We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay in the Heart of Waterford” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tower Hotel Waterford

Save Saved
You added Tower Hotel Waterford to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tower Hotel Waterford
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Mall, Waterford, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 hotels in Waterford
Leicester
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay in the Heart of Waterford”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2007

I stayed at the Tower Hotel in Waterford for three nights in September 2007. The location is great as it is on the waterfront and only about 5-10 minute walk from the centre of Waterford.
The reception staff are very friendly, and even though I arrived at the hotel before check in officially opened, they allowed me to check into my room.
The room was of average size, medium size bathroom with the room providing all the facilities expected in a hotel of this calibre.
I was advised by a colleague to ask for a room at the back of the hotel, as rooms at the front of the hotel are apparently noisy. I was provided a room at the back of the hotel, the view wasn't great, but the noise was minimal.
The breakfast in the restaurant was adequate, and for evening meal you have a choice of the Cavery, bar snacks or the a la carte Bistro restaurant. Although I only sampled the bar, the other venues looked very appertising.
If you are visiting Waterford for any reason I would recommend a stay at the Tower Hotel.

  • Liked — The warmth of the staff
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    158
    96
    59
    39
See reviews for
99
170
22
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Simsbury, Connecticut
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2007

Out of all the hotels in which we (my husband, my 12 year old daughter and myself) stayed on our two week tour, this hotel was our least favorite.

The location was fine - right on the water and across the ancient tower for which it is named. The room was pleasant enough, the food good, the beds comfy - the reason we didn't like it was because it was hot.

The weather was not particularly warm when we were there, in fact it was rainy but the room was very, very stuffy without a fan and only one window. The dining room was practically unbearable.

If you chose this hotel, keep an eye on the weather and bring a fan.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

Me and a group of friends stayed in this hotel on the 11 aug 2007. I requested an early arrival, which we did get and was great! customer service was not the greatest, had to ask about breakfast etc as was not explained. we stayed on the 3rd floor (top) you could hear people walking from one end of the hotel to the next, as the floor boards needed replacing, the room was dissapoining, really overdue for an overhaul, paint chipping, stains on the walls and the fan in the bathroom did not work. On our understanding when we booked as there was 14 of us going we were told (warned) that under no circumstances that they do not cater for hen nights etc, and if there was a hint of any of this we could be denyed entry to the hotel in the evening. we arrived back in the hotel at half 2, got room service which was great, we were woken up at 4.45am by a hen party, the were screaming and banging doors, i had already been out to the girls and asked them to be quiet but to no avail. oh and these girls were smoking outside of our hotel room (no smoking ban/law) i then had to ring reception twice to get some sleep, finally the evening manager came up (after over half hour) i finally went back to sleep bout half six!!! this was not worth the 182.00 that we had paid for the room. we had then been woken up at 10 am by housekeeping knocking on the door and then walking in! i was ready to smack someone at this stage. on checking out, she just took the money for the room, there was no chat no customer service. so id like to say thank you for the [--] night of my life. but on a good note, the breakfast was lovely ( the best thing about the place) oh and the night out was the best!!

  • Liked — brekafast
  • Disliked — everything but the breakfast
  • Stayed August 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxboro, Mass
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2007

My friend and I stayed here on June 28, 2007 on a motor coach tour. Of all the hotels we stayed at during our tour, this was the poorest. The rooms and the hallways are in much need of upgrading. There are shabby carpets, nicks in the woodwork and the public areas could use a good buffing. We ate in the hotel dining room which was not bad, but the staff could use a course in how to be pleasant to the customer. The buffet was nice, and the staff serving the buffet were friendly. Travel Gal from Mass.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — old and shabby
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2007

I stayed here for a business trip and was very disappointed. It is in serious need of refurnishment. The wall of my room was badly damaged and the paint was peeling off the wall and around the window. The toiletries were very poor. On the plus side the view of the river was nice, the staff were very friendly and certainly made the most of what they were given to work with. All areas were very clean if somewhat in need of updating. This hotel is fine if you are just passing through but I would not recommend for more than a day or two.

  • Liked — Friendly and helpful staff
  • Disliked — Rundown, in need of refurbishment
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
363 helpful votes 363 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2007

We stayed here for for one night on a Globus Tour. It is a cute hotel - lots of character. We had a large room with a large bathroom. But other people on our tour had very small rooms. There was a lot of noise on the street at night, some from traffic, but mostly from pubs. It was very difficult to sleep.
We had dinner at the hotel restaurant, compliments of our tour. We had a menu to pick an appetizer and a dessert from, but the main course was a small buffet. We also had breakfast at the hotel - it was an average breakfast, nothing special.
There are a few pubs around the corner from the hotel, we had a few drinks there after dinner.

  • Liked — good location
  • Disliked — loud at night
  • Stayed July 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2007

We were attending a wedding in the hotel over the May bank holiday weekend and we had a great time.

The food at the wedding was really good and the day after we had lunch in their recently done up bar which was also really good.

Really pleaseant and obliging staff. As you can imagion we got to know them over the few days, particularly the bar crew.

Would recommend the place highly.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tower Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower Hotel Waterford

Address: The Mall, Waterford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Waterford
#6 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tower Hotel Waterford 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tower Hotel Waterford In the heart of Waterford city, overlooking the marina, the Tower Hotel & Leisure Centre is the perfect accommodation venue whether your visit to Waterford is for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Tower Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Waterford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tower Hotel Waterford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.