We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When things go wrong” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The lobster Pot

The lobster Pot
Carne, Wexford, Ireland
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 101 restaurants in Wexford
Price range: $40 - $79
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Carlow, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“When things go wrong”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Used this restaurant several times and found the food lovely. Our last two visits there found that the quality of the food was not as good, nice staff but a nasty taste in the mouth was the Lady in Charge. She's put us off for good!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

59% Recommend
    48
    20
    14
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great food in a nice environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Very friendly wait staff, although a bit disconcerting in that the waiter continually cleared the table, including taking away food that we were still in the process of eating. Lovely, warm and cozy atmosphere. The proprietress stopped to chat; she was very friendly and cheery. We spent almost 4 hours onsite, and they made no efforts to move us along as some restaurants might. all in all, I highly recommend.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorey, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a true gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

fantastic spot with an abundance of character. totally delicious food at great prices, well worth a visit, even if you have to go a bit out of your way it'll be worth your while!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

I couldn't believe I nearly cancelled my reservation here based on reviews I had read. Anyway off I went, deciding to make up my own mind and I was so happy I did. From the moment we walked in we were made feel welcome and comfortable and our hostess couldn't do enough for us. I couldn't fault the food if I tried and although a little pricey which we knew it would be we were well impressed. We will definitely go again and would definitely recommend this restaurant to all.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Poor Service and rude staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Hi my wife and I eat in the Lobster Pot while on holidays in Ireland mid-September 2012.
Travelled from Dublin to Cork and stayed in various towns along the way to experience the coast of Ireland.
We had many nice dinning experiences along the way and had a great holiday in Ireland until we arrived at the lobster Pot, Wexford.
The food was fine but the service is not what we expect in any establishment. We were greeted nicely and shown to a table and given the menus, but from that on things went downhill fast. Were approached be a rude lady who demanded our order before we had a proper chance to look at it. The restaurant was busy as it was 7pm approximately but it was not excuse. We felt from that moment on very uncomfortable and could not wait to leave.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The lobster Pot also viewed

Wexford, County Wexford
 
Wexford, County Wexford
Wexford, County Wexford
 

Been to The lobster Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The lobster Pot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.