We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Twee Manner” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Arlington Lodge Country House hotel

Arlington Lodge Country House hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waterford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arlington Lodge Country House hotel
Save
You added Arlington Lodge Country House hotel to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   John's Hill, Waterford, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 25 Waterford B&B and Inns
wexford
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Twee Manner”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2007

You don't get what you pay for here(and that's quite a bit).From the vintage cars in the drive to the walnut veneer on the dresser this is a place with aspirations but little substance.You get the feeling on entering of a genteel but twee country house.The William Morris bar on the ground floor is a cosy little forum for boorish v-neck types with accents to recount tales of business deals and mad rugby trips to "gay Paree"-nudge,nudge,wink,wink.Booked a table for dinner and they forgot about me!!!!The room was small,stuffy and very hot.Didn't get much sleep.Judging from her demeanour the girl who served breakfast was having boyfriend trouble.The menu for the evening dinner looked superb but alas I never got a chance to sample it (I ate in Supermacs that night).They promised to make up for their mistake the following night but had had enough at that stage and ate in la Bodega in town.See my review of Talbot Carlow where I stayed the following week and you'll wonder if I'm unlucky or are the top range hotels in this country all crap

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — General atmosphere of bulls**t
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArlingtonWaterford, Sales & Marketing Manager at Arlington Lodge Country House hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2007
We are very disappointed with the poor review of the last traveller. We do strive to make every guest feel welcome and enjoy their time with us, but obviously we failed in that regard at this time. For this we can only apologise, and reiterate should any of our guests be unhappy with the service they receive, please do bring it to our attention at the time, as unfortunately after the fact there is little we can do to remedy it. We pride ourselves on a high level of customer service and appreciate all feedback. We use this feedback to make any improvements and this training is ongoing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    4
    0
    4
    2
See reviews for
2
7
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
wolverhampton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2007

This hotel is sooooo nice would highly recommend, rooms have lovely features, 4 poster beds, chaise longs, great food, very polite staff, treated like royalty. Would definately go back if we can afford it !

  • Liked — luxury
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westmeath
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2007

very polite staff friendly reception at first but later on noticed a disliking to children . we stayed here with our son and while in the bar were approuched by the manager and told to keep it down as our son was laughing , besides ourselves there was only one couple in the bar and to be honest he was not laughing loud at all , to top it off the manager told our son to sit up straight . nice place if you like to walk around with a poker up your [--] and hate kids otherwise stay well clear!!!!

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york state
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2007

While the room was nice, we had some definite problems with this hotel! If you go, know that they lock the main gate at midnight, so if you stay out late you need to let them know. They also make you leave your room key at the front desk every time you leave. Apparently this is to help them know if you are in, but when we received a phone call, the caller was told we were out when we were not! We had requested a king bed and were given a queen, When we questioned this (since the unoccupied room next door had a king) we were told that the bed in our room was a king! It definately wasn't. We were also told that there would be NO connection fee to use our phone calling card. When we were presented with expensive connection fees on our bill the following morning and questioned the front desk clerk, he became VERY snippy with us and ushered us to the door! They didn't even have maps of the city to help us get around!! This was the only hotel/person in Ireland who left us with a bad feeling!

  • Liked — clean, OK breakfast
  • Disliked — being told incorrect information and being treated very rudely!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2007

I stayed here for one night on a business trip. It is a very nicely decorated hotel in a 'big house' style. My room was large and pleasant. The staff were friendly and the hotel was very quiet during my stay although at the time there were very few people staying there. The only disappointment was the breakfast which did not live up to the description on the hotel's website of its great restaurant. and the attention given to home produce. Another point which may be of interest: the hotel website claims to adjust rates for single travellers but this was not done in my case.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine River, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2007

The Arlington Lodge is listed here as a B&B which it certainly is not. Nor is it a hotel. In other places it might be a country inn or even a lodge which also seems out of place here no matter what they call it. Whatever it is, it is a 4 story sort-of hotel in the old bishop's house in an out-of-the-way neighborhood near the hospital on John's Hill. It was a short drive from our late afternoon tour of the crystal factory and we did not venture out later and so don't have a good feel for the distance into town center.

On checking in we were very impressed with the professionalism of the staff who led us to a very upscale and high-tech room on the 3rd floor. Everything from the sound system to the lighting to the bathroom and fireplace was well thought out.

We made a reservation for dinner and when we arrived we were taken to the bar to relax with a cocktail and to place our order. When dinner was ready we were taken to the dining room and promptly served. Dinner was very good and service was acceptable.

At breakfast the next morning the room was already being reset for lunch (or dinner?) so we were relegated to a back wall table even though the room was almost empty. The cold buffet was virtually empty even though there was about a half hour left to serve and it was certainly not replenished for us. After years in the restaurant business we know that the inmates sometimes run the asylum and this was a case of the only server getting a head start on his side-work so he could finish and get out of there.

This is truly a classy property and for the most part the staff reflects that. It should be rated a five but at these prices we expect a higher standard and are giving it a "4".

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2006

Just back from a 2 night break in the Arlington Lodge Hotel Waterford. This is a truely lovely hotel to chill out in. The room was extra large with en suite bathroom. The furnishings are beautiful and the staff couldn't do enough for us. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to relax for a couple of days.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arlington Lodge Country House hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arlington Lodge Country House hotel

Address: John's Hill, Waterford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arlington Lodge Country House hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1760, a country house is now enveloped by the thriving expanding Waterford City. The home to the catholic Bishops for over 200 years, bought from the church by Maurice Keller in 1997, semi derelict, was carefully restored and modernized always protecting the integrity of the building and its Georgian features. Arlington Lodge opened as a 4 star boutique hotel in 2000. As a member of Good Food Ireland our emphasis is on local seasonal Irish produce. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arlington Lodge Country House hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.