We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was amazing!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Viking Hotel Waterford

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Viking Hotel Waterford to your Saves list
Viking Hotel Waterford
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cork Rd, Waterford, Ireland (Formerly Ramada Viking Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Waterford
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food was amazing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights on weekend 1st february!. Hotel was a little hard to find as it didnt seem to be covered on our sat nav. Anyway, the room was bright, modern, spacious, airy and spotlessly clean. In fact the whole hotel was spotlessly clean The bar food was amazing! We ate here everyday as the food was really tasty. We could not fault the food at all. We had tried the salmon, steak, stir fries, deep fried brie etc and all were cooked to perfection and at very reasonable prices to our astonishment. The greatest asset the Ramada Viking Hotel has is their chef!! would travel to the Ramada just for the food!! The only down side is that its a little far from the city centre of waterford but reception was only to happy to order us taxi when needed. Overall, we had a lovely stay. If your in waterford and looking for good quality food that is reasonably priced then stop off here!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eoghan D, General Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hi Jacqueline S
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, especially the food and the excellent value.
Hopefully it won't be too long before your next visit, please keep an eye on our website for our special offers.
Regards
Eoghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    107
    69
    17
    16
See reviews for
54
121
12
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kerry
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed her last month , had stayed here a few years ago and what a change
and not for the better , hotel needs to paint the corridors clean the carpets , fixed the damaged
tiles in the bathroom, reception staff pleasant ,cant say the same for the bar and breakfast staff
even the food which was fanstatic on last visit breakfast had been awesome
was a huge disapointment , A lot of work needed to get back to where it was

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eoghan D, General Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear davidkerry
I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay, I have passed on your comments to the Food & Beverage Manager and team. If you don’t mind would you please contact me directly as I would like to discuss your stay in more detail with you.
Regards Eoghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hi stayed at the ramada hotel on the 2/11/12 for 2 nights got there a bit late cause was a bit hard to find when we arrived the girl on reception was very pleasant and helpful, however we got the key to our room which was clean and comfy, but there was a slight odyr in the hallway unexplained odur like the carpet or a musty smell, breakfast was nice overall a bit off the beaten track as its more for conferences but staff were nice, but do get those carpets cleaned !!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eoghan D, General Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Caroline, thank you for your comments. I'm glad you found the Hotel to be comfy and staff friendly. Sorry about the carpets odour but we were doing exactly as you are suggesting, deep cleaning the carpets as part of our winter maintenance program. Hoping you will visit Waterford again soon, maybe for the Winterval festival. Regards Eoghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winterton
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at Ramada Viking on 22/23/10/12. Previously stayed last year. Then the review was
5 star. This visit was very disappointing inasmuch as it took three tries to get a quiet room.
Room was fine but the TV was out the ark. The corridor carpet was in an appalling state as though a herd of rubgy types in muddy boots had wrestled in it. One pitied the poor trying
to clean it. Staff are still very pleasant but Management really should sort out cosmetics as
these are the fount of first (and last) impressions.
k

Room Tip: Keep trying the rooms until you get what you want - either that or move
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eoghan D, General Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear winterton
I’m sorry you didn’t like the first two rooms, we at the Ramada Viking Hotel never like hearing when a guest doesn’t enjoy their stay. So if you don’t mind would you please contact me directly as I would like to discuss your stay with you.
Regards Eoghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbridge, Kildare, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed here in August. I found the hotel well run. It's staff friendly. The rooms are basic enough but clean. Hated the tv though. Breakfast is a buffet & fills you up with the usual menus. Won't complain as I only stayed one night. Not sure if I'd stay longer as it's a bit far out of the city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eoghan D, General Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear franfield68, thank you for your comments. I'm glad you found the Hotel to be great value and well managed. Hoping you will visit Waterford again soon, maybe for the Winterval festival. Regards Eoghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed here December 2011 i think and got a great dealt was 30 euro for the room for the nIght, most places would be 30per person sothis was good..
The food in the bar was like most pub grub does the job, I found there was one woman who didn't really like going out of her way for the customer she seemed very snappy and slammed my plate down, and when I said she'd got my Order wrong, she was very un pleasant.. Saying this there was other waitresses and waiters and they were so lovely !!
The room was nice and everything as most hotel rooms, nothing to fancy either.
The location of this hotel is a bit far from the city like don't stay if your going Down for the night life because it's far off and you'll pay for it Ina taxi..
Also they didn't have a gymor pool but I'll mark them as average to be fair..
But I would recommend this hotel to anyone if they brought that deal back into place because they've since took it away !

Room Tip: We got a room facing the car park and that was fine I know the motor way is arou d it some side I wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eoghan D, General Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Hi Joggaboo92

Thank you for taking the time out to post your review, I’m glad that you enjoyed the great value and keep an eye out for those fabulous rates, they’ll be back soon !!

Regards
Eoghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

we stayed one night. The room was basic, bed was uncomfortable, we had an air conditioning unit outside our window that screeched constantly, no sleep and a headache. We had afternoon tea in the restaurant on arrival, cups, milk jug, tea pot everything was filthy dirty, it was disgusting. Next morning went to have our breakfast which was included in the price, very unorganized, one girl working on a Sunday morning in a hotel. again even the tea pots had encrusted dirt on them, food was pretty bad and not much of a selection but we didnt eat much anyway because it was so dirty.
Will never recommend or stay there again, needs a complete change of cleaning staff to say the least.
On checkout the girl on reception asked how was our stay we said terrible as we were exhausted because we got no sleep she said sorry and walked away !!

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eoghan D, General Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Hi Michellemcl
I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay, we at the Ramada Viking Hotel never like hearing when a guest doesn’t enjoy their stay. So if you don’t mind would you please contact me directly as I would like to discuss your stay with you.
Regards
Eoghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Viking Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotel Waterford

Address: Cork Rd, Waterford, Ireland (Formerly Ramada Viking Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Viking Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3* Waterford Viking Hotel is the perfect base in the South East of Ireland just outside Waterford City. The hotel is ideally situated adjacent to the junction of both the M9 and N25. The Viking Hotel offers space, comfort and style, and capitalises on its strategic location on the outskirts of the historic Viking City. Close to Waterford City Centre to capture the night life and culture that Waterford has to offer, but sufficiently outside to avoid the hustle and bustle, and congestion, and offers Free Parking. This hotel is truly the gateway to Dublin (2 hours), Cork (80 mins), and just minutes from the Waterford Train Station, and several shopping centres. This Hotel is Paradise for all discerning holiday makers who want quality food, accommodation, service, shopping, sight-seeing, golf, combined with a truly Irish social life to enhance the trip. Set on an excellent road network you will not spend your holiday on the road or immersed in traffic.Offering great value rates, in comfortable surroundings and with a warmwelcome guaranteed – making it the ideal choice for Waterford City Hotels.Best Rate Guaranteed on our Waterford Accommodation.The hotel offers modern, comfortable rooms with lots of added benefits.Rooms are designed with guests’ comfort in mind. Unwind in spacious,bright rooms and enjoy a heavenly sleep in the sensational beds. There is free WiFi throughout the entire hotel. The menu offers a Mediterranean twist on traditional Irish ingredientsand dishes with a superb wine list of recognisable wines from the newworld. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Viking Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Waterford
Waterford Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viking Hotel Waterford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.