We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May bank holiday weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Treacys Hotel Waterford

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Treacys Hotel Waterford to your Saves list
Treacys Hotel Waterford
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Merchants Quay, Waterford, Ireland (Formerly Days Hotel Waterford)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Waterford
Bray
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“May bank holiday weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Eight of us ladies spent the long weekend in Treacys hotel & leisure centre in Waterford. What a weekend !!! Lovely room shared with my sister had all the necessities for a pleasant stay and the bed was the most comfortable I've ever slept in. A little glitch with the bar food on our first night was ironed out quickly, but the breakfasts and the full dinner was first class. The swimming pool was enjoyed by some of us and was sorely missed when we returned home. The best part, in our opinion, was the entertainment, great music every night and on Sunday afternoon. The entertainment alone would make up for any shortfalls in value that you might find. Already looking forward to our next visit, can't be too soon for us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Sales & Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Molly,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. I am thrilled to hear that you and your group had an absolutely fantastic stay here at Treacys Hotel. I am delighted that you found great comfort in your room, our House-Keeping team are second to none and always ensure cleanliness and comfort in our guest bedrooms. I am very happy that you enjoyed the food here too. Our kitchen team are extremely talented. It is great that you enjoyed all facilities we have here at Treacys Hotel including our leisure centre and entertainment.

Once again thank you for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you all again soon.

Kind Regards,

Shóna McGailey
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    192
    71
    52
    101
See reviews for
129
183
24
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

yesterday 11th may,I had my daughters Communion party in Treacys Hotel,Waterford,I had adjoining rooms for eating and for the kids disco and entertainment-perfect room to have!The staff were very helpful and and the food was excellent and Libby was made feel so important on her special day!Her gift from the staff was a lovely gesture and she was thrilled!I will definitely use Treacys Hotel again!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Sales & Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Rowena,

Thank you for your kind words. I am absolutely thrilled that both you and Libby enjoyed the communion celebrations. We do have a fantastic team of staff here at Treacys Hotel who go out of their way to ensure all guests have a great experience with us. Thank you once again for choosing Treacys Hotel for your daughters communion.

Kind Regards,

Shóna McGailey
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Thanks so much for making my Daughter's communion day so special. The hospitality was second to none and the staff went out of their way for us and were very friendly and helpful. This hotel holds special memories for us as we met in the nightclub years ago and held our wedding reception there also.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Sales & Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Sharon,

We were absolutely thrilled here at Treacys Hotel to be holding your daughters communion. It is always a pleasure having you and your family here with us. Thank you for your kind words. I will pass your compliments onto all our staff who i know will delighted with your comment.

We look forward to having you and your family here with us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Shóna McGailey
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Got a deal on this hotel three nights one meal and breakfast for basically nothing , have to say rooms were nice nothing special , location is great . We went at a quiet time of year so not much was going on in the town . I had breakfast every morning which was nice and a meal in the bar which was also nice. Right across the road from the train station. I heard its a popular spot for hens and stags so be wary.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Sales & Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time out to review your time at Treacys Hotel Waterford. I am happy to hear that you loved the location of our hotel . We are just 2/3 minute walk from both bus and train station and just a short stroll to the main shopping area. I am glad you enjoyed food here too, we do have a very talented team of chefs.I will pass on your compliments.

We are the largest hotel in Waterford with 160 bedrooms. Because of our quantity of rooms we are very fortunate that we can facilitate and accommodate all types of guests. Our reception team are fantastic in their allocation of rooms keeping all families together, all couples together, all older people together and so on.

I am sorry to hear that you felt our bedrooms were nothing special. I would love if you could give me further feedback on that. My email address is sales@thwaterford.com.

I do hope hope you will come visit us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Shóna McGailey
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in a smoking room however when we arrived to the room the bathroom door had a dent in it, room had a stale smell the paint was gone off the walls, the thermostat was hanging off the wall with tape, a plug socket was hanging off the wall with wires exposed and the skirting board was hanging of the wall. the staff however accomdated us and upgraded our room. We got dinner in the bar in the evening it was as if it was leftovers were from someone elses plate, breakfast Buffett had hardly anything fresh in it at 9.00am, meat and scrambled eggs were like rubber. The gym however is nice and the spa is lovely but other than that we would not recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Sales & Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time out to review your experience with us. All feedback is greatly appreciated as it is with that we can help to improve the quality and service at our hotel.

I am very sorry to hear that you and your boyfriend were allocated a room that should of been blocked for guests. I am happy to hear that you did report this to our reception team and that they immediately changed and upgraded your room.

I am disappointed and shocked that you did not enjoy the food served here at Treacys Hotel. Usually we get praised and complemented for our array of home-cooked dishes. You will see this in may other reviews on Tripadvisor. I have brought your comments to the attention of our Head-chef and he is looking into it at present.

I do hope you will return to Treacys Hotel and allow us to restore your confidence in the service we offer.

Kind Regards,

Shóna McGailey
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Limerick, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Hi there just a quick line to say a big thanks for a verg enjoyable stay we had in the hotel on sunday may 5th.. ...rooms verg nice with a verg nice powerfull shower.food verg good in the bar .music that night by men in black oustanding..........service was verg efficent and friendly .looking forward to our next vist already many thanks again from the wade family.....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Sales & Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Adrian,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time out to review your experience at Treacys Hotel. We are delighted to read that you truly had a great experience with us. It was an absolute pleasure having you and your family stay with us.

We look forward to your return visit.

Kind Regards,

Shóna McGailey
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Both myself and husband stayed here and have to say it was one of the best hotels i stayed in in along time staff were so nice and catered all our needs. the food was fantastic nice big portion too :) needed a nice relaxing break and thats what i got. swimming and spa was wonderful and i must say the bedroom was out of this world so comfy nd best of all checkout is not till 12 so we could get in a swim before we departed will b going again soon well recommended

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Sales & Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Sabrina,

Thank you for your kind words. I am delighted to read that you took time out to relax in our swimming pool and our fantastic spa. I am delighted you got to taste the fabulous home-cooked food our talented chefs create. Once again thank you for your lovely review.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Shóna McGailey
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Treacys Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treacys Hotel Waterford

Address: 1 Merchants Quay, Waterford, Ireland (Formerly Days Hotel Waterford)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Treacys Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly The Bridge Hotel, this property has been completely renovated and transformed into one of Waterford city's finest hotels. Treacys Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre, Waterford is a quality three star heritage hotel that combines modern comfort with quintessential Irish style, featuring spectacular Waterford Crystal chandeliers and rich oak paneling. The hotel is ideally located on the waterfront in historic Waterford, Ireland's oldest city centre. This prime location makes Treacys Hotel, Waterford the ideal base for exploring all that Waterford City has to offer. With 3 different dining options available you can chose from traditional Irish, European and Thai cuisine. The hotel also boasts 163 exquisite guest bedrooms, 5 conference suites and state of the art Spirit Leisure Centre, equipped with gym, Jacuzzi, sauna and a 20 m heated swimming pool. The in-house Spirit Beauty Spa offers luxurious treatments from enhancements, facials and full body massage. In-room amenities include flat screen TV, work desk, safe, ironing station, and tea/coffee maker and free wireless broadband. Waterford City is renowned for its nightlife, from traditional Irish pubs to lively clubs and late night bars, everything you need is right on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Treacys Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Waterford
Waterford Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Treacys Hotel Waterford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.