We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic spot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harlequin Cafe and Wine Bar

Harlequin Cafe and Wine Bar
37 Stephen Street, Waterford, Ireland
051877552
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 125 Restaurants in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $27
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Vegetarian and celiac friendly
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Food is absolutely amazing and fresh! The menu is also very reasonably priced and staff are very friendly and welcoming.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    28
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Clonmel, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Been here on a number of occasions and every time the food has been delicious , always cooked from fresh and always so tasty , nicest Italian food i have eaten anywhere in Ireland

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
souteast ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Its all about the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

It really is all about the food here! I had heard so much about the food in Harlequin that myself and my husband decided to try it for our anniversary dinner and the food did not disappoint. All freshly cooked to order and really delicious. I haven't been to Italy but i am told that this restaurant is typically Romanesque in its style and decor however, if so it lacks atmosphere. The lights are too bright for evening dining and I had to ask for the radio to be switched from the news to some music.We had the place to ourselves (7pm on a wednesday) and I feel with some attention to this easily remedied problem eg. softer lighting, table candles, relaxing music, this would not be the case. That aside i would go back for the food and the friendly service. p.s. arrive hungry the portions are huge!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“When not in Rome do as Roman suggests”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

An unassuming exterior in an out of the way part of Waterford. Roman handed us a menu then went on to suggest a meal according to our taste and also the weather. It was a dreary day so something warming. He then suggested the perfect wine to accompany the dish. Once the decisions were made he went behind the counter and cooked our meal. A lovely and gentle man and a delicious fresh meal. A true diamond in the rough.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food & Friendly staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Had a fabulous meal here, food was fab, everything was so fresh & tasty!!! The staff were very pleasant and attentive! We had starter, 2Mains & bottle of wine our bill total was €50...so reasonable for excellent food!!! Only downside for us was decor could do with an update! We will most certainly be returning here!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harlequin Cafe and Wine Bar also viewed

Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Been to Harlequin Cafe and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harlequin Cafe and Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.