We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant night away in a great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Treacys Hotel Waterford

Save Saved
You added Treacys Hotel Waterford to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Treacys Hotel Waterford
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Merchants Quay, Waterford, Ireland (Formerly Days Hotel Waterford)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 hotels in Waterford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Brilliant night away in a great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Myself & my boyfriend stayed here with another couple on 10th Feb... we got a great rate & it was well worth it. The staff are all excellent & nothing was too much for them. When we went for breakfast on sun it was extremely busy but within seconds Marian & her staff had it in order. Food was lovely but could have had a few more options on the set menu. Great entertainment in the bar & when we were leaving on Sun a singer was just setting up we were so disappointed to be missing him would have loved to stay another night... will definitely be back & will definitely stay more than 1 night

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Sales & Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Christina,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. I am thrilled that you and your partner had such a good experience with us. We are extremely lucky to have a great team here at Treacys Hotel. We all work very hard and take great pride in the fact that our guests truly have a wonderful experience with us. Once again thank you for your stay. We look forward to welcoming you and your partner again soon.

Kind Regards,

Shóna McGailey
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    181
    150
    56
    39
    87
See reviews for
108
149
18
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed in late Dec 2012..room was fine / pool ideal / staff and food also great - no complaints. We travelled with infant so travelcot was provided for us. recommend this hotel for its service / rooms / location and food :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Sales & Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Jo,

I am delighted that you would recommend our hotel. We do work extremely hard to ensure all guests are happy. I am thrilled that you enjoy all aspects of our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you and your family again soon.

Kind Regards,

Shóna McGailey
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

sta.yed recently in treacys waterford. the hotel rates were very good. rooms are small but spotlessly clean. corridors are a bit like a warren but well signposted so you dont get lost.the breakfast is cafeteria style and the food is top class. location on the quays is ideal for tourists. at reception enquired about local tourist attractions found the staff more than helpful. used the leisure centre attatched to the hotel found it adequate.for a budget hotel treacys cant be faulted

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Sales & Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Pat,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time out to review your stay with us. All feedback is greatly appreciated as it is with this that we can help improve the quality and service at our hotel. I am glad to hear that you found staff very friendly. We are very fortunate to in having a great team here at Treacy's Hotel.

Treacys Hotel was originally built in the mid 18th Century and with recent modernization we have tried to retain the charm of the building for this reason we do have a variety of sizes of rooms. It is unfortunate that you did not contact reception to let them know you were not happy with you room. We do our very best to accommodate all guests and ensure that they are happy.

Once again thank you for your recent stay with us. We do hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Shóna McGailey
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I recently spent a night away with 5 of my friends for a 50th birthday, from the moment we arrived we were met by marion the hotel supervisor, we had booked three twin rooms and we werent disapointed, our room had two double beds and a single bed lovely modern furniture. we ate in the bar that night . even though there was an event in the ballroom the bar food was excellent and v. quick, there was entertainment in the bar that nite and marion was v kind and had arranged chocolates and a card for my friend she also gave her a free dessert with a candle on it. the hotel is just across the bridge from the train station, so we didnt have v far to walk, it is also within walking distance of all the shops and bars in waterford. we also were given a late checkout free and it was a lovely surpirise to walk into the bar at lunchtime on the sunday to hear a band in full swing, it ended the nite away perfectly. all in all we had a fantastic time, a big big thank u to marion who was so helpful and made our girls nite away one to remember, we will be back v soon, thanks again

Room Tip: we were put in block b room 243 beautiful modern rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Sales & Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time out to write a glowing review of your stay at Treacys Hotel Waterford. We are privileged to have such a great team working here at Treacys Hotel. All members of staff work extremely hard to ensure all guests enjoy great hospitality during their stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of our hotel and that Marian looked after your group so well. I will be sure to pass the compliments onto Marian and i know she will be thrilled.

Thank you again for your kind words. We look forward to your next stay away with us.

Kind Regards,

Shóna McGailey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My wife and I spent the weekend in Tracey's Hotel and I was not impressed.

Cons
Hotel rooms and lifts smelt of cigarette smoke. When the fan was on in the bathroom the smell would worsen.

Stains on the bed sheets

uTH Milk with the tea station in the room was lumpy and clearly had expired.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Sales & Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Ray,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time out to review your experience with us. All feedback is greatly appreciated as it is with this that we can help improve the quality and service at our hotel.

I am shocked to read that you did not have an enjoyable stay with us. I'm disappointed to hear that there was a smell of smoke in your room. We do have smoke detectors in place in all rooms to deter people from smoking and also implement a €150 fine for those who do smoke in unauthorized areas. I do apologise for inconsiderate guests and we would encourage guests to contact reception when they are aware of issues like this.

I am astonished that you found stains on bed sheets and that milk in tea station was out of date. We are regularly praised for how how clean our rooms are. I have spoken to head of housekeeping on this issue which will be taken very seriously.

Once again that you for your recent stay with us we do hope that this one bad experience will not deter you from staying with us again.

Kind Regards,

Shóna McGailey
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, Co Down
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed in this hotel last weekend and I have to say we had a great time and we are definitely planning to be back in the Summer or beforehand for another weekend. We had planned to go out clubbing in Waterford but we were having such a good night we stayed in the bar at Treacy's. The music was great and there was such a good atmosphere in the bar that there was no reason to leave. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we were not afraid to approach them as you do in so many hotels. The room was immaculately clean and very spacious. We were feeling very lazy in the morning and decided to ring for room service so that we could watch tv and relax while having breakfast. We had our breakfast up to the room 10 minutes later and we could not have asked for a more prompt service. It was delicious and just what was needed on a Sunday morning after a little alcohol the night before. I could not praise this hotel enough and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Sales & Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Laura,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We have a great team here at Treacys Hotel who work extremely hard to ensure all guests have an enjoyable stay. I am delighted to hear that you had a great night in our bar, the atmosphere is always thriving and the craic is mighty. I am thrilled to read that you and your partner will be back to visit us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Shóna McGailey
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Just wanted to thank all the staff in Treacys for a brilliant time last weekend. The hotel room was fabulous as i say staff were excellent, especially Sharon on reception and Shona in marketing, you were both fantastic. The leisure suite is top class and had a great night in the bar. Best Weekend and Hotel in a hell of a long time! Thanks Folks :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Sales & Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Brian,

Thank you once again for such a lovely review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Shóna McGailey
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Waterford hotels
Luxury, City Ce...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#1 of 13 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 stars 496 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#7 of 13 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 stars 531 reviews
Romantic, Free...
Show More
0.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 13 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 stars 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-range, Free...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Dooley's Hotel
Dooley's Hotel
#5 of 13 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 stars 492 reviews
City Center, Fr...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#11 of 13 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 stars 764 reviews
Luxury, Romanti...
Show More
2.5 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel
Waterford Castle Hotel
#2 of 13 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 stars 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treacys Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treacys Hotel Waterford

Address: 1 Merchants Quay, Waterford, Ireland (Formerly Days Hotel Waterford)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Treacys Hotel Waterford 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly The Bridge Hotel, this property has been completely renovated, and transformed into one of Waterford city's finest hotels. Situated in the heart of the city, just minutes walk from the train and bus stations. All 130 guest rooms have been completely refurbished, with warm stylish decor. In room amenities include flat screen tv, safe, ironing station, and tea/coffee maker and free broadband. Enjoy the finest of local cuisine in our restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Treacys Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Waterford
Waterford Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Treacys Hotel Waterford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.