We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“graduation dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tower Hotel Waterford

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tower Hotel Waterford to your Saves list
Tower Hotel Waterford
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Mall, Waterford, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Waterford
Waterford, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“graduation dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

booked a family celeberation graduation dinner in this hotel on the 03/01/2013.we had a party of 12 people sitting.when we arrived we were met by the restaurant manager and shown to our table which we requested by the window.staff were very friendly,there was plenty of time between courses,food was very good,nice selection of wines to choose from.all said it was a very enjoyable evening.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    181
    110
    63
    45
See reviews for
133
192
23
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

rooms were comfortable, staff were hospitable, food amazing, location perfect, price was spot on will definitaly return, thank you Tower hotel :) located minutes from the sea, shops and fantastic spots. train station a bit far but it is worth the walk!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We had our Christmas Party at the Tower Hotel in Waterford on Saturday night December 1st. From the very first interaction I had with the events team, until we checked out Sunday morning, I could not commend them high enough. The staff were very professional and competent in their approach. The accomodation was excellent; clean rooms and bathrooms. The meal we recieved in the Lara Restaurant was commended by all, and a wonderful selection on the menu. I would highly reccomend this Hotel to anyone staying in Waterford City.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The Tower Hotel faces Reginald's Tower across the street and is just across from the Theater Royal. It partly faces up 'The Quay' and is at the opposite end downstream from the bridge across the river - about 750m. For those arriving by train, it is about 1km - cross the bridge and then along "The Quay". The Coach station is about half way along "The Quay" and so is a shorter walk. Motorists have free parking in a code controlled open Car Park out the back, but there is a drop off space on the busy street outside. Check-in is quick and efficient and the reception area is spacious. The rooms are well kept although mine had a little wear & tear evident. My room overlooked the busy frontage but any traffic noise was compensated for by the view up-stream. The back of the hotel overlooks the car park but is probably quieter. The Restaurant should be booked in advance at reception and on my visit was quite full. The menu was fairly extensive and varied and deals were available - dinner for 2 + bottle of wine €59, and so on. The food was served promptly and was very good. I didn't try the bar and adjourned to the Munster Bar across the street instead. The bar area also serves food and was well patronised. The B&B deal I had was a commercial rate at €65 which is a little expensive for this type of overnight trip that i occasionally make. But when compared to other hotels in the area comes out the cheaper. The deal includes the use of the Gym & Swimming Pool. i didn't try the Gym which seems to have a fairly good selection of Cardio machines - bikes/treadmills and so on. The Pool area is clean and tidy and equipped with sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. There is also a plunge pool but this was still. I would expect that the water in this should flow and be filtered as persons diving in from the hot environments should not have to shower beforehand as this ruins the experience - so I was wary of jumping into water possible tainted with the sweat of others. Also, the Sauna is located at the far end of the pool area so it is not possible to 'jump out' and 'jump in'. A little off putting too was the amount of 'do not...." notices all around the pool and changing area. I suggest changing these to "Do" as this gives a more positive approach. For example "Do Not Run" is perfectly sensible but negative whereas "Please WALK for you safety" is much more encouraging especially where there are many such notices required. Breakfast was self-service from a good array of cereals, fruits and hot dishes. They even had blaa [ a local bread found only in Waterford]. I can recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Front for View - and maybe traffic noise. Back for quiet but no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thwmgmt, General Manager at Tower Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review.
I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Tower in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My husband and I come back at least twice a year, to Waterford and this is a brilliant place to stay. The hotel itself is well-situated and easy access to everywhere we wanted to go to. The room we were given was first class and, as my husband has mobility problems and sometimes is unable to join me the staff went out of their way to ensure we had a room with a view. The staff are exceptional and very pleasant and helpful. They make us feel very welcome and a bit special, too. Loic, Jonas and the Bistro staff are some of the nicest people we have ever met and are very efficient. The food is superb too. The friendliness and efficiency of everyone at the Tower Hotel must be due to a good Management team and a big "well done" to them for running such a tight ship. We will continue to come back to this wonderful Hotel every year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thwmgmt, General Manager at Tower Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your very kind review. Thank you for returning to us time and time again. We love to see familiar faces and we appreciate your continued loyalty.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Tower in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kildare
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We have just returned from a most enjoyable two night stay in the Tower Hotel in Waterford city. The hotel is located in the centre or the city along the waterfront and there is free parking to the rear in the hotels own car park. The hotel room was the usual layout with comfortable beds and was warm and very clean. The staff throughout the hotel were frendly and extreamly helpfull. The food and atmosphere in the bar was excellent, we also dined in the restaurant and found it very good, even if the selection, 3 to 4 choices for each course was quite limited.
Overall we would recommend the hotel to anybody looking to stay in Waterford City

Room Tip: Rooms to the front oever look the busy main street, the rooms to the rear overlook the car park and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thwmgmt, General Manager at Tower Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your very kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Tower in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

We had a meal at the bistro restaurant. There were twelve of us and not one person had a bad word to say. The staff were fantastic, the food was lovely, we all had a great evening, I could not recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thwmgmt, General Manager at Tower Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Bistro review. Jonas and his team are delighted that you and your party enjoyed your recent visit We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tower Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower Hotel Waterford

Address: The Mall, Waterford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Waterford
#5 Family Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tower Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tower Hotel Waterford In the heart of Waterford city, overlooking the marina, the Tower Hotel & Leisure Centre is the perfect accommodation venue whether your visit to Waterford is for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tower Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Waterford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tower Hotel Waterford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.