We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing day out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunbrody Famine Ship Experience

Dunbrody Famine Ship Experience
The Quay, New Ross, Ireland
353 (0)51 425239
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 Attractions in New Ross
Type: Ships, Landmarks
Attraction details
Walsall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We made a visit to the famine ship as one of our days out whilst on our honeymoon.
You can see the famine ship when you pull in to the car park (which there is a charge for, except on Sundays). Upon entering the building we were greeted by a friendly assistant, the attraction is tour guided and lasts around 45 minutes, the tour guide was friendly and very knowledgeable. The ship as actors on board who are very interactive with the visitors. I would definitely recommend spending some time here. The admission was very reasonable and the cafe supplies great quality food.
Fun for everyone.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    63
    10
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“love the story”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Very well executed tourist activity. Kids loved it, interesting story, despite the tragedy behind it all.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant take the Voyage.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I took 75 people here on the recently. We were met on arrival by Sean the Manager.This was a welcome worth arriving at. My groups who were Welsh were very impressed
This was as they hoped The Irish Welcome
They went on Board the Ship after viewing the Audio Visual
My group were full of praise for the Actors Guides and their knowledge but in particular how they imparted it
We then had TeaScones and other food upstairs in the very efficent tea rooms. No fuss about the large group just fast pleasant service. I am 40 years Guiding and this Attraction is tops.On the crest of a wave.You must visit this ship and centre it was a voyage of sheer pleasure.you will be on the crest of a wave.dont miss it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama, USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Back in time to days of famine in Ireland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

we toured a replica to scale of the Dombrody ship. We learned a great deal about the time of the potato famine in Ireland and the immigration of Irish to the US and Canada. The tour guide and staff who played passengers to tell us of their experience were excellent.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“its a boat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

you dont have to pay to go on board just stand by the side and view the ship and you can hear the story of the famine trip

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dunbrody Famine Ship Experience also viewed

Fethard On Sea, County Wexford
New Ross, County Wexford
 
County Wexford, Province of Leinster
 

Been to Dunbrody Famine Ship Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunbrody Famine Ship Experience, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.