We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ham” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gingerman

The Gingerman
6 Arundel lane | Waterford, Waterford, Ireland
+353 51 879 522
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 118 Restaurants in Waterford
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great ham”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Great ham and cabbage meal for lunch, perfect for an autumn day. Cosy atmosphere, could have stayed all afternoon....

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    21
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Usually order the same when I come here but today got the pulled pork sandwich and it was so good. Would definitely order again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great soup!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

had lovely bowl of soup and bread was divine!! guinness just right! lovely friendly pub and prices are reasonable too!!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food and drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I sometime like to take the time to stop in The Gingerman in Waterford on my way back up the country from the beach in Tramore. There's a few things I like about The Gingerman. Firstly it's very much a pub - and quite a lovely old fashioned charming one at that. It wouldn't feel strange just going in here for a leisurely afternoon pint and a read of the newspaper - but it's not just a pub - the place serves very good food as well. An added bonus!

There seems to be a 'family run' vibe about the place too which I also like - the staff are friendly and do their jobs well. Will always be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Very much still a pub serving food rather than a Restaurant pretending to be a pub.
We chanced upon this place which is tucked away down an alley in the town centre after asking locals for their recommendations. On our first visit we had lunch, Usual fayre on offer, sandwiches, Jacket potatoes, 'full' meals including Beef in Guinness etc; but the offer of 'Hand Cut' chips to accompany the sandwich sealed it for most of our party. Personally I went for the Jacket with Chilli, excellent and loads of it. Fast and friendly service delivered piping hot freshly prepared and well presented food which was enjoyed by all, no exceptions. Prices were good and the whole experience prompted a second visit two days later for an Irish breakfast. A repeat performance, Friendly, fast service, quality ingredients well cooked and great VFM, 10/10

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gingerman also viewed

Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Been to The Gingerman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gingerman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.