We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff, but an AWFUL Travelodge” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Waterford

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Waterford to your Saves list
Travelodge Waterford
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   N25 Cork Road, Waterford, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Waterford
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely staff, but an AWFUL Travelodge”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We arrived in Waterford and we were pleasantly surprised by the outside of the Hotel. We were greeted by a lovely receptionist who was so bubbly and welcoming. We booked 2nights. We got our keys to the last free room in the hotel. When we opened the door the horrific smell of stale smoke hit us. We are both non smokers so we automatically opened the window to let in some fresh air. We left for a look around the city, when we came back that evening the room was still stinking of smoke. There was no Ariel for the tv. (We got one from reception) we later went to bed, our bottom sheet had big black marks on it. During the night I woke up coughing, my boyfriend went to open the window further to get the smokey smell out of the room. There was a member of staff smoking outside our window. At around 6am we were woke up by awful banging upstairs this went on and off for around 3hrs. We got up then as we couldnt sleep. I went for a shower, I was DISGUSTED to see clumps of hair on the bath/shower walls from a past visitor. The room floor was unhoovered abd the curtains had cigarette burns in them. We decided to leave. We reported our problem to the manager and receptionist. They were very understanding. The manager is new and is sorting out the hotel refurbishing it etc. He was willing to move us to the other section of the hotel but we had booked elsewhere so he refunded us instead. The staff are FANTASTIC, and the manager is sitting out the hotels issues.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conor M, General Manager at Travelodge Waterford, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Sarah,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I have also responded to Niall's review left previously. We are striving to improve the property and as i mentioned before, we would be delighted if you would both come back and stay with us again sometime in the near future and give us a chance to show you both the normal level of service that guests who choose to stay with Travelodge receive on a daily basis.

Regards,

Conor M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    50
    40
    41
    52
See reviews for
47
87
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I can't see why people pay 25 euro for a hotel and then complain as if they expect the Radisson. This was a pleasant one night stay for us. True, this was the only Travelodge we visited in Ireland that can do with some renovations but it was more than enough. Lidl and Macdonalds are located close by and the centre is reachable by bus or a 30 minute walk or less than 5 minutes by car. Personally I went to Tramore for the evening and it was great.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conor M, General Manager at Travelodge Waterford, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Geomang,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and was also delighted to see that you spent some time in Tramore which is also a personal favourite of my own. Please come back and visit us again sometime.

Regards,

Conor M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

The hotel from the outside looks great and when you enter into the receptionist area it looks fine and the staff are great we booked two nights to stay, it was said that we had the last room in the hotel by the receptionist so we felt very lucky to get a room but that's about where all the pros end. Got my key for my room and as myself and my girlfriend walked in we could straight away smell stale smoke although it wasn't very pleasant myself and girlfriend got on with are holiday. But later that night we had came back from town and had more time to notice we had realised the bed sheets where dirty, the floors look like they never seen a hover, the curtains had cigarettes burns in them, the bath had hairs in it from the last people that where in all in all wasn't very nice to stay in. When around 7am there was a lot of movement up in the rooms above us think it was the cleaner and I swear sounded like an elephant at work with large banging of someone walking, this went on for about 3hours on and off. So when we had got up we felt dirty and very much unrested, we went out to the receptionist to make a complaint also the manager was there and they apologise to us tried to give us a new room and explained that we where in the old section of the hotel and that they where updating it as soon as possible as the manger was new. They where willing to move us to the new section of the hotel but because we had booked another hotel elsewhere and had such a bad night we had declined. Both the receptionist and manager had then apologist again and the manager refunded our money for the second night that we didn't stay. Great manager and receptionist in an awful hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conor M, General Manager at Travelodge Waterford, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Niall,

Thank you for your review. Once again i apologise for the issues that you encountered and as we discussed i can assure you that Travelodge are committed to completely refurbishing the hotel and this is certainly a project that i will personally oversee through to fruition. I am aware that Sarah has also left a review about your stay with us. Should you ever be in Waterford again please contact myself directly as i would be delighted if you would both come back and stay with us again and give us a chance to redeem ourselves

Regards,

Conor M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Clean, comfortable, 4 beds in one room, appropriate for a 4 member family. good price. Staff friendly. Ideal for a short stay. It's a bit far from the city centre, it is better to have a car. good value for money!


  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conor M, General Manager at Travelodge Waterford, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Josep_Vi,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you enjoyed the city of Waterford and the many things our fine city has to offer. I have passed your kind words onto my staff and we hope that you will come visit us again sometime in the near future.

Regards,

Conor M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

please do not check in into Travelodge. The room was dirty, we have had mold in our bathroom, the toilet seat wasn't installed properly, there was hair lying on the floor when we arrived and was there until the day we checked out although there were cleaning Ladies every day! The fan was not working at all and we had to leave the windows open at all times to get fresh air and to be able to take a shower. we have had quite the walk to the walk to the Travelodge. All in all I would not recommend the Travelodge.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conor M, General Manager at Travelodge Waterford, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Jenny0895,

Thank you for your review. I would very much like to discuss some of the items that you mentioned in more detail so could i please ask that you make contact with me directly at waterford@travelodge.ie

Many thanks,

Conor M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Beware of rooms that are on the McDonald's side it is very noisy at night as they use the car park by the side of the travelodge. Also a lovely spectrum of mould on bathroom ceiling and walls. The room became very warm as the windows had to be shut to keep the noise out . No air conditioning

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conor M, General Manager at Travelodge Waterford, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear TaffyTom10,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I apologise for the noise that you experienced from the adjacent business. This is something that we always try to manage as best we can in conjunction with the property owners next door but unfortunately on occasions this does cause some disruption. You will be delighted to hear though that Travelodge are currently in the process of refurbishing all of our hotels and a much better standard of bedroom is on the way. I do hope that you will visit us again sometime in the next year to see the difference that these changes are making

Regards,

Conor M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Waterford

Address: N25 Cork Road, Waterford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterford Travelodge Hotel is ideally located opposite the Waterford Crystal visitor centre in the heart of Waterford’s busy commercial district. Travelodge Waterford is located on the main Cork to Rosslare Road (N25) our hotel is the ideal gateway to all that the sunny South East has to offer. Local beaches and golf courses are all on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Travelodge Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterford Travel Lodge
Waterford Travelodge
Travel Lodge Waterford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Waterford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.