We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and attentive service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greenacres Restaurant

Greenacres Restaurant
Selskar Street, Wexford, Ireland (Formerly Greenacres Bistro)
+353 53 912 2975
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 104 Restaurants in Wexford
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Delicatessen, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Greenacres is located in Selskar in the heart of Wexford town. Selskar is one of the oldest trading areas in Leinster with a history which can be traced through Cromwellian and Norman times. Greenacres now incorporates retail, a selection of exceptional wines, and homemade food and artisanal cheese. A spacious Art Galleries with Contemporary Irish art and sculpture, A Relaxed dining in a unique atmosphere, that is Greenacres Restaurant.
Killarney, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good food and attentive service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

A Restaurant with a lovely atmosphere, open on Sunday evening and a very helpful waiter. Food was very good and particularly the cheeseboard with which port was offered. There was a very broad and excellent selection of wine. A good selection of wine by the glass was offered as well.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    72
    42
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Wine Tasting Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

5th December 2013, Wine Tasting Dinner. We were shown to our table by an attentative host Clint, who brought us bread and some wine to start with.
For starter we had Duck Livers sauteed with Raspberry Vinaigrette Tartlet dijonnaise, Orange & Golden Beet Salad. accompanied by Nicolas Boiron Cotes du Rhone 2012. This was followed by Slow cooked Saddle of Suckling Pig with Grilled Pancetta textures, Potato Galantine & Truffle Foam which was accompanied by Greenacres Sablet 2012, this was a lovely crisp wine that was great with the suckling pig. this was followed by a selection of Irish and French Cheeses, the wine on this occasion was a delicious Canadian Osoyoos Larose 2008 from British Colombia, this was an amazing wine.
and finally dessert a Warm Ginger Spiced Molasses Cake with Carmelised Apple and Rum Ice Cream, paired with Pineau des Charantes. Chef Richie Trappe presents some teriffic food in this restaurant. We had a wonderful evening.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Good food trending in the right direction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

The best thing here will always be the wine list (and Sean's great hosting).

As the shop the restaurant sits in is an award winning wine shop, there is a superb selection to complement any kind of food.

That said, the food needs to live up to the wine and for the most part it did in our most recent visit. The predecessor restaurant here was not a good experience but we went along as we knew Sean from Forde's restaurant in Castlebridge and he coerced us into a pleasant visit during the theatre festival.

The scallops dish I had worked with the exception of the bizarre addition of a chicken wing. I still don't get it. The steak was wexford beef at its best and to order. My partner was very satisfied with her starter and her fish main course.

The cheese board was well composed and enough for two people. The breads are good and in line with what you'd expect for fine dining.

Overall, it was a very good experience. The food was closer to a 4 than a 3 and is very much moving in the right direction. The ambience is charming and the service friendly and efficient.

It's probably the best place to eat in town along with Cistin Eile.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesgoconnor, Owner at Greenacres Restaurant, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you very much for your very kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your recent visit and we look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards james@greenacres.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“great food ,wine and deli place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The centre of Wexfords special foodie and wine emporium. Has the widest range of wines in Ireland and the mostwidest range of food and deli products. Anyone visiting Wexford will remember this place

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesgoconnor, Owner at Greenacres Restaurant, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your recent review. We are delighted you enjoyed your recent visit to Greenacres and we look forward to seeing you again.
Kindest Regards james@greenacres.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food, fantastic wine list”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

This restaurant is simply really good food, relaxed atmosphere and totally unpretentious. Loved it!!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesgoconnor, Owner at Greenacres Restaurant, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your recent review. We are delighted you enjoyed your recent visit and look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards james@greenacres.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenacres Restaurant also viewed

Wexford, County Wexford
Wexford, County Wexford
 
Wexford, County Wexford
Wexford, County Wexford
 

Been to Greenacres Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenacres Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.