We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with a lovely spa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brandon House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Brandon House Hotel to your Saves list
Brandon House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   South Knock, New Ross, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Ross
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with a lovely spa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We spent last weekend at this hotel. Lovely hotel. My husband was at a conference. Food excellent xnd piping hot. Rooms lovely and very clean. Although it was end of midterm break for children it was quiet. Children seemed to be in a different section. The spa was wonderful. Olga on reception in spa was very nice and helpful. Germane who did my reflexology was terrific. It is a lovely and relaxing spa. I would have given this hotel five stars except for reception and a manager. As the lounge was full Saturday night we went to reception area to sit down. This was also full there was one table with a chair and another chair near entrance. My husband lifted the chair at entrance which was heavy then half dragged half lifted chair. The girl on reception gave out to him and told him not to mark marble in centre of floor. As the marble circle took up much of the floor and there was no way to walk around my husband had to lift the chair to the table. When he mentioned it to a manager he wasn't interested. Nothing was said when the day before people were dragging their suitcases on wheels across the marble. It's a pity the attitude of both the manager and receptionist wasn't nicer. It would not encourage us to go back

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alila60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
ireland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

A birthday celebration great dinner give that 4 stars for sure mine was yummy yummy yummy as was most of the party ......spa was ok but disappointing drab needs modernisation old fashioned and worn as where the towels washed to death and bed linen was the same building has a feel of drab needs a dash of life dull half effort on refurbishment and bad quality some rooms where great others boring and half upgraded feel.....busy spot all the same and for dinner recommended in the resturant ...lacks pizazz and needs refreshment all over including the driveway and gardens ...

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Holiday28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed with my partner for one night, room was very nice and clean with a new carpet smell. However bathroom door would not close properly. The heat in the room during the night was unbearable which led to us leaving the windows open and an overall poor nights sleep.

Had emailed the spa 2 days prior to stay asking about booking a treatment but I never received a reply. I thought it was unprofessional to ignore my email. I went to the spa to ask about appointment and was rudely told that nothing was available.

Dinner in the restaurant was tasty and breakfast was also nice however we weren't even asked if we wanted tea/coffee and toast. I had to hunt down a waitress to ask for them but by the time the waitress had brought them to us we had finished our breakfast. They seemed to be under staffed and not able to cope with a busy morning.

Overall I was not impressed with my stay as I thought the manner of some of the staff was a bit to be desired. More than likey will not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Junebirthday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Brandon House's greatest asset is its staff who are very welcoming and very helpful, whether in the restaurant, in the bar, at the pool, or in reception; they are very professional but also very friendly. The location was good, lovely grounds, great pool for the kids. Food was hotel fare , but good. Nice bar. Rooms were comfortable, without being luxurious. A very good hotel to use as a base for doing the local sights, and definitely value for money. Wi-fi in lobby but not in room.

Room Tip: Non-smoking, request wi-fi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brune8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

With the currant Recession, and cut back on pampering oneself, we treated our self to a night out, and had a really lovely meal here recently.
The menu despite been Early Bird, had such a great choice, and the meal and service was actually outstanding, the food was so fresh, hot & Very tasty, Wow!
We had pre and after dinner drinks in the bar, which actually had a real open fire, cant wait to go back, to try some other great dish's, well done to you all, we were so impressed, as were our guests!

Room Tip: Loads of Great Free, Private, Car Parking space,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timmycarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sixmilebridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Had a lovely relaxing break in the Brandon House Hotel - The staff were welcoming and helpful. The rooms were clean but I felt the bedlinen let them down - new duvet and pillows would really make the room special! The food was great and the Spa really nice - Even though the weather was dreadful we were cozy and comfy in the Brandon House Hotel - Well done to all!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed for two nights with my partner. The room was standard, nothing special, but nice and warm, clean with a comfortable bed. Most of the staff were very friendly and welcoming. The grounds of the hotel are nice with pretty views and just a short walk to the hotel. Best thing about the hotel was definitely the food in the bar - delish!! And good value for money too. The leisure facilities were just ok, and thought it was a bit mean that guests have to pay to even use the thermal suite in the spa even if they do not want a treatment. Overall we had a nice stay, but probably won't go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmeliaN1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Ross
19.2 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
10.2 mi away
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Arthurstown
4.0 of 5 stars 555 reviews
18.7 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
4.0 of 5 stars 1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
10.5 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel
Waterford Castle Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 stars 953 reviews
22.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Danby Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brandon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brandon House Hotel

Address: South Knock, New Ross, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > New Ross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Ross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Brandon House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Star Brandon House Hotel and Solas Croi Eco Spa is a Country Manor House conveniently situated on the N25 in historical New Ross, nestled between Wexford and Waterford. With easy access to some of the best beaches Ireland has to offer, including Duncannon Beach, Dollar Bay & Boley Bay, and a wide selection of child friendly activities, plus The Dunbrody Famine Ship, JFK Arboretum and Hook Lighthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Brandon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brandon Hotel New Ross

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing