We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food but service does not compensate” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Munster Bar

Munster Bar
Baileys New Street, Waterford, Ireland
051 874656
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 118 Restaurants in Waterford
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food but service does not compensate”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We were told the food was great and my meal was, unfortunately everyone in our party had finished their meal before my wife's arrived. And that was after two enquiries. The drink price were nearly double that of the other pubs we had visited but when you've already paid for your food, what can you do.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    42
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
grand forks, ND
1 review
“The BBLT is delicious and a great value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Bar menu 2-7pm offers a variety of options. The BBLT is amazing! For 7 euro is cannot be beat. The Guinness stew was filling and my husband says he would order it again. Overall, great stop before hitting the Waterford crystal factory.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann arbor
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great food above a classic irish pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

try the seafood pie is was great. They have great draft beers and ales, excellent desserts and service was top notch. Prices were modest for good food that was several steps above 'pub grub'

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wexford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend popped in her for a quiet drink one night and we were very pleasantly surprised by the surroundings and the atmosphere in the pub. A lovely alternative for anyone not wanting to hit the more nosier and packed pubs in town or for those wanting to avoid the high drink prices in the hotels. Would def recommend this pub for a nice, relaxing drink.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Not only did our hotel recommend this place, but the people at Waterford Crystal did as well. Very comfortable atmosphere and good service. Food was yummy!!!!

There is a lot of interesting movie/show pics on the walls.

If you are in Waterford you have to eat at this place.

Thanks!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Munster Bar also viewed

Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Been to Munster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Munster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.