We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Star” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Talbot Wexford

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Talbot Wexford to your Saves list
Talbot Wexford
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Trinity Street, Wexford, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Wexford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Comfortable Star”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Just had a lovely weekend in the Talbot.

I stayed with my partner in one of the Seaview rooms and it was worth the upgrade, made the weekend feel that bit more special.

Didn't dine in the hotel restaurant but did eat in the bar on two occasions. Both times for lunch and I have to say the food was simple and tasty and the staff were pleasant also. The bar manager especially. They were fantastic for gluten free food which my partner much appreciated.

We went out for dinner both nights but many seemed to stay in and eat which is a good sign I'm sure.

The room was nice, small, but nothing wrong with that. It was clean and so was the bathroom. Only problems for me was the bed, it was a 'double' bed but really, it was two singles merged together which is quite frustrating when sleeping as there is a gap in the middle of the bed. This was annoying but didn't take away from a nice weekend to a great extent.

The spa is lovely also, the pool is fabulous. Only downside is the changing rooms need a bit of an upgrade as they dont compare to the lovely pool area.

Overall, I'd recommend staying here as there are plenty of restaurants in Wexford well worth a visit. It's central and parking was easy.

Room Tip: Get a seaview room if you are on a romantic getaway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotWexford, General Manager at Talbot Wexford, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to hear that both you and your partner had a lovely weekend with us here at the Talbot Wexford.

It is nice to treat yourself every now and again its good to hear that upgrading to one of our Seaview rooms helped make your weekend that little bit more special. Wexford is a fantastic little town with plenty to offer.


Hopefully you will be back in the Talbot Wexford to visit us again soon.

Kind Regards
Dick Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    331
    136
    51
    26
See reviews for
259
459
39
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Meath
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed in hotel for 2 nights on a special deal. Check in was fine, the receptionist was very friendly! We had paid extra for sea view and was given a room on 5th floor! It was quite small but had a very large bed! The drawback was that there was no heat only a small convector heater! On contacting reception a very helpful girl, aside, explained that there were problems with the air con! Before I could say a word she offered us a room on 3rd floor, it was a smoking room but no one had stayed for a while! She organised for it to be freshened up and we could see if it suited! When we inspected it we found it was perfect , much more spacious and of course lovely and warm. Top marks to Aoife who made our stay much more comfortable! Oh by the way food was great too! Will definitely return!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotWexford, General Manager at Talbot Wexford, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

I glad to hear that the problems with your room were quickly rectified thanks to our lovely Receptionist Aoife!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Talbot Wexford in the future.

Kind Regards
Dick Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portstewart
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We had a most enjoyable break at the Talbot Hotel. The staff were very helpful in every way and the food and entertainment were excellent.
We made full use of the wonderful swimming pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi.
The other guests we talked to were of the same opinion regarding the hotel.

Room Tip: We chose a room with a sea view, worth the extra euros
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotWexford, General Manager at Talbot Wexford, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your wonderful comments and for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent break with us.

We hope to welcome you back to the Talbot Wexford again soon.

Kind Regards
Dick Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We chose this hotel as we have stayed here many times over the past few years, and have yet to be disappointed! Apart from its convenient location in Wexford town, the hotel itself is spotlessly clean, beautifully maintained, and has a really pleasant atmosphere, largely thanks to its friendly and helpful staff. The food, whether it's breakfast, a quick snack or dinner in the restaurant or bar is excellent and extremely good value. The leisure centre is a wonderful bonus - especially the pool area and changing rooms (with underfloor heating!). When we settled our bill at the end of our stay, we booked a family room for half term in four weeks' time (any excuse to return!).

Room Tip: Deluxe seaview rooms are a little pricier but great for peace and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotWexford, General Manager at Talbot Wexford, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvsior.
I so glad to hear that you have enjoyed all your visits with us at the Talbot Wexford. As you mentioned we have a wonderful team of Staff that allow us to effortlessly create the relaxed, friendly, Homely atmosphere the Hotel is renowned for.
We will see you all soon- make sure to say hello!

Kind Regards

Dick Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleville, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Had a wonderful weekend with my husband & 3 children at this hotel. Beautiful hotel, really clean & within walking distance of the town. Staff couldn't be more friendly & pool had loads of floats for the kids to borrow. Great value and large room. Thanks for a lovely time

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotWexford, General Manager at Talbot Wexford, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments and for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

You are more than welcome! I am delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your family break with us at the Talbot Wexford.

We have a fantastic team of staff across the whole hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Talbot Wexford again in the Future.

Kind Regards

Dick Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I have stayed at this Hotel many times. It has always been excellent. I look forward to returning later in the year. Everyone one of the staff are very friendly and helpful. The food is very good. Overall it is great value for money.

Room Tip: I stayed on the fourth floor, room 427.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotWexford, General Manager at Talbot Wexford, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

I Would like to thank you for your lovely comments and for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.
I am thrilled to hear that always enjoy your stays with us. We like to think that we are a “ Home away from Home” for some of our regular guests. We love to see both new and Familiar faces here at the Talbot Wexford.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the Talbot Wexford again soon. Make sure to say hello!!

Kind Regards
Dick Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here for one night in December as we were going to a show in Wexford that night. I booked here as it offered the best value in Wexford on that particular night. We weren't expecting much as the price was so good but were pleasantly surprised. The hotel is located right on the harbour and is an easy walk to the town centre. I didn't research the location beforehand but found it and parked quite easily. We received a friendly and efficient check-in. The lobby of the hotel was warm & welcoming with tasteful Christmas decorations.The room was modern, clean and the the beds comfortable.The bathroom was spotless and water temperature and pressure perfect. As we only stayed only one night we didn't get a chance to use the restaurant or pool but the breakfast was good and the bar staff friendly and efficient. All in all we had a lovely stay. I'd have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotWexford, General Manager at Talbot Wexford, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your overnight stay with us at the Talbot Wexford. We find our Central location makes us the ideal place to stay, to park complimentary and experience all that Wexford has to offer on foot.
We hope to welcome you back to the Talbot Wexford again in the near future. We also have some fantastic midweek offers available for March- 3 Nights Bed & Breakfast & 3 Evening Meals only €129pps!
Kind Regards

Dick Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Talbot Wexford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Wexford

Address: Trinity Street, Wexford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Wexford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wexford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wexford
#3 Family Hotel in Wexford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Talbot Wexford 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Talbot Wexford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talbot Wexford Hotel Wexford
Talbot Hotel Wexford
Wexford Talbot Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talbot Wexford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.