We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good! Breakfast service poor.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Barley Field

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Barley Field to your Saves list
The Barley Field
35 & 36 Barrack Street, Waterford, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 24 Waterford B&B and Inns
Waterford
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Very good! Breakfast service poor.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Myself and my husband stayed here as we were attending an event in the city. We got an extremely warm welcome from a lovely man who advised us of their customer parking and checked us in. He also called a taxi for us to the quay which cost €5 on the way there and €6 on the way back. Very happy with him and our room was lovely. The bathroom was modern and spotless. The room was medium sized and perfect for our needs. Lots of hangers in the wardrobe and tea and coffee facilities. Bed was comfortable. One negative- breakfast. In fairness to the blonde lady with short hair, 6 tables came within 10 mins of each other. But the service was nothing short of awful. She never came to take our order so after watching others do it I also went up to her and asked for some breakfast. She asked would I like a full breakfast to which I said yes please. There was no mention of how would we like our eggs etc. She was hovering around topping up milk etc but I never saw her come to any table to take an order or check how the food was.There was no menu. There was a self service station for tea coffee and toast and a selection of cereals. Myself and my husband were the first to take a seat in the dining room and the last to be served breakfast. I wouldn't mind if the service was slow if we were served in order of first come first served. We were a full hour in the dining room from taking a seat to finishing breakfast. The lady said sorry for the wait but everyone came at once. I just thought it was unorganised and I felt uncomfortable having to stand up and walk over to her to ask for some breakfast please. Breakfast was okay. Eggs overcooked, bacon was delicious. I would stay again but breakfast service needs to be addressed. Thank you.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    27
    10
    5
    18
See reviews for
2
25
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
WaterfordIreland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

This is real value for money, just minutes away from the heart of the cities shopping and nightlife. The rooms are modern, clean and comfortable, if a tad on the small side (not an issue). The staff are friendly, courteous and hard working. Breakfast is tasty and hearty, more than enough to set you up for the day. Will stay again!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bray, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Lovely staff friendly atmosphere will come again for sure had lovely Irish breakfast cooked to order pints of Guinness ideal and was able to recommend. When we arrived we decided to have evening meal it was delicious and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I stayed at the hotel twice in the space of 3 weeks and it was a very pleasant experience both times. The staff were friendly and helpful and they went out of their way to make sure that both myself and my girlfriend had a good time on our trip. For example, it was Culture Night when we went over, which I was unaware about. The gentleman behind the counter spent time with me looking up events which he thought we might enjoy, which was really nice. The bedrooms are nice and quiet, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Group of 15 ladies on a hen night stayed 28/09/13 for one night. The Barley Field is a great place to stay its affordable and excellent value and Keith the manager is very helpful and will do his best to make sure your stay is a pleasant experience. Only short walk from the town also. The rooms were modern and clean with comfortable beds and the meal and breakfast was enjoyable. upon arriving back after our night out there was music in the residence bar and the regulars were very welcoming to a bunch of bunnies. overall great stay only negative was the fire doors are difficult to open to the rooms which after a few drinks was a impossible task :P More staff working on the night would also be helpful as the barman was trying to do everything on his own which didn't put him in a good humor still made a lovely cocktail all the same :) thanks lads hope we weren't too loud ;) P.S tell Pat Power Esquire the bunnies say hi :) <3

Room Tip: Stayed in 107 was a nice room :) some other members of the party had trouble with their door not ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We four well travelled gents, stayed at The Barley Field for 3 nights when competing in the IABS Barbershop Convention (we won a silver medal).We found it excellent value. Rooms were comfortable and had all we needed. Keith and his staff were so helpful and kind - including finding needle and cotton for torn trousers and letting us picnic in the bar. It is well located with good beer and food. Safe parking was provided close by. Criticisms recorded on the site are easily explained. Ireland can be a bit pricey and having shopped around very carefully,this was the best value in town. The people of Waterford are friendly. There is very tasty food available and some great pubs and venues.

Room Tip: If you want to go to bed early - you could be missing out on a lot of fun - but ask Keith for a quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granger, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at the Barley Field for one night. The room had 3 beds for the 3 of us and we were comfortable with the size of the room. The bathroom was modern and had been updated. This is a very good value for the price. We especially liked the great meal that we had in the evening. Keith and his staff prepared a great dinner and their breakfast, the following morning was terrific, as well. We felt is was very central to the city and within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Barley Field? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barley Field

Address: 35 & 36 Barrack Street, Waterford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located and newly renovated, the family-run Barley Field is just a two-minute walk from Waterford city centre, offering an ideal base from which to explore the beautiful historical surroundings of Waterford city and county.All comfortable rooms at the property have en suite facilities and include a flat-screen TV and tea and coffee making facilities.We serve breakfast, lunch and evening meals in the dining area or in the bar. The Barley Field is located close to the vibrant Waterford city center and has live music every Saturday night and bank holiday Sunday. There are various places to visit in historic Waterford, including the famous House of Waterford Crystal, 10 minutes’ walk away, and the Bishops Palace. The Waterford Museum of Treasures is 15 minutes away by foot.Local leisure pursuits include shopping, walking and fishing, as well as horse riding and surfing. There are also several championship golf courses in the area. Rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Barley Field reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Barley Field, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.