We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour View Hotel

Save Saved
You added Harbour View Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harbour View Hotel
N25 - Rosslare Harbour, Rosslare, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Rosslare
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We booked in on spec at the Harbour View Hotel, after finding our initial B&B was far away from the Harbour, and we were so pleased they could accommodate us for one night before our morning ferry to Fishguard.

The hotel is in an excellent location very close to the harbour, we were able to wake up and see our ferry arriving.

The hotel is very clean and the rooms are of exceptional standard for the price 80 Euros for two people (this price excluded breakfast as we were leaving early and I am not the best sea passenger).

This hotel does excellent food, Chinese, English, and also provides a take away service. The food is of good quality and reasonably priced. Although there can be delays if they are exceptionally busy - which to me means the food is cooked to order.

The staff are very friendly, and a special note has to go to Tricia for the friendly and attentive service.

Checking into the hotel is efficient, as well as checking out, which is important when you need a ferry to catch.

The bar is an excellent place to unwind with a friendly atmosphere and friendly locals as well.

The hotel provides everything a guest could need, bed, food, friendly bar, although if you need anything else there is a large supa value down within walking distance.

What an excellent hotel, and would recommend it to anyone for an overnight accommodation before departing or arriving at the harbour.

Room Tip: View on the Harbour side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    25
    10
    3
    5
See reviews for
21
18
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night just after getting off the ferry clean tidy rooms nice food good breakfast and the Guinness to die for see u next time don't be put off the Chinese food is excellent and nice friendless

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storrington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Excellant Hotel, just outside overlooking Rosslare Harbour.Ideal for morning breakfasts and just before getting on the Ferries. Extremely competitive prices for food, from sandwiches to anything you want. Including Chinese food. A large selection of beers, both draft and bottles. Well recommended

Room Tip: it is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairborn, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Like a lot of folks, we stayed here for one night prior to catching an early ferry. The price was really good for a triple room, and though I had read the reviews on here I guess I didn't expect more than a basic, serviceable room for a night's sleep. But we were really impressed with the place as it turns out. The decor and furnishings were attractive and rather charming, I thought. The beds were comfortable, plenty of space in the room, decent storage space if needed for a longer stay. Tea service with electric kettle included. We had a room on the street side so there was some noise from late/early trucks and ships.

There is no elevator and the hallways have some intermediate steps depending on where your room is located. Free wi-fi is included, however some rooms don't get a very good signal (a note in the welcome book states the hotel is working to expand the signal); but the wifi was fine in the common areas. We didn't have a chance to try the restaurant/bar.

The location can't be beat for using the ferry, especially for the price. Though we would consider staying a bit longer if sightseeing in the vicinity sometime, as it was a cozy place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just finishing our Irish travelling leg of our journey, this was an excellent place to stay prior to departing for Wales on the morning ferry. We wanted somewhere close to the ferry port and this place couldn't be closer. Reception was excellent, room with a great view of the ferry terminal and all the traffic and a really good food selection at the bar. Choice of Chinese or traditional meals. There is a grocery store opposite as well as a Post office and pharmacy if needed.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the ferry terminal...it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I recently broke a trip to the UK with an overnight stop at the Harbour View Hotel in Rosslare. Having secured B&B for €50 I was ready to be underwhelmed. Well, I wasn't! Parking was easy, check in friendly, room large and very clean and the bustling restaurant bar had an extensive but very reasonably priced menu. A good night's sleep and a first rate full Irish breakfast set me up for the next leg of my journey. Only quilts instead of sheets could have improved things.
As for the staff, simply brilliant. I forgot a soap dish and after several days looking they found it and posted it on to me free of charge. A lovely, kind and personal touch in our stressed out recessionary times. Well done Harbour View!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Had a meal here on a friday evening night recently. Food was great but service lacking, we seemed to be forgotten all the time even though there were several staff floating round chatting. When we did get served though, the staff were very nice and friendly. Hubby's first taste of the real Guiness which he enjoyed! Error made with our bill which was immediately rectified. Atmosphere wasgreat too. Would eat there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harbour View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Hotel

Address: N25 - Rosslare Harbour, Rosslare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Rosslare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Rosslare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Harbour View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.