We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for family gathering.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arklow Bay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Arklow Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Arklow Bay Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sea Road | Arklow Town Centre, Arklow, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Arklow
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place for family gathering.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We are just back from a weekend break in the Arklow Bay celebrating my father inlaws birthday. There were 28 of us including 5 young children. From the moment we booked this break, the numerous emails amending our booking to Eva in reservations to the friendly welcome from reception on our arrival, our weekend break was really enjoyable. They accommodated all of our group on one floor. Our rooms were pleasantly decorated and spotless clean. We had reservations for the restaurant for the meal which was part of our package, we were quite a large group, but they seated us all together, banquet style. The food was delicious and the service was excellent. They even reserved an area in the bar for us for after the meal so we could all sit together, as it was a saturday night and the bar was busy. Mark continued to look after us in the bar with great service. This is the 2nd family occasion we have held in the Arklow Bay. I would not hesitate to recommend it. The staff are all extremely helpful and pleasant. My father inlaw thorougly enjoyed his birthday celebrations with all his family around him, and the children had a great time.

Room Tip: Great view from rooms to the front :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    94
    68
    54
    42
See reviews for
114
105
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Arrived on a very wet and cold December night, very nice interior, bar area and restaurant.
My room was good with a comfortable bed, unfortunatly some cigarette smell in the corridor, but the room was smoke free.
The door to the smoking area was left open so the smell made its way upstairs

Spoke to reception who told me smoking rooms were available.

Got swamped by young girls later as the hotel was hosting a Ballet performance- very nice atmosphere.

I did not take my swimsuit but the leisure centre looked very good, I will remember to take my Budgie Smugglers next time...and ask for a room in the non-smoking section

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the non-smoking section if the smell puts you off, if you are a smoker-they have s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Had a lovely few days with my daughters recently in the arklow bay hotel. The staff were very friendly. The food was high quality and the decor very upmarket. We had a spa treatment which is situated in the grounds of the hotel was very relaxing. The big shopping centre with loads of shops is just a short distance from then hotel and we were able to walk to it. It was very enjoyable and i would recommend it. Its a short drive from Dublin and the scenery on the way is spectacular. Co Wicklow is called the garden of Ireland and I would agree with that.

Room Tip: rooms facing the beach would have beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Spent one night in this hotel on a business trip to Ireland. The room was very comfortable with a beautiful view over the bay. However the flat roof of reception area below my room window was strewn with debris, rather unsightly. Food was good and staff very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I hadn't been to Arklow in years and was looking forward to catching up with friends I hadn't seen in nearly two decades, so I chose the Arklow Bay because it was the only hotel in town that came close to three stars (US stars).

I arrived around 10:30 at night and the hotel was pretty deserted, except for a few people at the bar. I checked in and they put me on the 2nd floor. The room was a good size, the internet connection was strong and the bed was comfortable. What I found deplorable is that the only toiletry in the bathroom was a piece of soap the size of a quarter. I mentioned that the next day and miraculously a full bar of Dove soap appeared when I returned to my room.

I purchased the B&B package, which included full breakfast, which was a buffet. The orange juice was always empty and I had to ask for this each morning. There were scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, cereals and yogurt. Scrambled eggs weren't so good but if you asked for fresh fried eggs, they would make them for you, which was nice.

One downside (which I knew in advance) was the location. It's about a 15-20 minute walk to the center of town. It's a nice walk if the weather is nice, but much of the time it's rainy and cold. One upside is the excellent health/fitness center next door. It had a very clean and well maintained pool, hot tub and gym - all included in the cost of the hotel room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acapulco, Mexico
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We checked in without booking after a long drive and were greeted by a very friendly and cheerful receptionist who sent us up to a comfortable enough but not very attractive room with a lousy view. Clearly there must be a lot of rooms with fabulous views, but to be fair, it was a weekend and there was at least one wedding going on, so I take the blame on this one! We had a good nights sleep and good buffet breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Our son and his new wife had their wedding reception in the Arklow Bay Hotel in August 2012 and to say it was a fantastic day is an understatement. From the moment it was booked they were looked after so professionally by all the staff and especially by Tina who was an absolute gem. All our guests commented on the food as being excellent and also on the accommodation, the food and bar staff and service and the leisure facilities. The second night as equally as good. All in all we would have hesitation in recommending the Arklow Bay. Thanks a mil to all concerned

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arklow Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arklow Bay Hotel

Address: Sea Road | Arklow Town Centre, Arklow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Arklow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Arklow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arklow Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Arklow Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arklow Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.