We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterford is WOW” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum

Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum
Cathedral Square, Waterford, Ireland
+353 51 849501
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 44 things to do in Waterford
Attraction details
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Waterford is WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Visited Waterford yesterday for the first time in a number of years, the city is looking fab. There are now three wonderful museums, a pedestrianised area around the Medieval part of the city, many interesting outdoor sculptures and lots of interesting shops and restaurants. Had a great lunch in the cafe in the Waterford Crystal showrooms and was sorry I didn't have more time to explore further.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford T, Public Relations Manager at Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Hi Miriam, thank you very much for the vote of confidence, not just in the Museums but in the City overall. We really appreciate you taking the time to review what we have to offer visitors to the oldest City in Ireland and we obviously have done a great job.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    46
    13
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Medieval Museum Waterford - Ireland”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

value for money - standard Museum - historic Kingdom evolution - may not suit very young as they would be bored to death as it makes no sense to them!!! best to have guided tour as it is free and have better knowledge and when it is difficult to read everything in the dark

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford T, Public Relations Manager at Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Good afternoon DublinVisit0r, thank you for taking the time to review the award winning Medieval Museum and disappointed to hear that you felt it was very dark. It is necessary to keep the lights at a certain level in order to protect some of the exhibits. You are right in saying that the guided tour is the best way of seeing the museum as our tour guides are very informative and will take their time through the museum explaining about the development of the City and all of the exhibits that we have to show our visitors, especially the 1350 Great Parchment Book of Waterford, the Great Charter Roll which was commissioned in 1373, the stunning collection of High Mass Vestments, the 'Cloth of Gold Vestments from 1468, the only piece of clothing from King Henry VIII to survive, the 'Cap of Maintenance' from 1536, and a relic of the true Cross in a case from circa 110AD, a gift from Pope Paschal as well as the many other artefacts and presentations in the three audio visual auditoriums. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Super Tour - informative and entertaining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Highly recommend the Medieval Museum. Right from the start we were impressed. The building is architecturally beautiful outside in inside. Our tour guide Ritchie was very knowledgeable and presented the story of Waterford in an informal and entertaining way, giving us all the time we wanted when asking questions. After the tour we watched the video - which gave us more insights to the Waterford story. Then we saw the display of Gold Vestments. DON'T MISS THIS DISPLAY. Fantastic!!

Anselm Aherne

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford T, Public Relations Manager at Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Good afternoon Anselm, thank you very much for those kind comments about your recent visit to the award winning Medieval Museum and of course our tour guide Ritchie, I will certainly pass on your comments to him. I'm glad you enjoyed the mix of the guided tour, the interaction with Ritchie and then the video animation in the auditoriums. We hope you can visit us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Pricey for what you get”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The content of the museum is to be applauded, but the layout itself is most confusing, we were told to go downstairs to get the lift to the second floor and work our way down. The audio guides sometimes froze or didn't work. The film and historical animations were fantastic however, really absorbing. It was great to get a history of the city. I did think that €6 was steep for a student ticket, when you consider more popular sites such as Newgrange charge €3 for a student ticket! The woman behind the cash desk when taking my bag behind the desk actually stapled my ticket to my handbag (I discovered only upon collecting) which I thought was the height of rudeness. The entrance corridor to the toilets on the ground floor was in need of decluttering - the signage could be improved too, tatty A4 printouts stuck to walls, when more permanent and better looking signs would be much better and appropriate for a museum that charges €7 for adult admission. Some artefacts were missing from displays with no explanation as to where they were (were they on loan/being conserved?). The large museum shop downstairs had little of interest directly relating to the museum besides the generic postcards, favouring naff souvenir shop style bric a brac. Overall, the exhibits were good, but little things need tweaking if it is to be of a high museum standard.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford T, Public Relations Manager at Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Good afternoon MsMitford, many thanks for taking the time to review the award winning Medieval Museum. We apologies if the directions you were given weren't as clear as they could have, being that we are the only museum in Europe build over two National Monuments it necessitates having to go down into the 13th Century Choristers Hall and then into the 15th Century Mayors Wine Vault before moving onto the various artefacts which are broken into time lines spread over two floors. We can only apologies that your cloakroom ticket was stapled onto your bag, I have spoken to our receptionist and this will not happen in the future. We will take on board your comments about signage. I note that you did enjoy the 'exhibits' and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Medieval Museum is very interesting and informative.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

There's no point visiting a city like Waterford without learning something of its history, which dates back to Viking days. The guided tour was informative and the guide, Derek, was very funny. The artefacts we saw were priceless and included a hat and sword that belonged to Henry VIII. Highly recommend.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford T, Public Relations Manager at Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Trish, many thanks for taking the time to give us such a fantastic review, Derek will only be delighted when I tell him! We really appreciate you taking the time to let people know of the fantastic time you had visiting us here in the award winning Medieval Museum and we hope you get an opportunity to come back and visit us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum also viewed

Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Been to Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.