We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Knockree Youth Hostel

Save Saved
You added Knockree Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Knockree Youth Hostel
Lacken House, Wicklow, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed here as part of large organised group. Staff were very amenable and accommodating of our sometimes rowdy (but lovely) young people, even down to the late-night, accidental fire alarm. The surroundings are scenic, the grounds have plenty of spaces and the hostel, despite being large, really retains a homely feel- the TV room feels like you really could be at home. Has it's own shabby-chic style ( think polished concrete with 70's teak and Swedish superstore) the I found really homely and welcoming. We didn't eat their food, but kitchen was very well stocked for us to prepare meals for over 20 at a time. Plenty of space made available to us to store our large amount of supplies too! There were also a couple of decent vending machines and a coffee machine. A games room with ping pong table doubled up as a great space to carry out group work and meetings. Has a partner business on site, offering outdoor activities at reasonable rates too. The atmosphere was great too, in true hostelling spirit, we met all sorts of people who were very friendly and interacted with the young people travelling with us.

Room Tip: I preferred the rooms in the hostel building as opposed to in the adjacent main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
9
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

If you are looking for a getaway in to the Wicklow mountains be it for a walking or cycling break you will get no better location than this hostel. Friendly staff at check in, great facilities and easy on the pocket this was a great find. Lovely atmosphere among the other guests which added to our stay. Stunning scenery all round.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This place is excellent, so far from the usual hostel. the rooms are modern, spacious, comfortable and cool. The whole place is so cool, great laid back atmosphere and funky furnishings. We loved the sunny breakfast room and beautiful grounds. The food was yummy and we were glad of the kitchen for making our own lunches to take with us the next day. There's also a room with lots of films to chill out in and watch some movies - great. Staff were friendly and helpful. The only slight downside for us was a rather pokey, cold shower room.
Overall, we loved our stay!

Room Tip: We got to the hostel early and managed to bag the two beds on the mezzanine level, which was great b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My boyfriend and I were nearing the end of our first day on the wicklow way; we had intended to camp but a sudden downpour of very heavy rain and impending darkness forced us to book into the youth hostel. It was a very pleasing building architecturally with great views of the valley and had excellent facilities; though like most hostels it wasnt exactly a couples retreat, which we didnt expect it to be. It was very clean and the beds were relatively comfortable (better than our roll mats would have been). What bothered us was that it was overpriced; like most hostels and hotels in ireland. Even off-peak and with a student price it was still well over 20 euro. That being said I probably would stay again; i think it would be a great place to stay as part of a bigger group.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I was lucky enough to have won a nights stay in a family room in Knockree. I have to say, I didn't know what to expect as it must be 22 years since I last stayed in a youth hostel - we used to go with my father as kids, travelled up and down the country. This time I was going with 3 young kids, the eldest being 5! I didn't know if I was cracked and if they were too young. Wow - what a surprise! First of all, location was amazing. The staff were so friendly and welcoming. We couldn't get over the room. Such space! The kids loved our walk from the hostel to the Coilte Forest just up the road and it was safe and easy to manage them on the walk, in the dining room & they even managed to get their bedtime tele thanks to the hostel having Sky TV. I wanted to see if it was doable and it certainly was. The kids didn't want to leave. I can't wait until our next trip, I would recommend it to any familys. Such a peaceful and ideal location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crumlin, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We arrived as a last minute idea on way back up from a horrible first experience in a Wicklow hostel. We walked in and got a shared dorm (unexpectadely with 2 german lads who were at our last location - very surreal!) and I was very very shocked at the place. The views are amazing....it is so lovely and peaceful (in the middle of nowhere but gorgeous)...the place is clean, the room we were in had downstairs a seperate shower/toilet, desk, bunk bed and single bed all downstairs and then stairs in the room lead to a mezzanine room with 2 double beds. It is very modern and funky decor. The staff were very helpful, there is a common room with full sky TV, books, DVD's, you can hire games from reception. There is a large self catering kitchen and plenty of fridges and storage area and pots/pans/cutlery etc to use. Breakfasts are available from 3euro for cereal, tea/coffee/juice, toast/soda breads etc....up to full fry up at 8 euro. Shop about 3 miles away or nearest big chain supermarket is in Bray. I would definitely recommend this place for those wanting peace on a budget yet still luxury. There is free wifi in the reception area too.....I am very much a city chick who hated the thought of hostels and camping....and this place has converted me! Loved it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin, ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

I left the Knockree Youth Hostel today after staying for 5 nights with my wife and 2 children (11 and 7). The location is rural but stunning. It's 7km from the nearest village and the views are fantastic.

The hostel provided food which was brilliant, like home cooked food and plenty of it. Of course you can bring your own food if you wish.

The hostel even had Sky TV which kept the children entertained when it rained.

The staff couldn't do any more for you and they were a minefield of information. While we were staying a German Scout Group put out a mayday call and they were accommodated with free food!

There's a mixture of dormitories and ensuite family rooms but all the beds are reasonable.

I'd have no hesitation in recommending the hostel if you're after great accommodation in a fantastic location that doesn't cost an arm and a leg.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Knockree Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockree Youth Hostel

Address: Lacken House, Wicklow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Wicklow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty lodging in Wicklow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Knockree Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knockree Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.