We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Christmas Party Package” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tower Hotel Waterford

Save Saved
You added Tower Hotel Waterford to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Tower Hotel Waterford
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Mall, Waterford, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 hotels in Waterford
Clare, Ireland
1 review
“Excellent Christmas Party Package”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We had our Christmas Party at the Tower Hotel in Waterford on Saturday night December 1st. From the very first interaction I had with the events team, until we checked out Sunday morning, I could not commend them high enough. The staff were very professional and competent in their approach. The accomodation was excellent; clean rooms and bathrooms. The meal we recieved in the Lara Restaurant was commended by all, and a wonderful selection on the menu. I would highly reccomend this Hotel to anyone staying in Waterford City.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    137
    90
    56
    38
See reviews for
88
150
19
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The Tower Hotel faces Reginald's Tower across the street and is just across from the Theater Royal. It partly faces up 'The Quay' and is at the opposite end downstream from the bridge across the river - about 750m. For those arriving by train, it is about 1km - cross the bridge and then along "The Quay". The Coach station is about half way along "The Quay" and so is a shorter walk. Motorists have free parking in a code controlled open Car Park out the back, but there is a drop off space on the busy street outside. Check-in is quick and efficient and the reception area is spacious. The rooms are well kept although mine had a little wear & tear evident. My room overlooked the busy frontage but any traffic noise was compensated for by the view up-stream. The back of the hotel overlooks the car park but is probably quieter. The Restaurant should be booked in advance at reception and on my visit was quite full. The menu was fairly extensive and varied and deals were available - dinner for 2 + bottle of wine €59, and so on. The food was served promptly and was very good. I didn't try the bar and adjourned to the Munster Bar across the street instead. The bar area also serves food and was well patronised. The B&B deal I had was a commercial rate at €65 which is a little expensive for this type of overnight trip that i occasionally make. But when compared to other hotels in the area comes out the cheaper. The deal includes the use of the Gym & Swimming Pool. i didn't try the Gym which seems to have a fairly good selection of Cardio machines - bikes/treadmills and so on. The Pool area is clean and tidy and equipped with sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. There is also a plunge pool but this was still. I would expect that the water in this should flow and be filtered as persons diving in from the hot environments should not have to shower beforehand as this ruins the experience - so I was wary of jumping into water possible tainted with the sweat of others. Also, the Sauna is located at the far end of the pool area so it is not possible to 'jump out' and 'jump in'. A little off putting too was the amount of 'do not...." notices all around the pool and changing area. I suggest changing these to "Do" as this gives a more positive approach. For example "Do Not Run" is perfectly sensible but negative whereas "Please WALK for you safety" is much more encouraging especially where there are many such notices required. Breakfast was self-service from a good array of cereals, fruits and hot dishes. They even had blaa [ a local bread found only in Waterford]. I can recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Front for View - and maybe traffic noise. Back for quiet but no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thwmgmt, General Manager at Tower Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review.
I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Tower in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My husband and I come back at least twice a year, to Waterford and this is a brilliant place to stay. The hotel itself is well-situated and easy access to everywhere we wanted to go to. The room we were given was first class and, as my husband has mobility problems and sometimes is unable to join me the staff went out of their way to ensure we had a room with a view. The staff are exceptional and very pleasant and helpful. They make us feel very welcome and a bit special, too. Loic, Jonas and the Bistro staff are some of the nicest people we have ever met and are very efficient. The food is superb too. The friendliness and efficiency of everyone at the Tower Hotel must be due to a good Management team and a big "well done" to them for running such a tight ship. We will continue to come back to this wonderful Hotel every year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thwmgmt, General Manager at Tower Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your very kind review. Thank you for returning to us time and time again. We love to see familiar faces and we appreciate your continued loyalty.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Tower in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kildare
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We have just returned from a most enjoyable two night stay in the Tower Hotel in Waterford city. The hotel is located in the centre or the city along the waterfront and there is free parking to the rear in the hotels own car park. The hotel room was the usual layout with comfortable beds and was warm and very clean. The staff throughout the hotel were frendly and extreamly helpfull. The food and atmosphere in the bar was excellent, we also dined in the restaurant and found it very good, even if the selection, 3 to 4 choices for each course was quite limited.
Overall we would recommend the hotel to anybody looking to stay in Waterford City

Room Tip: Rooms to the front oever look the busy main street, the rooms to the rear overlook the car park and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thwmgmt, General Manager at Tower Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your very kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Tower in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

We had a meal at the bistro restaurant. There were twelve of us and not one person had a bad word to say. The staff were fantastic, the food was lovely, we all had a great evening, I could not recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thwmgmt, General Manager at Tower Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Bistro review. Jonas and his team are delighted that you and your party enjoyed your recent visit We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

On Saturday last, my husband & I went to the Bistro, at the Tower Hotel Waterford. It was a voucher that had been given to a family member & they had given it on to us.
We had a reservation for 7pm. but arrived early. Within 45 all but one table was full .
I had the pork terrine, with a chutney. It was delicious. My husband had the crab cakes, which were just as delicious.
The main courses were, chicken with a champ like mash. It came with roasted carrots, parsnips and other veg. My sea bass consisted of two full fillets (cooked to perfection) with sauteed new potatoes, french beans, cherry tomatoes with capers. It was one of the nicest fish dishes I have ever tasted.
I had a creme brulee (it came with a homemade shortcake biscuit) , delicious.
All of that with one 1/4 bottle of Wolf Blass , sparkling mineral water & an Irish coffee, came to only €73.00 in total.
It was a meal that I didn't expect to find as nice as it was, and I can happily recommend the Bistro at the Tower for a lovely reasonably priced meal.
Just a note, the whole restauraunt seemed to be run by just two staff. One manager & one waitress. They were friendly, efficient & although they were busy, they never gave an impression that they were rushing us .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thwmgmt, General Manager at Tower Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your extensive Bistro review. It is lovely to hear that you were so pleasantly surprised by your dining experience. We take great pride in our Bistro and Jonas and his team do a great job.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to the Bistro in the very near future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Hi I Stayed at ur hotel for the macra conference.it was a just lovely from start to finish. I checked in early in the day & i was up to the room withn mins. The Hotel had a nice welcome back which i taught it was nice added featured to the delagated packs. The hair dressers in the hotel were just perfect as were just able to relax on the sun evening & head down to the bar & listen to the music. The rooms in the hotel was just perfect, i had a lovely view just looking out onto the keys. In the restaurant manger was so friendly & funny I don't know his name but I am sure he is a great manger & leader to all the waiters & waitress. 3 words : Great Food, Excellent staff should def be rewarded in the reception & Bar & Restaurant, Ideally size of a ballroom for large numbers. Will call back again at some point for food or even stay again what ever the plans maybe.

Room Tip: Room 110 lovely view looking out onto the boats,when the tide is in.its like waken up & floating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tower Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower Hotel Waterford

Also Known As:
Hotel Waterford
Address: The Mall, Waterford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Waterford
#7 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tower Hotel Waterford 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tower Hotel Waterford In the heart of Waterford city, overlooking the marina, the Tower Hotel & Leisure Centre is the perfect accommodation venue whether your visit to Waterford is for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Tower Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tower Hotel Waterford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.