We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No central air” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tower Hotel Waterford

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tower Hotel Waterford to your Saves list
Tower Hotel Waterford
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Mall, Waterford, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Waterford
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“No central air”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

1. No central air in room. 2. The beds are hard and uncomfortable. 3. Hotel is a bit dated. Best thing about this hotel is the location, the super friendly staff and the breakfast buffet. If you don't mind a lumpy bed or no air conditioning, then this hotel is fine...Waterford Crystal Factory is just two doors down the street.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    178
    109
    62
    44
See reviews for
128
189
22
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Great location with the centre being a 10 min walk away. Our room was clean and quiet but very dated. Old fashioned TV, hairdryer etc. Bed were not comfortable and the pillows were like rocks. Breakfast was nice. We ate in both the bar and the restaurant and both were very good. The best thing about this hotel is the staff. Everyone was so friendly and helpful which makes a huge difference when you are staying somewhere for a couple of days. They really made up for the fact that the room was such a let down. Im not sure if all the rooms were similar to ours, perhaps some of them have been renovated and some not. The only good thing about the room was that it was very clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

stayed at this hotel a few times,i loved this hotel it had everything,leisure centre,food was lovely and was very reasonably priced.It is at the end of the river but is still within walking didtance of everything.Their is tea and coffee making facilities in the room as well as iron and ironing board.I wud definitely recommend staying at this hotel.It also had a little seating area outside which is nice when the weather is good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed here on globus tour and location was nice - right by the water. It is also within walking distance of the waterford tour. The rooms were ok but they were so hot. Even though it was cool outside the breeze never came in the room. There was a wedding if he hotel and the music was loud bit that can't be helped. I liked the location but would not stay here again with the heat of the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed in the Tower hotel last Thursday and found the staff really friendly and helpful.
We had a budget room but it was totally fine. The blump said the window was internal with no view - but it was fine. The room overlooked the back of the hotel but there was some water in the background. What was really nice - the bathroom had an actual window which opened - this is a big plus in any hotel.

My only gripe was the breakfast - the fried food all tasted as if it was lying around for a few hours. The breakfast ends at 10 am but i was in the restaurant at 9.10 so i felt the food should have been fresher, A highlight was the beautiful fresh scones - delicious. I would return so that says it all

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on business recently. I was pleasantly surprised by the standard of decor and facilities for a 3 star hotel. Check in girl was pleasant but overlooked telling me about breakfast/gym/restaurant etc. They have outside seating at their bar. Location great for getting in/out of the town. Flat screen tvs and proper hair dryer. Good breakfast selection and service. The one thing that let this hotel down was the service in the bar. Gentleman in different shirt to main staff (appeared to be more senior) looked directly at me several times waiting for somebody to take my order but he just walked past. A girl eventually took my order however I still had to walk up to the bar to place a second order for a drink. Nothing major I know, it just lacked a welcome somewhat. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carms
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Lovely hotel, modern and well maintained. Has a pool and gym but I didn't use these. The rooms were clean and comfy. I say rooms because my first room had a Air Con unit right outside the window. I was assured that they were turned off at night but having had little sleep the previous night due to travel I need to get my head down. I was then swapped to a suite with no quarrel at all. This was at the front of the hotel but not at all noisy and very well appointed, obviously a bit plusher than the standard room but both were nice.
The breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice, fresh and beautifully presented. Don't forget to try the scones - Irish scones are the best.
Service was excellent at all stages, check in / out, breakfast, bar etc.
Recommend at all just be wary of large coach trips but generally reception will advise you if there is one coming in and if it might affect dinner etc.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tower Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower Hotel Waterford

Address: The Mall, Waterford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Waterford
#5 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tower Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tower Hotel Waterford In the heart of Waterford city, overlooking the marina, the Tower Hotel & Leisure Centre is the perfect accommodation venue whether your visit to Waterford is for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tower Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Waterford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tower Hotel Waterford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.