We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dooley's Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Dooley's Hotel to your Saves list
Dooley's Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Merchants Quay, Waterford 00353, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed here in April for a night and it ticked all the boxes, good value, big room and lovely breakfast, ideally located on the quays and very close to everything in the City.

Would highly recommend

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    240
    89
    37
    22
See reviews for
127
230
21
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

Good clean comfortable reasonably priced accommodation, wonderful breakfasts. Bar snacks were reasonably priced and good value as was the early bird dinner.
Staff were excellent, cheerfull, helpful and always with a smile.
A good time was had by all 8 of us.
Parking was in the public car park opposite.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

After staying in many hotels in Scotland and Ireland before coming to Waterford, I was very pleased to see wash cloths in our room - I guess wash cloths are more of an American custom. It was also very thoughtful of the hotel to leave a notice in the room that a top sheet for the bed was available on request. We found the combined sheet/quilt all over the British Isles, but this was the first time an option to have a separate sheet was offered. The restaurant staff did a wonderful job serving our big group dinner and breakfast and the food was very good.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

Above all it's the staff that impress, they certainly enjoy working at Dooleys, and it makes a big difference. We stayed on a large group booking (a choir), and I heard nothing but praise for the staff.
We would certainly stay at Dooleys whe next we are in Waterford - who cares if the television is dated? if you visit Ireland to watch television you need help!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

Stayed in Dooleys Hotel for Easter 2011. The Hotel is wonderfully situated right on the Quays and only a few minutes walk to the Shopping area. The Staff themselves in the Hotel are very friendly and helpful. It has been a long time since I stayed in a Hotel that
employed such wonderful and professional staff. We ate in the Restaurant on one of
the evenings and the food and atmosphere were excellent. The Bar area also serve
wonderful food and has a great buzzy atmosphere. The Rooms are bright and comfortable with tea/coffee making facilities and iron/hairdryer. When visiting Waterford again wouldn't stay anywhere else other than Dooleys Hotel for the great service and comfortable surroundings.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

We had the special menu with a three-course meal for Euro59 per couple including wine. We had an excellent meal.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

I think its the first hotel I've stayed in that I could find absolutely no fault with. Great value for money - we got a 50 euro Shaws voucher per room included in our price. Meal included in the price was excellent. No complaints whatsoever.

Room Tip: Get the honeymoon suite for a small extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dooley's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dooley's Hotel

Address: Merchants Quay, Waterford 00353, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Waterford
#4 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#6 Family Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dooley's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dooley's City Centre Hotel, Waterford is a family run hotel in the heart of the Sunny South East. Dooley's Hotel is just a few minutes walk from the main shopping, business & cultural centres in Waterford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Dooley's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dooleys Hotel Waterford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dooley's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.