We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Fox Seafood Restaurant

Silver Fox Seafood Restaurant
Kilmore Quay, Wexford, Ireland (Formerly The Silver Fox Seafood Restaurant)
+353539129888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 104 Restaurants in Wexford
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Located 50m from the the fishing port of Kilmore Quay, Co. Wexford.Serving seafood steaks and poultry. Recently refurbished to include full airconditioning. Child friendly. Extensive a la carte menu. early Bird Menu Until 7pm Nightly. Established 1991. New for 2013 The Silver Fox Food Company, selling Homemade Products including Hampers.
Cavan, Ireland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Just about the only place open in Kilmore Quay on a Monday night so we didn have much choice but to eat here but we're very glad we did. The food was excellent and service very nice. My Dover sole was perfectly cooked and my partners' plaice was also, starters were lovely too. We had our 6 month old baby with us and there was a highchair suitable for little ones (rather than one of those wooden ones that aren't safe for babies who are only just sitting up) and a baby change table in the ladies. (Not all such restaurants are this child friendly). It wasn't cheap but well worth the price. Would definitely return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    43
    11
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boucherville, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food and warm welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The Silver Fox was recommended by our BandB and we were delighted - the seafood and the fish were superb and the servce top notch.The owners and the satff were also very attentive to our food allergies.Excellent value for money and we will gladly return on our next trip to Ireland.
Richard D

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, UK
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
321 helpful votes 321 helpful votes
“A little GEM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

I've been coming to Kilmore Quay a few times a year for nearly 15 years now, and have never given the Silver Fox a second glance as we've walked/driven past it. However, following a recommendation we decided to give it a try on this visit.

Wow, what a wonderful restaurant. It's nothing to look at from the outside, but inside it's elegant and cosy. We decided to try the Early Bird Special, which is available until 7pm every night. It's 25 euro for three courses plus tea or coffee... An absolute bargain when you see that many of the main courses are 20 euro each. The food was delicious and wonderfully fresh. I had the prawn cocktail/smoked salmon, haddock (with the most yummy chips and salad) and ice cream, and my other half, who doesn't eat seafood, had leek and potato soup, steak and ice cream.

The service was friendly and down to earth. It's the sort of place where you can dress up if you want to, but you can also wear casual clothes too.

So, to sum up, I can highly recommend the Silver Fox, and it will certainly be one of our regular visits in future.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Pure Natural Additive-free, simple, nutritious and delicious food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

In my humble opinion, as one who has traveled much, who enjoys good food, nicely presented, no words of mine can praise this restaurant sufficiently. Never have we had anything other than complements paid and praise given when my wife and I regularly take family and visiting friends to the Silver Fox in Kilmore Quay. Here one is served delectable cooked food as it should be.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fresh Fish Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We landed into Kilmore Quay without any prior knowledge of where we would eat and ended up in the Silver Fox for our lunch. Kilmore Quay was alive with people so we were not sure we would be able to be fed, but there was no problem. We were not that hungry so we ordered 2 starters but main plate servings. I had crab salad which was really nice, though I could have done with more of the brown meat and my partner had a "special" of scallops, prawns and crab legs in chilli ..... a man well used to international traveling reported that he thought it was the best meal he had ever tasted!! The staff were very pleasant and helpful, and all in all it was a great success - thank you

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Fox Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Wexford, County Wexford
Wexford, County Wexford
 
Wexford, County Wexford
Wexford, County Wexford
 

Been to Silver Fox Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Fox Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.