We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family venue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brandon House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Brandon House Hotel to your Saves list
Brandon House Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   South Knock, New Ross, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in New Ross
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent family venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Brandon House's greatest asset is its staff who are very welcoming and very helpful, whether in the restaurant, in the bar, at the pool, or in reception; they are very professional but also very friendly. The location was good, lovely grounds, great pool for the kids. Food was hotel fare , but good. Nice bar. Rooms were comfortable, without being luxurious. A very good hotel to use as a base for doing the local sights, and definitely value for money. Wi-fi in lobby but not in room.

Room Tip: Non-smoking, request wi-fi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    150
    57
    18
    5
See reviews for
116
151
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

With the currant Recession, and cut back on pampering oneself, we treated our self to a night out, and had a really lovely meal here recently.
The menu despite been Early Bird, had such a great choice, and the meal and service was actually outstanding, the food was so fresh, hot & Very tasty, Wow!
We had pre and after dinner drinks in the bar, which actually had a real open fire, cant wait to go back, to try some other great dish's, well done to you all, we were so impressed, as were our guests!

Room Tip: Loads of Great Free, Private, Car Parking space,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sixmilebridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Had a lovely relaxing break in the Brandon House Hotel - The staff were welcoming and helpful. The rooms were clean but I felt the bedlinen let them down - new duvet and pillows would really make the room special! The food was great and the Spa really nice - Even though the weather was dreadful we were cozy and comfy in the Brandon House Hotel - Well done to all!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed for two nights with my partner. The room was standard, nothing special, but nice and warm, clean with a comfortable bed. Most of the staff were very friendly and welcoming. The grounds of the hotel are nice with pretty views and just a short walk to the hotel. Best thing about the hotel was definitely the food in the bar - delish!! And good value for money too. The leisure facilities were just ok, and thought it was a bit mean that guests have to pay to even use the thermal suite in the spa even if they do not want a treatment. Overall we had a nice stay, but probably won't go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stornoway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the hotel over the New year, the staff were very welcoming and helpful. The facilities and the pool were excellent and adaptable to our needs. It was a relaxed, friendly place to stay which provided just the right atmosphere and environment. We would definately stay thier again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a night away with my partner, room was old and shabby and dark, poor room service, reception friendly and helpful, nice spa, bar was full of children running riot and so we left to a much nicer local bar, breakfast was busy with only one waitress, food was average.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallaght Dublin24
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Having been to this hotel 3 times in the past,we had an idea of what service to expect.Till now my rating would have been 4 star but as TripAdvisor doesn't give half stars I downgraded you to 3 star.Once you have a car it is a very central location for several visitor attractions.The reception staff very helpful,Library Bar at times not enough staff so left waiting and then we had incorrect food served and had a further wait.When we complained we did get apology and redress but that's not the same as getting the experience you set out to get and pay for.We also had a heating issue in our room which was settled by giving us a convector heater.I applaud the efforts being made with environmental issues being tackled but not to the disadvantage of your guests. Both Gary, and Monica did a lot to resolve our issues but unfortunately didn't succeed fully. We had one meal in The Restaurant where Monica attended to our every needs she was attentitive without being overbearing,well done.We do hope to return in the future when we look forward to redressing your star rating.Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Ross
10.2 mi away
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Arthurstown
4.0 of 5 stars 511 reviews
19.2 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
18.7 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
4.0 of 5 stars 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
0.0 mi away
Riverbank House Hotel
Riverbank House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Wexford
4.5 of 5 stars 273 reviews
4.6 mi away
Horse & Hound Inn Hotel
Horse & Hound Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballinaboola
4.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brandon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brandon House Hotel

Address: South Knock, New Ross, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > New Ross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in New Ross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brandon House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Star Brandon House Hotel and Solas Croi Eco Spa is a Country Manor House conveniently situated on the N25 in historical New Ross, nestled between Wexford and Waterford. With easy access to some of the best beaches Ireland has to offer, including Duncannon Beach, Dollar Bay & Boley Bay, and a wide selection of child friendly activities, plus The Dunbrody Famine Ship, JFK Arboretum and Hook Lighthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Brandon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brandon Hotel New Ross

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brandon House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.