are a credit to you) and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The balcony bedroom has the most gorgeous view and I would certainly recommend you pay a little more for that! Everything was clean, spacious and comfortable to sleep. The breakfasts were delicious, my husband enjoying the Porridge especially! If we are to return to this stunning area in the future we wouldn't hesitate in staying at Wicklow Way Lodge again.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 & 2 are the balcony rooms with the most stunning view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
96
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Woodcote, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We used this Guest House whilst walking a section of the Wicklow Way and apart from the slog up the hill with our boots squelching everything else is positive. We arrived tired and wet and were greeted by a cheerful host with a very welcome cold can of Guinness. The lodge is a purpose build guest house with comfortable modern spacious rooms most with glorious views over the valley. All our damp stuff was quickly whisked away to the drying room. If, like us, you are walkers and do not have transport the owners are happy to drop you into to Roundwood and pick you up later in the evening. Breakfast was very good as was the packed lunch that our package included. A very enjoyable and comfortable night after a less than comfortable days walking. Thank you!

Room Tip: All the rooms I saw were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed with Wicklow way Lodge for 2 nights and would say that they made me most welcome. the team work well together to provide a warm and helpful welcome and stay. Travelling solo brings many advantages, but some challenges too, its the likes of Seamus and Marilyn that make it so much easier to overcome these hurdles and enjoy the trip.

I'm looking forward to going back again soon.

Room Tip: Great views from the Lodge make it worthwhile asking for one of teh rooms with a balcony deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorba linda ca
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is a lovely B&B that is the perfect blend of home style cozy and hotel convenience. The room we stayed in was comfortable and clean with a pretty view of the garden, en suite bath and tea/coffee. We left too early to enjoy the breakfast, but it smelled delicious and felt like home. A little slice of heaven.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were greeted by Marilyn with such a welcome, genuine manner. Throughout our couple of nights stay she couldn't have done more to make sure we had everything we needed and was a wonderful host. Seamus also helped plan our routes for a days hiking!

The Lodge is surrounded by stunning views. We were lucky enough to bag a balcony room-for that little bit extra cost, it's worth it! The Lodge is clean and well maintained. We stayed in two different rooms throughout our stay and both were spacious and the beds extremely cozy and comfortable. There is attention to detail, and it shows.

The breakfast was delicous and the waitresses serving were also very friendly and helpful. The lodge doesn't provide evening meals but there are pubs and restaurants near by.

You may prefer to visit this area by car if you are keen to explore within the area but it's well worth putting life on hold for a few days to fully appreciate the Lodge. There is plenty of beautiful walks and wonderful scenery to keep you entertained.

I recently went through the same palava of reading through many tripadvisor reviews, unsure of really how accurate they were, but I can honestly say, The Wicklow Way Lodge deserves the high ratings!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

The Inn is very nice and comfortable. We arrived early so we could not check in but Marilyn gave us some good places to see and a great way to spend the day. Marilyn's breakfast was fantastic so much food and all very good. The location is beautiful. The furnishings are all very nice and the Inn is well maintained. We stayed for one night but we would definitely come back and stay again if we are ever in the area. If you are in the area its a must. One tip use the directions supplied on their site as the google maps and our GPS did not do as well.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, IL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

A beautiful B&B in a stunning part of Ireland. The lodge was clean and well-maintained, with spacious rooms, comfortable beds, and great views. Marilyn was an excellent host, and the breakfast was by far the best of any we had while staying in B&Bs throughout Ireland. We had our itinerary planned out well in advance (which you must do if you want to get rooms at B&Bs like this - book well ahead of time), but if we could do it all over again we'd have planned to stay here longer than we did. While you're there, make sure to visit Glendalough and walk the Spink and Glenealo Valley trail, and wrap up the day with a dinner at The Wicklow Heather.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wicklow Way Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wicklow Way Lodge

Address: Oldbridge, Wicklow, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Wicklow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Wicklow
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Wicklow Way Hotel Wicklow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wicklow Way Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.