We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very plesant overnight stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Talbot Wexford

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Talbot Wexford to your Saves list
Talbot Wexford
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Trinity Street, Wexford, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Wexford
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“very plesant overnight stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

just returned from a lovely night at the talbot
beautiful rooms very nice view over the seafront
girls on reception very helpful and plesant ,very warm welcome
lovely lunch in bar
spent a few hours in the leisure centre very relaxing, beautiful facility
Had dinner in the restaurant very good value and very good choice available on the menu
The satff were very busy but service was not affected they were very willing to look after us any way the could nothing was too much trouble.
Had a couple of treatments in the beauty parlour, very plesant experience.
Overall perfect, will be back! Thanks 1& All

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotWexford, General Manager at Talbot Wexford, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for choosing to stay with us at the Talbot Wexford and for posting your review on Tripadvisor.
It is always great to hear such wonderful feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Talbot Wexford again soon.

Kind Regards

Dick Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    303
    125
    48
    23
See reviews for
238
419
36
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a 3 night break at the Talbot in Wexford town. It was an enjoyable experience and very relaxing. It was a lovely springboard for walks on the beautiful nearby Rosslare beach. It was nice to wander the boardwalk and narrow streets of Wexford and stop for a coffee. The hotel has a lovely bar and the restaurant is quite nice. The only fault was that the fruit at breakfast was tinned apricots, tinned pears and tinned prunes. Apples and oranges were available but I do think that fresh fruit salad should be an option.
The hotel staff however were very friendly and enhanced our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotWexford, General Manager at Talbot Wexford, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments and for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.
I am thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us.
Wexford truly Is a wonderful town with so much to offer.
We hope to welcome you back to the Talbot Wexford again soon.


Kind Regards
Dick Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullamore, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just back from our W/end at the Talbot Hotel Wexford where we had a very enjoyable time . Everything about the Hotel was Fab- the Staff , the Food , our Rooms were very comfortable. The location is great as the Girls shop while the Boys had a round of Golf at Wexford Golf Club. So it's easy to recommend this Hotel for W/end- hope to return in 2014

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotWexford, General Manager at Talbot Wexford, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your wonderful comments and for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

I am so glad that both you and your group enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for recommending us, it is much appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Talbot Wexford again in 2014.

Kind Regards

Dick Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just back from 3 nights in the Talbot Hotel with my extended family a party of 11 children and 8 adults,My inital room was dark and drab but asked to be changed and was changed to a much nicer room.We had 2 dinners included in our package.The first night was fine service good,childrens menu very poor and adults average ,basically you pay for what you get.The second night we were all put at the one table with one waitress for our party of 19!!!The wine arrived after our starter and the vegetables after our main course.When we complained we were told there was a wedding on and all available servers were attending to that,For a party our size that was totally unacceptable as we had booked well in advance .Breakfasts were hit and miss .The first morning I had to ask three times for tea and toast and was nearly finished when it came,very frustrating.Depending on the time you came down you could be queuing out the door onto the lobby for a table.Overall staff are nice but there is not enough to look after the guest adequately.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is big on 'value for money' and it is hard to see how it manages to be profitable. Staff are extremely friendly and hard working. The hotel is centrally located in Wexford town allowing you the flexibility to walk wherever you require in town. This is not a luxury hotel, facilities are basic. Rooms are small and in need of decoration but they are quite clean. Food is also substantial in quantity and the quality is good without being delightful. If you want good value accommodation and you are not demanding in relation to 4 star treatment, then this hotel may fit your needs. If you are wishing to be spoilt with luxury, then I do not recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotWexford, General Manager at Talbot Wexford, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Talbot Wexford and for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We hope to welcome you back to the Talbot Wexford in the near future.

Kind Regards

Dick Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just back from Talbot Hotel where i stayed over the weekend for my hen.

Hotel Talbot was a fantastic chose. We got Great price for b&b, free entry to the storm night club and brilliant 4 course meal.. Delicious breakfast in the morning, the friendliest staff ever (Marion- reception) and superbbbbb swimming pool.

Thanks Talbot for great weekend.
I would recommend Hotel Talbot to everyone!!!1

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotWexford, General Manager at Talbot Wexford, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments.

It is always great to hear such wonderful feedback. We are only too happy to help your hen celebrations that little bit more memorable.

I hope you all had a memorable weekend and congratulations once again on your engagement and wishing both you and your partner the best start to your married life.

Kind Regards

Dick Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Enjoyed our 3 day break at this fine hotel. Check-in staff were very efficient and the twin-bedded room was small but perfectly adequate. The food has improved since our last stay and dinner was excellent on all 3 nights with the standard of service the most noticeable improvement. Some small gripes only - the beds were uncomfortable and you could feel the springs in your back, the free wi-fi was incomprehensible to me despite several attempts by staff to explain it and the neon lights at the hotel front were intrusive at night so that it was impossible to darken the room sufficiently. Also our sleep was disturbed on the first night by the antics of drunken English visitors of the type we are all too familiar with but the hotel did apologise for this. Otherwise very good and we will return for more!

Room Tip: Avoid the sea view front of house rooms if you wish to sleep in the dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Talbot Wexford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Wexford

Address: Trinity Street, Wexford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Wexford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wexford
#2 Family Hotel in Wexford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wexford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Talbot Wexford 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Talbot Wexford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talbot Wexford Hotel Wexford
Talbot Hotel Wexford
Wexford Talbot Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talbot Wexford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.