We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The traffic noise is unbearable, other than that, can't make a negative remark” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tower Hotel Waterford

Save Saved
You added Tower Hotel Waterford to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tower Hotel Waterford
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Mall, Waterford, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 hotels in Waterford
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The traffic noise is unbearable, other than that, can't make a negative remark”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed here for a night for the second time, right in the heart of Waterford city. the hotel is a 5 minute taxi ride from the train station and a 2 minute walk from the bus station. The hotel itself has a bar, leisure centre and a restaurant. Check in process was quick seen as we had arrived well before the regular check in time. Room was extremely spacious with two double beds and one single. For a Monday night, the bar was very lively taking into account that there were soccer matches on. Our one nights sleep at this hotel was very pleasant, but beware, if you're room is overlooking the main road, make sure that the window is closed because the traffic noise is unbearable. I'm not sure if the rooms have air conditioning throughout the summer. Everything is available at breakfast from cereals to a full Irish. Breakfast is served from 7:00 til 10:00 on weekdays and 7:00 til 11:00 during the weekend. I'd definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Waterford city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    178
    159
    96
    59
    39
See reviews for
101
170
22
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We booked in for a lovely relaxing weekend,unfortunately this is not the place to have one! We arrived in the afternoon and were very lucky to get a parking space at the back of the Hotel, parking is limited and restrictive! We entered at the back entrance bringing you into the leisure centre and then into Reception to be greeted by a very warm welcome, we duly entered the lift and went to drop our bags into the room. The window was open so it was nice and airy, however it was quite worn, shabby, dusty and dark. The double bed was quite smaller than usual. The other furniture needed a good clean and not just a dust, serious soap, water and elbow grease needed here! The bathroom floor needed to be washed throughly and properly also. Sizewise it was compact with no space between bath and toilet! We headed back down to the Leisure to be greeted by lovely staff, given towels to use and went into changing rooms.They are the usual, but don't expect any privacy as shower curtains don't fit cubicles and you are totally exposed! The pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room are the usual but again in.need of TLC! Very strong chlorine used and I found my eyes watering so that spoiled it for us! We headed back to room, changed and headed down to the bar for a drink before dinner to be greeted by 2 very drunk middle aged ladies being escorted out of it! The bar is well staffed, no waiting but chairs are worn, tatty and stained.The bar was packed and seats at a premium. The barfood being served looked delicious! We went into the dining room and it is a little disjointed! The first bistro part seats about 25 or so and is modern, clean and really nice with lovely views, the second part is older worn, tired and needs TLC again! However the food is Sublime, limited choice, but beautifully cooked, presented and served! Even the house wine is excellent! What a pity the Catering Manager and Head Chef don't run the rest of this Hotel! Back in the bar for a night cap we saw 8/10 people falling, staggering around there. It is a shame the way the bar is run that these people were served until they fell off stools/chairs. It all seemed very normal to the staff and happened on both nights! Obviously the management do not care as long as the cash is flowing into their tills. As a result of this excess of alcohol sleep was a non event as people were roaming the corridors up to 3am both nights but Sat was particularly bad. These people were all middle aged, mainly women and it was reminiscent of being abroad on a drunken 18s Holiday! Unfortunately this is the clientele this hotel attracts! If its your thing then good for you, but for most it's not. So not suitable for a nice relaxing break! We left very very early the next day as I just wanted to get home to my nice bed, clean bathroom and away from the Circus! Just as a parting shot when we were exiting the back door, we had to step over various pools of VOMIT... Classy joint....NOT...

Room Tip: If you absolutely have to stay here try mid week! Food lovely as was the staff (cleaners exempt).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Lovely hotel, great location,friendly helpful staff, clean, fresh comfortable beds, generous breakfast, bright spacious lobby, great all rounder. Within walking distance of shopping area, lovely walkway along riverside, leisure facilities, music in bar at weekend

Room Tip: Room 102 lovely double great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thwmgmt, General Manager at Tower Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind words.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Attended a family wedding at this venue at the end of November 2012. Impressed from start to finish. From the welcome from the staff, to the personal attention shown to the bridal party and everyone present.
The decor was very festive as requested, and added to the splendour of the bridal party. The staff in the pre-reception area were great fun and the tea/coffee and mulled wine cheered the spirit and heated the bodies on a very cold day. For the reception, the food was cooked to perfection, and served steaming hot. The bedrooms were spacious and comfortable, and after a goods nights sleep, we were welcomed down to breakfast by some staff who served at the wedding reception. They were still smiling - a true sign of good staff.
Congratulations to all concerned

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thwmgmt, General Manager at Tower Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We take great pride in our Weddings at the Tower. It’s an honor to be involved in such a special occasion. It’s great to hear such great comments with regard to our friendly hard working team also. .

Thank you most sincerely for your review. You have put pep in all our steps today.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I recently attended a Gala night in The Tower Hotel and could not fault one thing about our stay. I have stayed here before and our bedroom on this occasion was much cosier and brighter than before with brand new furniture etc..The room was spotless with everything to hand including tea making facilities, not so common place anymore in Irish hotels! Our meal on the night was absolutely superb and surpassed my expectations, given the high number of diners (around 250) I was really taken aback by the quality of food and also the service - well done to all the junior staff who tended to this large crowd so efficiently and with a smile too! I would like inparticular to thank Deirdre, the events manager who catered so nicely for my few special requirements. Well done to the Tower hotel, I would not hesitate in returning for future events.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thwmgmt, General Manager at Tower Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed our Christmas Party Night and your accommodation.

I will pass on your comments to the Patrick our Banqueting Manager and his team.
We also have a great crew behind the scenes in our Accommodation and Kitchen departments who help us deliver every time.

We hope to see you again really soon.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of days three years in a row as a single business traveller. Last visit has turned me off. Modern, non-descript hotel in a superb location on the quays in Waterford city which is a great place to visit. Perhaps the hotel has a priority focus on bus tour guests and group booking. Checked in and found that my room was very basic almost akin to student accommodation, a long narrow room with wall mirror to enhance the appearance of the size of the room. The bathroom was so small that there was just sufficient clearance to close the door, there was no adequate space to place robe/tolietries etc.The room was dark and headboard was dusty. I went to reception to ask if I could have a room change and was told sorry no, as there were no other rooms vacant. Receptionist suggested that since I had been a guest before that she would "look after me next time". This wan;t much help and words rang hollow when one of my colleagues arrived to check in and there was no record of his booking and they immediately accommodated him in a suite.
Bar staff are friendly and efficient. Ate here for lunch and one dinner. Standard bar food fare with no frills but adequate value for money. Breakfast and dining room are another matter, staff are hurried, inattentive to service needs such as clearing tables and removing used items having placed a new guest at a table, Cost cutting very evident here, cheap jams and butter substitutes. Had to ask three times for some butter. Quality of cereals, breads, juices, coffee and jams on the poor end of the range. Not very appetising to watch staff clearing up after breakfast service and scraping jams back into large storage jars. Breakfast service seemed a bit disordered. Good value hotel for families and has a pool and well located. Plenty of better choices for business travellers in Waterford city.

Room Tip: No tip. Staff were singularly unhelpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thwmgmt, General Manager at Tower Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am sorry for what appears to have been a disappointing stay. As I am unaware of your specific details and from the information provided about your accommodation, I am assuming that you booked one of our internal rooms. These rooms are described as basic yet functional and are priced to reflect this.

I apologize that your contact with our team in general seems to have been sub standard. This is most disapponiting and I have shared your feedback with our team.
With regard you our breakfast product we use only brand leaders for our cereals and we do not use substitute products.

Once again please accept my apologies, and I do hope you will return to us again in the very near future and afford us the opportunity to restore your confidence in the service we provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

booked a family celeberation graduation dinner in this hotel on the 03/01/2013.we had a party of 12 people sitting.when we arrived we were met by the restaurant manager and shown to our table which we requested by the window.staff were very friendly,there was plenty of time between courses,food was very good,nice selection of wines to choose from.all said it was a very enjoyable evening.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tower Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower Hotel Waterford

Address: The Mall, Waterford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Waterford
#7 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tower Hotel Waterford 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tower Hotel Waterford In the heart of Waterford city, overlooking the marina, the Tower Hotel & Leisure Centre is the perfect accommodation venue whether your visit to Waterford is for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Tower Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Waterford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tower Hotel Waterford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.