We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Talbot Wexford

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Talbot Wexford to your Saves list
Talbot Wexford
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Trinity Street, Wexford, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Wexford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great place for families with very young children. There is a baby room with a microwave, a fridge and a baby bath which can be very useful. Staff extremely nice and helpful. Plenty of room for our toddler to play around. The spa and the leisure centre are very good options if the weather is bad.
Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotWexford, General Manager at Talbot Wexford, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review online and for your much valued custom.
I am thrilled to hear that both you and your Family enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Talbot Wexford. You look forward to welcoming you back again for another visit. Our Talbot Tigers Kids Club is open during the school Holidays, all the little ones enjoy it.
We hope to welcome you all back for another visit again soon !

Kind Regards

Dick Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    331
    136
    51
    26
See reviews for
259
459
39
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Congleton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel.This was also part of our stopover with Shearings coach tour of Ireland.Room was good.A good view of the harbour.Food was good.Wexford was a really enjoyable place to walk around and enjoy.If you like reading as I do and don't mind second-hand books go to Bargain Books at 49 South Main St.

Room Tip: If you are not happy with your room complain as soon as you see it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotWexford, General Manager at Talbot Wexford, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back for another visit in the near future so that you can experience some more of what the Talbot Wexford has to offer!

Kind Regards

Dick Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed a night there with a group of friends, the bedrooms were great and had all essentials, = and had an evening dinner there in the bar. The food was great value for your money and was over all delicious.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotWexford, General Manager at Talbot Wexford, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review Trip Advisor.
I am glad to hear that you and your group enjoyed your stay and your meal in our Ballast Bar.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the Talbot Hotel in the near future. We have some great midweek breaks available in the coming months so keep your eyes peeled!

Kind Regards

Dick Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel.
Great location, lovely to walk along looking at the boats.
Lovely food.
Easy parking right beside the hotel.
Really nice bar and bar menu.
Friendly staff.
Nice pool , steam room and sauna and jacuzzi .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotWexford, General Manager at Talbot Wexford, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us.
I am delighted to hear that you could relax and enjoy your recent stay with us here at the Talbot Wexford.
We hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to the Talbot Wexford again soon.

Kind Regards

Dick Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The Talbot and it's warm friendly staff welcomed us back like old friends for our 5th visit and yet again the whole experience was excellent with 5 star customer service which neither of us have experienced else where to the same degree (over the years we have visited some far flung places inc Austrailia, NZ, Asia, US/Mexico) and we Still return to the a Talbot again and again.
In our view, Mr Dick Walsh, The General Manager is the most friendly, helpful, professional but extremely kind hotel manager we have ever met, this guy could run somewhere like the Savoy or Ritz Carlton with his eyes closed he's so damn good at his job!!!
We travelled with a small baby and found all staff soooo helpful, for example one morning I was up all night with the baby and couldn't make breakfast..my husband happened to mention this to Dining Manager Mr Kelly, who promptly arranged for a breakfast tray to be taken to our room without us even asking!
The first night we arrived the lovely waitress who served us sorted all our dinner reservations out for the following week, again without us even asking....
The food and service is some of the best we have experienced anywhere, we also spent a night at the 5 star a Fota Resort in Cork and we personally found the Talbot to be streets ahead in customer service and food quality
Our room was beautifully appointed, spotless with a stunning view of the River Slaney.
The leisure centre is well equipped with a lovely pool which our baby just loved!
Mr Dick Walsh run a top class hotel with levels of customer service which goes that extra mile making it the best place to stay if visiting Ireland..
We can't wait to return for our 6th visit as soon as we can!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotWexford, General Manager at Talbot Wexford, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to sincerely thank you for sharing your review with us and most of all for your much valued custom.

As always it was an absolute pleasure to welcome you back to the Talbot Wexford for another visit. It is so wonderful to hear such great feedback I am just so glad to hear that you had such a wonderful time with us in Wexford.

I have passed on your lovely comments to our team of staff, who were only delighted to hear your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you all back for another visit again soon.

Kind Regards

Dick Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Visited end September 2013. Room nicely decorated and comfortable. Staff excellent and food good. Weather cloudy and misty.
Trains from Rosslare pass by at all hours but generally they are fairly quiet.
Traffic on the road outside starts early but rooms are fairly well soundproofed. Crossing the road to the overflow car park can be a hazard.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors an front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotWexford, General Manager at Talbot Wexford, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We really do appreciate it when our guests take the time to give us feedback.

We pride ourselves on being like a ‘home away from home’ for our guests so I’m delighted you were able to relax and enjoy your honeymoon with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Talbot Wexford again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Dick Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Just back from a very enjoyable 2 night visit to the Talbot. Staff are really lovely and nothing is too much trouble. Food is lovely here both in the bar and the restaurant and we enjoyed some delightful fresh fish there. The rooms are rather small as this is an old hotel but very comfortable and clean. Our room was very quiet with a lovely view of the river. The bathroom however was very small and cramped with poor lighting. Had a great nights sleep in a really comfy 6 foot bed. The lobby area is a great place to chill out, read the papers and enjoy a great cup of coffee served by very attentive waitresses.

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms overlooking the river are quieter and have a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotWexford, General Manager at Talbot Wexford, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review.
I’m so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always great to receive such wonderful feedback!
We have a really great team of staff here, and I’m delighted that you were able to experience all that we have to offer!
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Talbot Wexford again in the future.

Kind Regards

Dick Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Talbot Wexford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Wexford

Address: Trinity Street, Wexford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Wexford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wexford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wexford
#3 Family Hotel in Wexford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Talbot Wexford 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Talbot Wexford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talbot Wexford Hotel Wexford
Talbot Hotel Wexford
Wexford Talbot Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talbot Wexford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.