We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful hotel a+” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brandon House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Brandon House Hotel to your Saves list
Brandon House Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   South Knock, New Ross, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in New Ross
Certificate of Excellence 2014
clare
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“beautiful hotel a+”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

when we arrived we were greeted by the reception staff which were lovely high spirited and very welcoming! our bedroom was modern and very clean. we had food on two nights which was amazing and the breakfast was something out of this world by far the best breakfast i have had in a hotel. i went to the pool a few times and enjoyed every visit. and the spa well words dont do it justice its an amazing building with wonderfull staff who cant do enough for you. i have to say i would recomend this hotel to anyone!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    126
    48
    18
    5
See reviews for
93
134
7
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We spent last weekend at this hotel. Lovely hotel. My husband was at a conference. Food excellent xnd piping hot. Rooms lovely and very clean. Although it was end of midterm break for children it was quiet. Children seemed to be in a different section. The spa was wonderful. Olga on reception in spa was very nice and helpful. Germane who did my reflexology was terrific. It is a lovely and relaxing spa. I would have given this hotel five stars except for reception and a manager. As the lounge was full Saturday night we went to reception area to sit down. This was also full there was one table with a chair and another chair near entrance. My husband lifted the chair at entrance which was heavy then half dragged half lifted chair. The girl on reception gave out to him and told him not to mark marble in centre of floor. As the marble circle took up much of the floor and there was no way to walk around my husband had to lift the chair to the table. When he mentioned it to a manager he wasn't interested. Nothing was said when the day before people were dragging their suitcases on wheels across the marble. It's a pity the attitude of both the manager and receptionist wasn't nicer. It would not encourage us to go back

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

A birthday celebration great dinner give that 4 stars for sure mine was yummy yummy yummy as was most of the party ......spa was ok but disappointing drab needs modernisation old fashioned and worn as where the towels washed to death and bed linen was the same building has a feel of drab needs a dash of life dull half effort on refurbishment and bad quality some rooms where great others boring and half upgraded feel.....busy spot all the same and for dinner recommended in the resturant ...lacks pizazz and needs refreshment all over including the driveway and gardens ...

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with my partner for one night, room was very nice and clean with a new carpet smell. However bathroom door would not close properly. The heat in the room during the night was unbearable which led to us leaving the windows open and an overall poor nights sleep.

Had emailed the spa 2 days prior to stay asking about booking a treatment but I never received a reply. I thought it was unprofessional to ignore my email. I went to the spa to ask about appointment and was rudely told that nothing was available.

Dinner in the restaurant was tasty and breakfast was also nice however we weren't even asked if we wanted tea/coffee and toast. I had to hunt down a waitress to ask for them but by the time the waitress had brought them to us we had finished our breakfast. They seemed to be under staffed and not able to cope with a busy morning.

Overall I was not impressed with my stay as I thought the manner of some of the staff was a bit to be desired. More than likey will not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Brandon House's greatest asset is its staff who are very welcoming and very helpful, whether in the restaurant, in the bar, at the pool, or in reception; they are very professional but also very friendly. The location was good, lovely grounds, great pool for the kids. Food was hotel fare , but good. Nice bar. Rooms were comfortable, without being luxurious. A very good hotel to use as a base for doing the local sights, and definitely value for money. Wi-fi in lobby but not in room.

Room Tip: Non-smoking, request wi-fi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

With the currant Recession, and cut back on pampering oneself, we treated our self to a night out, and had a really lovely meal here recently.
The menu despite been Early Bird, had such a great choice, and the meal and service was actually outstanding, the food was so fresh, hot & Very tasty, Wow!
We had pre and after dinner drinks in the bar, which actually had a real open fire, cant wait to go back, to try some other great dish's, well done to you all, we were so impressed, as were our guests!

Room Tip: Loads of Great Free, Private, Car Parking space,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sixmilebridge, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Had a lovely relaxing break in the Brandon House Hotel - The staff were welcoming and helpful. The rooms were clean but I felt the bedlinen let them down - new duvet and pillows would really make the room special! The food was great and the Spa really nice - Even though the weather was dreadful we were cozy and comfy in the Brandon House Hotel - Well done to all!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brandon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brandon House Hotel

Address: South Knock, New Ross, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > New Ross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in New Ross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brandon House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Star Brandon House Hotel and Solas Croi Eco Spa is a Country Manor House conveniently situated on the N25 in historical New Ross, nestled between Wexford and Waterford. With easy access to some of the best beaches Ireland has to offer, including Duncannon Beach, Dollar Bay & Boley Bay, and a wide selection of child friendly activities, plus The Dunbrody Famine Ship, JFK Arboretum and Hook Lighthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Brandon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brandon Hotel New Ross

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brandon House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.