We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dooley's Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Dooley's Hotel to your Saves list
Dooley's Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Merchants Quay, Waterford 00353, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Waterford
London, England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I always stay at Dooley's when I am in Waterford and it has consistently maintained a extremely high standard from the welcome on arrival, comfort of the rooms, amenities throughout the hotel and now free Wi-Fi. I had drinks in the bar, dinner in the restaurant and breakfast at the hotel. In all cases the service and food were excellent. The hotel is family run and it is great to stay somewhere that gives such individual care and attention.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    200
    78
    32
    20
See reviews for
100
185
16
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Hi Guys my review is with my business cap as I am away on business at the moment. Dooleys Hotel on the quays in Waterford is a great stopover. The car park is directly accross from the hotel. A short walk you are in the heart of the city. Check in is hassle free. The rooms are spotless clean and you have FREE WI FI. As some of you are very aware not all hotels provide this.The food in the bar or the restaurant in excellant. I dined in the bar a great choice on the menu including the chefs specials. As i stayed there on pancake Tuesday yes I had pancakes and by god they were good. At lunchtime they do the combo soup and sandwich great value. A very good breakfast with the porrige ready for serving. The staff in all departments are very helpfull and friendly. Next time you go to Waterford try this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Having come from a hotel from hell in Tramore we booked into Dooleys.. The girl on the front reception was lovely. Couldn't have been more helpful and polite.( If hotel management read this you have a gem there). The hotel itself was lovely. We have stayed in many 4 star hotels that dont rate to this one. Great bar staff and service. Most of all we had breakfast in bed Sunday morning and may i say it one the best room service breakfasts we received ever.. Well done to all the staff...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here recently on a girls weekend away. The staff were pleasant and the room was comfortable. The food in the hotel was fantastic! Breakfast was one of the best iv had and we had dinner in the bar which was also good. Location is perfect for shopping or a night out

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford Ireland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This hotel is like a Good Wine it improves with age. I have dined here for nearly forty years of the family run hotels seventy years in business. You will be pleased with what you will find at Dooleys. Quality fare is served all day from its famous and delicious Breakfast to its evening dinner and musical entertainment. Being family run is reflected in its staff. Make a note to visit Dooleys a household name in Waterford.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Have stayed here too many times to count, always reliable, very nice clean rooms, great food, friendly staff and a great location. Can be very reasonable, we got a room online at the last minute for a Saturday night for €59!

Room Tip: Car park directly across from hotel will be discounted at reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

From check in to check out everything was great - hope to be back again soon. It was an overnight business trip and perfect location from which to see waterford city at night. The City has improved over the last few ytears

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dooley's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dooley's Hotel

Address: Merchants Quay, Waterford 00353, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Waterford
#5 Family Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dooley's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dooley's City Centre Hotel, Waterford is a family run hotel in the heart of the Sunny South East. Dooley's Hotel is just a few minutes walk from the main shopping, business & cultural centres in Waterford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dooley's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dooleys Hotel Waterford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dooley's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.