We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge to your Saves list
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vale of Avoca, Arklow, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Arklow
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Great location and vista. Stopped by for dinner with a friend recently on a wet rainy evening. The restaurant was busy but we were quickly served by friendly staff. The chicken special was delicious and well presented. The apple pie and cream was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinéad O, Front Office Manager at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent meal with us. We have built up an excellent reputation in the area when it comes to the food here in Woodenbridge. We source all our ingredients locally where possible, using the freshest and most in season produce - and this attention to quality shines through in our dishes. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    95
    26
    19
    7
See reviews for
39
142
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Lovely location and relaxing atmosphere. Service was good and staff attentive without being over the top. Room was clean and a good size (bathroom a little shabby but adequate) . Food was good. A lovely introduction to our first night in Ireland.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinéad O, Front Office Manager at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope it was the first pleasant night of many on your visit to Ireland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We booked this place just 2 nights before we visited on a 4 night tour of the Irish Republic. While we knew what it looked like from the outside, nothing could prepare us for the charm of the place that hit us as we drove around a bend in the road. It is called a lodge and that is exactly how it looks nestled as it is into the lush green hills of Ireland. We meet some great local people in the bar that night who treated us as old friends, we took some fantastic photoes as we walked along the river and the grounds and we had a great nights sleep. A brilliant way to spend our last night in Ireland.

Room Tip: Any room is great here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinéad O, Front Office Manager at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
It's great to hear such positive comments from our guests. Woodenbridge Hotel is the oldest hotel in Ireland, dating all the way back to 1608. There is great atmosphere and character to the hotel, and the framed photographs and documents from yester year provide an insight in to the history of the area. The lodge is peaceful and relaxing, especially with the river running behind it. We are delighted to have made your last night in Ireland such a memorable one, and we hope to perhaps see you again some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

we loved the quaintness of this hotel. the atmosphere was very relaxing the service was very good and staff very friendly, the food was very good too. only downside was the room we were in. it was first room in corridor and noisy. it was also quit dark but then it was a very old hotel. if I stay here again I will book one of there chalets they were beautiful in a lovely setting.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinéad O, Front Office Manager at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Guest, I'm pleased you found the atmosphere and service so pleasant during your stay with us. I apologise that you found it noisy outside your room, this is not the norm and if we had known this we could have moved you to a room in the lodge if there was one available. Thank you for your feedback, and we hope to see you back here again soon so that we have an opportunity to redeem ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We booked The Woodenbridge at the last minute to act as a base for playing golf at The European Club. It is a perfectly adequate hotel and the older building (we stayed in the newer annex) had charm. The food at the restaurant was good and the restaurant staff was friendly.

Our room was pretty motel-like but comfortable and clean. The staff at the front desk lacked some of the normal Irish charm and friendliness. Much more of a hotel experience than a B&B.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinéad O, Receptionist at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are delighted to hear such nice comments in relation to our staff and food, we display all comments in our staff area so everyone can read them. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy some aspects of your stay. We apologise that you felt the front staff lacked some of the normal Irish charm and friendliness, this is very unusual as we can assure you all our reception staff are all Irish and from the local area. Woodenbridge Hotel and Lodge is a family run hotel which is the oldest hotel in Ireland, we strive to maintain the old world feel of the hotel whilst providing our guests with modern amenities, we are sorry that your recent stay wasn’t up to the high standard we set ourselves. Thanks again for your feedback and I’m glad, as you said in your review, you found the food in the bar to be of a high quality, and that you will come back to stay with us again, which will hopefully give us a chance to redeem ourselves.

Kind regards,
Reservations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroomsportNorthernIreland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

very good hotel food superb, most of the staff very good except for the mature woman behind reception. Thought her phone call obviously to a friend was more important than us checking in. Scenery was fab lots of little villages and great sight seeing in general.
Only down side was if the weather was not good it would not be very pleasant walking from the lodges we stayed in to the hotel for food and drinks.
A golfers paradise so many golf clubs nearby, Very relaxing atmosphere even bar food was plentiful and good quality. Will definetly be back again but hope the uncaring lady at reception is not on duty this is the reason why I have not rated it as excellent.

Room Tip: Should weather be unsettled try and get a room in the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbhotel, Receptionist at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we greatly appreciate and take seriously all guest feedback. Firstly, I would like to give my sincerest apologies for the negative experience you encountered upon check in, this is not normally the case, as the satisfaction of our guests is our top priority, and I know that first impressions count so I hope you will give us the opportunity to make it up to you in the future. I am delighted to hear that you explored the area, as Woodenbridge and Avoca are abundant with natural scenery and breath-taking views. You are correct, there are many local golf clubs in the area, maybe next time you can include a couple of games of golf! We hope to see you again in the future so we can rectify your experience on check-in and hopefully on your next stay the sun will be out and about in the sky! Keep in touch via facebook and our website for all our fantastic deals too!
Is mise le meas,
Ciara Byrne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Wonderful setting - the scenery was just fabulous
we stayed in the lodges which are a short walk from the hotel - staff very friendly and food plentiful but was a little disappointed with the presentation - great weekend entertainment in the bar at night -for families close to Arklow beaches and leisure centre and a great shopping centre. stayed for just two nights and enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Lodges are quiet but without character
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbhotel, Receptionist at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your thoughtful comments, we appreciate that you took the time to write us a review. We are delighted that you had a great weekend break in the hotel’s lively atmosphere. We believe Woodenbridge and the Vale of Avoca hold some of the most beautiful scenery in Ireland, and we are glad you agree. We take great pride in all our staff and we take our customer service very seriously, thank you for your thoughtful mention. Our chef was pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food, and we shall take your kind suggestions on board with the presentation. We hope to see you here again in the not-so distant future.

Is mise le meas,
Ciara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge

Address: Vale of Avoca, Arklow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Arklow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Arklow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the vale of Avoca, one of Ireland’s most beautiful locations, and established in 1608, Woodenbridge hotel is the oldest hotel in Ireland and one of the few remaining family-run hotels. The hotel itself overlooks the vale of Avoca and the amazing Woodenbridge golf club, while Woodenbridge lodge is adjacent to the main hotel and is surrounded by peaceful gardens on the banks of the Aughrim River. All of the rooms are en-suite and with complimentary wireless access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodenbridge Hotel And Lodge
Woodenbridge Hotel Arklow
Best Western Woodenbridge Hotel
Best Western Arklow
Arklow Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.