We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel - a great choice for a town break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tower Hotel Waterford

Save Saved
You added Tower Hotel Waterford to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tower Hotel Waterford
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Mall, Waterford, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 hotels in Waterford
Sandyford
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Very good hotel - a great choice for a town break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Excellent hotel - great location - right in the heart of Waterford. Within walking distance of shops, pubs, restaurants, etc. A few minutes drive from Waterford Castle. A great choice all round. All staff that we met during our stay were excellent and friendly.

Room Tip: Higher floors - as traffic can be noisy outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    158
    96
    59
    39
See reviews for
99
170
22
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Spent a few nights in this hotel recently . Really enjoyed it . Very central for restaurant,Bars and shopping. Free secure car parking at the back of hotel . Slept well as there was no noise at all . Lovely view of the river . Good atmosphere in the bar . Staff at reception very chatty and helpful. Fantastic value and will return soon .

Room Tip: Tray and get a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed in Tower last weekend and everything was excellent. Lovely family room -333- for Me, my better half and our two children (9 and 7). Couldnt fault anything. Lovely meal in bar on Friday evening served promptly by a very friendly waitress who to my sons delight was a wrestling fan! Breakfast excellent on both mornings and a lovely residents area to enjoy a few drinks on saturday evening. Hope to get back soon. Perfect base to explore a great city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare Ireland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Food in dining room was lovely, and nice choice on the menu. Great selection of breakfast. Central hotel, so handy for shopping and touriing waterford etc. Rooms on the first foor are a joke. Very small. beds very very uncomfortable and far to low.. I had to sleep at end of bed, I really would not call it sleep, my back suffered on account of this.Just one good point, in the bedroom is a mirror and hairdryer on the dresser. Great idea. Hotel very busy with familys etc. Nice size swimming pool with all amenties. One of my girlfriends had a lovely massage in the Tower.

Room Tip: Do not take a room on the 1st floor, unless you are goin to be out partying all night, so bed wont m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Free parking adjacent to hotel,staff very helpfull,the meal I had in the restaurant was one of the best I've ever had the nicest sea bass I've ever had. The bad points the bed was uncomfortable and the room was very small considering the star rating, no bath and getting into the toilet door was a squeeze. If it wasn't for the food I wouldn't go back

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Very good position in the city, parking is free and quite large. The rooms are spacious and modern. It was noisy one night due to rain but I forgot the window open. Breakfast is mainly Irish type but all was good. Appreciated also the gym, quite small but enough for a short travel. I will not change it next time.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a wonderful two day stay at the Tower Hotel Waterford.

We got a great deal for two nights with two kids B&B and one meal.
We stayed valentines night and the following night.

We could not have asked for more from the hotel. Check in was fast and painless, family room was fine with great beds and kids loved the pool.

We decided to have our meal with the kids on valentines night in the Bistro and this was no problem for the hotel, on a night you would expect them to have you get your included meal in the bar.

The head waiter on duty valentines night and again the next morning was brilliant he knew exactly how to deal with the kids and they enjoyed him as we did. The likes of him are few and far between in the hotel industry and should be kept at all cost. ( sorry I did not get his name but I know he was not Irish & had no badge I could see )

The tower is so well located in the city you can walk everywhere and at the same time its easy to get away by car when needed.

Keep up the good work and we look forward to returning soon.

The Dunlea family cork

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tower Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower Hotel Waterford

Address: The Mall, Waterford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Waterford
#6 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tower Hotel Waterford 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tower Hotel Waterford In the heart of Waterford city, overlooking the marina, the Tower Hotel & Leisure Centre is the perfect accommodation venue whether your visit to Waterford is for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Tower Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Waterford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tower Hotel Waterford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.