We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine Irish Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glenbarry B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Glenbarry B&B to your Saves list
Glenbarry B&B
Glenbarry | Ardross, New Ross, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 New Ross B&B and Inns
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Genuine Irish Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This must surely rank as one of the best guesthouses in New Ross.Our recent three day stay here was enhanced by the warmth of the reception we received from Margaret and Ger on our arrival.Rooms were well furnished and spacious with spectacular views over the River Barrow.
Breakfast was a culinary Irish experience which set us up for the day !
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
4
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We happened across this B&B during our travel from Dublin south to Cork. We had been stopping here and there along the way and were referred to this B&B by one of the locals. Such a fabulous stay. We had a clean, well kept double room, with a bathroom dedicated just to us. After a much needed rest, we awoke to an amazing Irish breakfast and some time to chat with out hosts. We recommend it highly!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinheim
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We did a clock-wise trip round Ireland. From Dublin passing the Wicklow Mountains we had a first Stop at Glenbarry B&B in New Ross. After some irritations in finding, we had a very warm welcome. So beautiful rooms, such a good breakfast, so much help by Margaret and Gerard, and the view down the valley was really exciting. We were 3 over 70s and had every comfort in the rooms, one room a double and upstairs, a cosy one, we got as a single.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is quite simply one of the very best B & Bs I have stayed in anywhere in my lifetime. It is so good I have vowed to return with my wife and have already sung its praises to friends. Margaret and Gerard are superb hosts who offer excellent value and make you feel a valued friend. Travelling solo after a long drive from Belfast I was treated to a lovely cup of tea and biscuits and then shown to a spotless double room en suite with free wi-fi, satellite TV and tea-making facilities. The personally cooked Irish breakfast each morning with fruit juice, cereal, fresh fruit and yogurt if desired was far superior to anything I have ever had in the most expensive 5 star hotel. It's just an eight minute walk into the town centre and a good choice of restaurants and pubs. The Italian restaurant not far from St Michael's Theatre is particularly good. And the Traditional Fish and Chips opposite the lectern marking the site of President Kennedy's 1963 speech on the Quayside near the Dunbrody emigrant ship is one of the best I have been to. I stayed two nights and was sorry to leave. If you are there on a Thursday ;night as I was you can go to an incredibly high quality Irish traditional music session in Corcorans pub which has great charm. The purpose of my trip was to visit President Kennedy's homstead at nearby Dunganstown and I was so pleased to have secured such high quality accommodation.

Room Tip: Ring Margaret well in advance if you want the best room in the house but my room was excellent altho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We enjoyed a great stay in Glenbarry B&B last weekend in New Ross which was a great base for our visit in the sunny south east. Margaret and Ger couldn’t have been better hosts and gave us plenty of suggestions on the local attractions. We enjoyed a great day on The Dunbrody famine ship and our visit to Kennedy Family Homestead was a real treat. Our room was comfortable and clean with a modern en suite and had tea and coffee making facilities, free wifi, a TV, hairdryer and an iron. The breakfast was delicious and was enjoyed in front of spectacular views of the garden, river and surrounding countryside. All in all we found Glenbarry to be a great place to stay and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

A wonderful stay , this was our second visit. A really beautiful setting, marvellous hosts, a warm friendly welcome and a true home from home. The breakfast was the best ever. Can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geel, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed for 2 Nights, Beautiful Location, and Great Room.
The Family was very helpful and Friendly. The weather was great during our stay and we just spent one of the Evenings sitting in the lovely Gardens.
Their son was home from Dublin and he picked us up from the Pub which was very nice of him,He was a lovely guy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glenbarry B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenbarry B&B

Address: Glenbarry | Ardross, New Ross, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > New Ross
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in New Ross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenbarry Bed and Breakfast is a charming, family managed guest accommodation located 5 min walk from New Ross town center. Glenbarry has a beautiful garden at rear of house with stunning views of the river barrow and surrounding countryside with private car parking at front of building. Inside, Glenbarry is lavishly decorated and exquisitely furnished, while still exuding a comfortable atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Glenbarry B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenbarry B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.