We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed our Stay on the Quays” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fitzwilton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Fitzwilton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fitzwilton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bridge Street | Waterford City, Waterford, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 13 hotels in Waterford
Kilkenny, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our Stay on the Quays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This hotel is very modern, and when you walk in the door you will understand why its four star. We stayed for two nights in a spacious, warming double room. The bed sheets were Egyptian Cotton- it was so comfortable!!
We eat a three course meal at the Chez-K restaurant which was scrumptious, this usually prices at around 24euro pp. Despite the lovely food and service at dinner, breakfast was a disappointment as there was only one waitress working and also a bland selection of food to choose from.
The shopping centre is a five minute walk away which can be pleasant if you walk along the quays. Also, there is no leisure centre for thos of you that love a swim.
We really enjoyed our luxurious stay at the fitzwilton, i would recommend it for couples or corporate.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Emily,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzwilton Hotel and also for sharing your experience. I am delighted you enjoyed the ample space of our double rooms and that you found the facilities so comfortable. I will be happy to pass your kind words of your scrumptious meal to our kitchen team also, I am sorry to see breakfast was not as satisfactory for you as we have a set standard of products that are displayed every morning, so I am sorry of this had not been replenished. It is great to see you enjoyed your visit and thank you for recommending us also.

Kindest Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    209
    153
    112
    75
See reviews for
93
353
26
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I stayed here for one night for a Christmas party that was taking place just around the corner. Room was lovely and quiet and I had a nap beforehand and a great sleep afterwards. Breakfast in bed was very tasty the next day. All the staff were friendly. I availed of the free parking underneath which was very convenient. I would stay here again as it is the best hotel in the Waterford city area from experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

stayed two nights at this hotel 14/15/dec,lucky to get hotel parking as parking is limited to a small amount of cars.no fault with the room spotless and very roomy.the food in the hotel evening meal, excellent, good selection of food.breakfast was very good plenty of everything.staff are a credit to the hotel polite and friendly.would recommen the planet spice if you like to eat out (indian) or geoffs (traditional irish) both very good for food and value for money.would stay here again no problem

Room Tip: stayed in one of the back rooms,no road noises
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

thank you for taking the time to share your pleasent experience at the Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford. I am delighted to see your room, dining and service experiences exceeded your expectations. I will be more than happy to express your kind comments to our polite and friendly staff.

Thank you once again for taking the time to share your visist and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kindest Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laois ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed on a weekend which included two nights B & B with 1 evening meal and free glass of wine. Meal was excellent and the girl serving us was so nice and even offered us a glass of mulled wine when we had finished our meal. Stayed in this hotel before and have no complaints. Parked car in the hotel car park for the duration of our stay and enjoyed some Christmas Shopping in Waterford. Waterford was decorated magically for the Christmas and we really enjoyed our stay. Would return to Hotel if we got great value rate again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungarvan, Ireland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stayed 2 nights, thurs & fri, have been here before. Parked in hotel car park, is small & spaces very tight, but glad to get in there, rather than park on quay. Quick check in, went to room. Had everything we needed. Ate that eve in their bar, The Met, I had spicy chicken skewer, partner had goats cheese tart. Arrived promptly, mine was delicious, presented on a flat bread, with an onion mayo, a potatoe & avocado mix, and drizzled underneath was mustard... 2skewers, plenty 4 starter. Goats cheese also lovely, had a wedge of cheese with a crusty topping& side if salad. Mains I had fish goujons, partner had turkey & ham. Again, delicious, goujons were salmon, skinny & long, about 4 pieces, salad, & can't remember other bits... Partners was very good, plenty of meat, stuffing, roasties, red cabbage & salsa. These were party of the Yum Yum menu, so 2 course cost 17.50, with glass wine or beer & tea or coffee, well worth it.
Bulb went in bedroom & lock needed resetting on safe, said it to reception & with our permission all was sorted by time we went back that eve.
Morning had breakfast, usual set up, but all the food was tasty & hot & staff were on hand to get any extras.
After checking out, we had lunch before we left, just a ham, cheese toastie. Came with salad & chips, again good taste, toast a little burnt, but just cut it off.
Staff always friendly, helpful and there.
Only one issue,i needed to use a computer, their business room had no internet connection, I reported this, was told to try again later after they checked it. When I did go back, some one had been there, but still no internet.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed at the Fitzwilton and wouldn't hesitate to recommend to family or friends.Perfectly located. Beautifully decorated rooms.Very very helpful and friendly staff.
Food is great too....and very good value.
Would def stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed in he hotel the night before Dec 8th the biggest shopping day of the year as a young couple. At 29pps it was exceptional value for money. The room was gorgeous a fine big spacious bedroom and bathroom furnished to the highest of standards and I could not find fault with the standard of cleanliness. All the staff were warm and friendly and the bar was trendy with a great atmosphere. I was very impressed with the decor of the hotel and the location was very central. Having had a bad experience a few weeks previous in budget hotel I was slightly nervous at the low price HOWEVER this is rare treasure gem luxury at a fraction of the price. A return visit is a must for us anyway!

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and our room was perfect quiet and easy to get to could not find fault wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fitzwilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilton Hotel

Address: Bridge Street | Waterford City, Waterford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzwilton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzwilton Hotel,is located in the heart of Waterford City Centre and only 50 metres from the city's main train and bus station. The hotel also offers free on-site parking and FREE hi-speed WI-FI. All the city's main attractions are but a brief pleasant stroll from our doorstep. The hotel comprises of 90 sumptuous rooms and suites, each individually designed and decorated to the highest of standards. Many of these large spacious rooms offer the unique feature of floor to ceiling windows which give stunning views of the river Suir and the cityscape. Dining at the Fitzwilton is an easy option - Restaurant Chez - K's, as originally proclaimed by the Bridgestone guide to be a "must - do restaurant" in Waterford is simply not to be missed. Renowned locally and further afield for its stunning dishes and most famously for its mouth watering steak dishes, this restaurant will satisfy the most demanding of palettes in the most comfortable and enjoyable surroundings. If you fancy an after dinner drink, relax and unwind in the funky Met Bar. With soft leather lounges and modern lighting and art features, the Met Bar serves an array of quirky cocktails, international wines and beers and serves a delicious bar menu throughout the day and evening. The hotel is located in the very heart of Waterford City so everything you need is but a short walk away. So if you are coming to visit the world famous Waterford Crystal factory, walk the beaches of Dunmore or simply want to explore the delight and history of the 'oldest city in Ireland' you can be guaranteed of doing it in style at the Fitzwilton Hotel. "We look forward to welcoming you." Room Description: All rooms at the Fitzwilton hotel are en-suite and come with shower and bath facilities. Boasting some of the largest rooms in the city, the hotel offers a variety of rooms types such as: Double Rooms - comprising of large double Bed, Twin Rooms - comprising of large double & Single bed, Triple Rooms - comprising of three single beds. All the above rooms are extremely spacious and among the largest in Waterford City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Fitzwilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fitzwilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.