We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointed !!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of John F. Kennedy Arboretum

John F. Kennedy Arboretum
New Ross, Co. Wexford | 52. 322199, -6. 931655, Ireland
51388171
Improve this listing
Type: Gardens, Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A bit disappointed !!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I made a return trip to JFKs arboretum last weekend after a gap of 5 years.My main reason for the visit was because it is the 50th anniversary of JFKs anniversary and was hoping that they had made a special effort to remember this.I have to say that I was a bit disappointed as no effort was made to commemorate this anniversary - the audio visual was not working and there was no one about to even ask.In fact we walked around most of the arboretum and never saw one member of staff or even a park warden to keep an eye on things.While we were there a very large group of adults and arrived together and the noise level was awful and the children were kicking football - something that I am sure isnt allowed as it could damage the plants.The trees and plants are all beautiful to look at but the lack of signs to tell what you are looking at is also very disappointing - this is a simple thing to do but would make such a difference .I know this all sounds a bit negative but my memory from 5 years ago was of a beautiful , tranquil place to enjoy nature and this visit just left me disappointed - maybe its sign of the times !!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    17
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterford
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Great Day Out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

What a beautiful place to spend a day. There is a fantastic range of trees and shrubs, its maintained to a very high standard and the walks are the perfect length for every ability as you can cut a route shorter or make it longer depending on your mood. What I love is that dogs are allowed if kept on a leash and this makes it a "must" if you are holidaying in the area with your dog. Across from the main entrance is a roadway up to a viewing point and this is well worth a visit, its like looking at Waterford and Wexford from an airplane. There is no need for a summer day, its wonderful at any time.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“A place of solitude and peace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The arboretum has matured beautifully since it was first set-up and now offers beautiful grounds to lounge about in and enjoy on a fine day. There are trees, flora and fauna to suit all seasons.

The Arboretum is the closest thing to Botanical Gardens in this part of Ireland and comes highly recommended. There is a cost for entering this part of the arboretum.

Across the road from the Arboretum is a free park where you can walk up to the summit and look across five counties (Wexford, Waterford, Carlow, Kilkenny and Wicklow). You can also drive the whole way up to take the view in.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“A Great Attraction for the family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My wife and I have visited regularly over the past 10 years. Stunning in May when the rhododendrons and azaleas are in flower, and in the autumn don't miss the fiery acers. They've some fine embothriums in flower in May, too, not far from the Visitor Centre.

What we like most is the opportunity to get a good walk off the busy and sometimes dangerous roads in the County. Sadly, walking is an activity that is very under-developed in Ireland compared to England with its vast networkd of public footpaths and rights of way.

The is a great place for the young able bodied, the less mobile elderly and young families alike. One memorable visit was on a very cold day when the frost glistened on the trees.

What a wonderful way to honour and commemorate one of the greatest figures of the 20th century, whose ancestors came from close by. A visit to the county and indeed the country should always inlcude a visit to this fine arboretum.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great for a day trip with children”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We visited the JFK Arboretum after a very nice lunch at the Horse and Hound Pub which is a short drive away.We needed a nice walk and it delivers this in spades-there are endless paths to follow all weaving in and out of the specimen trees and shrubs which the park has been planted with.There is a small lake with ducks and there is also a mini railway which you can take a ride on.The cost for 3 adults and 2 children into the park was €8 which is really good value. There is an excellent playground suitable for children up to 12 years. Surrounding the playground is parkland dotted with picnic tables and there is also a cafe if you haven't brought your own refreshments. All in all it is a great day out and I would imagine that in autumn and winter it is also an attractive place to visit.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John F. Kennedy Arboretum also viewed

New Ross, County Wexford
County Wexford, Province of Leinster
 
County Wexford, Province of Leinster
 

Been to John F. Kennedy Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John F. Kennedy Arboretum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.