We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Viking Hotel Waterford

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Viking Hotel Waterford to your Saves list
Viking Hotel Waterford
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cork Rd, Waterford, Ireland (Formerly Ramada Viking Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Galway, Ireland
1 review
“good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

i stayed 2 nights at this hotel,Unfortunately i was feeling bit unwell before we went to the viking and as we had voucher which was almost expired we decided to chance it and hope everything would be ok the rooms were lovely the showers were brilliant and their was a great choice for breakfast .However instead of improving i got worse and was confined to the bed all day it was 9,o,clock that night when i woke feeling little bit better went downstairs about 9,30 in the hope of getting some food, they had finished serving serving food at 9; the receptions was very good and said he could order me in a takeaway but their was a staff member in the lobby Danny was his name and he offered to get me some bread and butter as that's all i was able for just something light he went out of his way to help me offering me ham or cheese sandwiches also soup i told him the bread would be fine and i would wait there for it but he insisted on me going back to my room and he would take it up to me which he did and brought up four different types of breads Danny was such a lovely young man so obliging and mannerly and i will never forget how good he was to me he couldn't do enough for me so thanks again Danny.Overall the hotel was very clean staff very friendly will look forward to going back again in near future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Nuala F
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Viking Hotel.
I'm sorry that you were unwell while you were at the hotel, but glad to hear that Danny came to your rescue.
I hope you'll come back again during the summer when you are feeling better and can enjoy all that Waterford has to offer.
Kind regards

Aideen Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    107
    68
    17
    15
See reviews for
54
118
11
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmacthomas, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I hadn't had lunch in this hotel for about a year.When my partner and I arrived on a rainy Sunday we were delighted to see the place was busy but there was still some seating available.Service from the chefs was very efficient and although not an extensive selection the carvery food looked lovely.Unfortunately our dinners were left on the counter beside till with others with no covers to start getting cold.There was an old lady at top of line so we made allowances while she was paying but the cashier did nothing to help her and then went off to get bags of change.By the time we reached our table the food was barely lukewarm.It was a pity as the everything on the plate was very tasty except the tough roast potatoes.I would probably try this restaurant again but maybe not on a Sunday as its reasonably priced, has a bright and airy interior but the cashier and chefs need to sort out a better system.Cold food is not acceptable.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear JacqDee
thank you for your recent review of your lunch at the Viking Hotel. I have passed your comments onto the food and beverage department. As you have said, cold food is not acceptable. We pride ourselves on the quality and service of our food, and will endeavour to ensure this does not happen again.
Thank you
Aideen Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

I spent 2 nights at this hotel,if you are looking for a fun time in the city centre,this hotel isnt for you.It was too far away from the city too walk and had no views,my view was of the roof.The hotel itself was good though,the staff were all really nice and helpful.The hotel was really clean and had good showers.The barfood was really nice and good value and the breakfast was lovely too with a good selection of hot and cold.The hotel offers the use of leisure centre at their sister hotel,we used the centre and it was excellent.I found the hotels bar lacking in atmosphere,we were last in it on Thursday night and that was really early,the bar is more set up like a cafe,with no comfy relaxing seats.If you want a base for exploring Waterford this hotel is ideal,

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Heather1968
thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Viking Hotel. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the compliments on my colleagues. As you mentioned, the hotel's location on the Cork Road is an ideal base for exploring Waterford city and county, the M9/M25 junctions are just minutes away.
Thanks again
Kind regards
Aideen Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kells, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We were staying in this hotel for 2 nights. We had twin room (2 adults and child) and beds were quite spacious. The rooms are great, clean and tidy, but TV unit is old and need to be upgraded as it makes terrible noises at night for some reason.
The bathroom didn't have working vent nor mat so my husband had a good slide going out of the shower after all the mpoisture and water gathered up..He managed to stay up :-)
I found the piping system in the hotel quite noisy especially when your neighbor takes a shower or flushes the water
Free parking and Wi-Fi are the advantages of the place.
No lift to the first floor.
No Air conditioning in the room available
It is family friendly place, front desk staff very nice and helpful.

After trying out the Carvery meals in the bar we didn't want to eat there any more. Food felt like stuck to our stomachs for days. (lack of children's cutlery is a downside for us as well) First day breakfast was average, poor quality to my opinion. The second morning fruit salad wasn't fresh and there wasn't enough croissants for everyone.Waitressing staff seem to be very unhappy there.

In general the hotel itself is very nice but bit too far from the city so you need a car to travel, Food and catering service was rather poor. Only one young waiter was "on the ball" and cheerful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Stayed during a business trip to Waterford. Hotel is in between two garages ( no real view from room )
Had dinner in the bar which was good .
bed could have done with a new mattress a little dipped in the centre .
Breakfast was self service .
General service was very good and I feel this hotel is most suited for business or short term stay . Not really a holiday hotel as its about 3 or 4 Klm outside the City. if i was in Waterford again I would stay.
free Wifi

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Spent a night here before a job interview, very noisy and far too warm. Food and breakfast average. In a strange location out of the town, not within walking distance in a pair of heels. Would definitely go somewhere closer next time to the town centre.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Unusual location, surrounded by car dealers, but near all the ring roads.

Staff pleasant...

The room was fine but extremely noisy. There was constant creaking from what sounded like plumbing over the room as well as noise from the bar.

The room was airless and absolutely roasting hot.

Still not bad for 50 euro.

The dinner in the bar was absolutely delicious and definately the high point of the stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Viking Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotel Waterford

Address: Cork Rd, Waterford, Ireland (Formerly Ramada Viking Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Viking Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3* Waterford Viking Hotel is the perfect base in the South East of Ireland just outside Waterford City. The hotel is ideally situated adjacent to the junction of both the M9 and N25. The Viking Hotel offers space, comfort and style, and capitalises on its strategic location on the outskirts of the historic Viking City. Close to Waterford City Centre to capture the night life and culture that Waterford has to offer, but sufficiently outside to avoid the hustle and bustle, and congestion, and offers Free Parking. This hotel is truly the gateway to Dublin (2 hours), Cork (80 mins), and just minutes from the Waterford Train Station, and several shopping centres. This Hotel is Paradise for all discerning holiday makers who want quality food, accommodation, service, shopping, sight-seeing, golf, combined with a truly Irish social life to enhance the trip. Set on an excellent road network you will not spend your holiday on the road or immersed in traffic.Offering great value rates, in comfortable surroundings and with a warmwelcome guaranteed – making it the ideal choice for Waterford City Hotels.Best Rate Guaranteed on our Waterford Accommodation.The hotel offers modern, comfortable rooms with lots of added benefits.Rooms are designed with guests’ comfort in mind. Unwind in spacious,bright rooms and enjoy a heavenly sleep in the sensational beds. There is free WiFi throughout the entire hotel. The menu offers a Mediterranean twist on traditional Irish ingredientsand dishes with a superb wine list of recognisable wines from the newworld. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Viking Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Waterford
Waterford Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viking Hotel Waterford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.