We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dooley's Hotel

Save Saved
You added Dooley's Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dooley's Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Merchants Quay, Waterford 00353, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Waterford
Tipperary
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very pleasant and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Myself and my 3 girlfriends were attending a show in Waterford and stayed here for one night. They gave us a family room which was very good value at only €79 between us. The staff are lovely and friendly. The room itself was a grand size with plenty of room for the 4 of us to get ready. Bathroom was a little worn looking but the shower worked fine with plenty of hot water. I would say that the room was very warm and I would have liked to know how to turn the heating down or off but I suppose thats better than being cold. The restaurant was nice and spacious with the food being reasonable and tasty.
All in all it was a good choice to stay there. I would definately recommend it to anybody looking for somewhere cheap, cheerful and clean to stay )))

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    189
    75
    32
    19
See reviews for
98
176
15
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Our company had our Christmas night at Dooleys Hotel & had a fantastic time. When making the booking, we found Denise a great help. The staff on the night were excellent and very well organised. The food was delicious with great choices on the menu to suit everyone in our group. The service was great, food came out quickly and lovely and hot. The entertainment on the night was brilliant crack - band and disco included in the price ; excellent value. Overall, an excellent night and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Why do so many irish hotels not be able to nail down (literally) the problem of unnecessarily noisy extractor fans? If it is in one's own room the fan will eventually switch off, but when the echoes of other fans can be heard through the ventilation system it becomes a sleep depriving problem. Also an electrical circuit breaker in the room was buzzing slightly. It's a shame because apart from this the room was very comfortable and hotel very pleasant and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We popped into the bar here for a bite to eat to take a break from shopping in the cold weather and we got a lovely surprise. we both ordered fishcakes expecting small portions and what we got was an extremely large and delicious plate of food. a wlovely pick me up!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrick on suir
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

we stayed for one night (sat) , hotel was warm on arrival as was the greeting from the receptionist. Our room was perfectly presented and spotless , with simple to use tv ,
The information booklet prepared by the hotel was excellant and up to date ,very helpfull to visitors. Breakfast was well organised , hot and with a nice selection of fruit and also plenty of choice from the hot buffet , coffee and toast was topped up without fuss by busy , friendly staff . Great stay in an traditonal style hotel , with the "old" style values that some of the newer celtic tiger hotels dont understand ...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My first time to stay in Dooley's Hotel after hearing so many good reports. I was really impressed with the service first of all. I ate in the Bar and all the staff were interested in looking after you - at the end of a very busy service, they were still doing their work with their heads up, wanting to make eye contact with the customer - a very refreshing trait. The bedroom was very comfortable with some lovely brochures on the Darrer family and the history of the hotel.
The stand out memory of my stay was the breakfast in the morning - all the milk jugs, tea & coffee pots, sugar bowls were that lovely old Hotel silver - you never see that anymore. For me, that capped a proper traditional Irish family-run Hotel experience. I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed in Dooley's and I would not hesitate to return AGAIN! Staff very helpful, friendly and polite, food beautifully presented from a varied menu, rooms large and comfortable. It can be difficult to get teenagers to agree easily on a family destination but no problem here - they loved it. Parking directly across the road is very reasonable at €5 per day - this is a public car park, not owned by the hotel, but a great bonus! I will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Sorry, no tip as any of the rooms I have stayed in were perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dooley's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dooley's Hotel

Address: Merchants Quay, Waterford 00353, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Waterford
#5 Family Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dooley's Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dooley's City Centre Hotel, Waterford is a family run hotel in the heart of the Sunny South East. Dooley's Hotel is just a few minutes walk from the main shopping, business & cultural centres in Waterford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Dooley's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dooleys Hotel Waterford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dooley's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.