We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“deffinatly happy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Waterford

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Waterford to your Saves list
Travelodge Waterford
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   N25 Cork Road, Waterford, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Waterford
Fareham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“deffinatly happy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

we were on a budget as had the sproglets with us,,so bokked this place as comes in very economically,,,,we were 50/50 as to book it as per previous reviews,,anyway we took the chancxe,,and so glad we did,,,seems the matress bedding issues have been sorted..more or less new in both our rooms,,clean smelt good,,maybe could have done with a new shower curtain but not the end of the world,,,very good staff,,decent food next door,,eddie rockets,,not maccy ds :o),,easy to find..heaps of parking,,,road noise,,,,a little ,there was a few young uns hanging out in maccy ds carpark that the room overlooked, but they soon went,,,all in all a very good visit!

Room Tip: ask for a room away from maccy ds for peace n quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Travelodge Waterford, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
David,

Thanks for taking the time to review Travelodge Waterford.
I'm delighted to hear you and your family enjyed enjoyed your stay with us
I have passed on your comments to our team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.

Regards
David Ryan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    47
    37
    39
    49
See reviews for
44
81
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rural
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The Travelodge in Waterford was very comfortable and functional. As it is a 'budget' type Hotel I had no expectations of real luxury, but however the room was very good, quiet and had all that was required for comfort and a good night's sleep. The staff were efficient and courteous at all times. This is a 'no frills' type of Hotel, but in all respects the quality did exceed my expectations, and it was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Travelodge Waterford, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Jonny,

Thank you for your review and your positive feedback on the Hotel. Its always good to hear that we have not only met but exceeded your expectations. And its also reassuring to hear that you felt we offered good value accommodation which is important for us all in these tight times.We look forward to welcoming you back to Waterford again in the near future

Regards
David Ryan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I was a bit dubious about booking Travelodge Waterford after reading some of the reviews but I was pleasantly surprised and cannot understand the not so good reviews. Glad now I chose Travelodge. I wanted to go to the WINTERVAL and decided to stay over and the price was so good. I got a family room which was very spacious,,king size bed single bed & a fold up bed. Tea & coffee facilities were great after a day of wondering around Waterfords Winterval. The crisp white linen was so welcoming as were the lovely pillows. I was very impressed as were the kids with the flat screen tvs & loads of channels. The staff we met were just fantastic. On checking in we were greeted by a lovely lady called Sian who couldnt do enough to help us . She told us all about Winterval and what to see. Another member of staff who really impressed us was Joan. What a woman, our room was spotless and she also couldnt do enough to make us feel at home. We felt really at home and will be back again to visit Waterfords Winterval before the end of 2012. Thank you Travelodge Waterford. We will see you all again soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I stay at a lot of Travelodges all over and I know what to expect, however this is one of the best I have stayed in. Good shower, decent bed base and mattress with nice plump pillows. Plenty of them as well. Good location with good services round about. Not noisy, so good sleep. I stayed for 4 nights during the week. The staff are excellent. Sian was particularly good and is a great source of local knowledge. I am always apprehensive when staying at a Travelodge that I dont know, but this was a treat. I will definitely speak fondly of this stay. John from Room 46 w/c 26-11-12.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Travelodge Waterford, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
John,

We appreciate yo taking the time to comment on your stay with us. I'm delighted to hear that the rooms and beds were comfortable. We pride ourself on our hospitality abd I have passed on your kind comments to Sian. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Regards

David Ryan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The best thing we experienced in Travelodge Waterford was the staff. Excellent is not enough! Two ladies in particular have been extra helpful with us: Alice and Sian, in order of appearance to us, they made us feel less homesick :). Alice was the first we saw as soon as we entered the hotel, a big smile and a sweet kindness. Sian was the lady that really gave us a good insight of the city and about job situation, since we came here for living not just for tourism. Her tips and contacts are inestimable to us! About the rooms, they're clean and tidy, the white and blue really help you feel relaxed, hot water and heat work really well, you can have a cup of coffee or tea whenever you want just in 30 sec! About wifi, we requested a voucher for having wifi in our rooms, it costs only 5 € and it lasts for 24h. A very important thing to do if you need a connection in your room. Bitbuzz is a very good service, transparent and fast, something to keep in mind for future usages. About location, at the beginning it may sound far from the city center but, believe us, it's worth having a walk to get into the city so that you gradually get acquainted with Waterford, which is a beautiful Irish treasure. We had 3 good days in Travelodge Waterford, we came just for a place to crash while we had to explore the city for a house to rent and a job to seek, and we did it. If you're a dynamic person looking to stay in Ireland or just a tourist who wants to visit "Port Lairge", than Travelodge is your perfect solution to all tour needs! Thanks you again for everything and best wishes to anyone of your incredible staff! A bid hug to Alice and Sian!

Room Tip: Our room had windows that faced the Mc Donald near here. We though experienced no problem at all, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Travelodge Waterford, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank You for your kind review about our Hotel and our staff. We are always delighted to hear about enjoyable stays and I am particularly pleased that our staff were helpful and friendly. I wish you every success and good luck in your time here in Waterford. Don't forge tto call back in to see us

Regards

David Ryan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Hey, it's a Travelodge. I guess it's a good deal, but they really do shrimp on thing.
Nothing in the bathroom but one tiny bar of soap. No shampoo etc....
No lift, narrow corridors.

Got woken up at 4am by shouting in the car park.

Eddie Rockets next door do an okay breakfast. I'd recommend the pancakes as a change for the usual hotel breakfasts.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Waterford, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear GrandfatherClock,

Thank you for your comment.

We are sorry to learn about your disappointing stay.

The points you’ve raised will be used to support any improvements which may be required at this hotel.

Your feedback is important to us, and we would like to investigate the issues. To assist us with this, please can you visit our main Travelodge website and use the new ‘Contact Us’ form, to provide us with full details of your issues and your booking number.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were staying in the travel lodge and had 2 rooms booked as there was three of us. One of our friends had a sudden bereavement and could not come on the trip. As a death cannot be planned and can happen at any time. Nobody was aware of this until the evening. We rang to explain and were told we would still have to pay for 2nd room plus a security deosit because the card we used to book the rooms had declined. The cards are only used to secure the rooms in case someone does not turn up , you can then be charged. NO MONEY is taken at this stage, so it should not have mattered that card declined. So we were asked for security deposit even though we turned up for our stay and payed for the two rooms in full by cash.Extremely poor service due to a sudden death that nobody could have anticipated. Plus idiotic staff. This could of been handled alot better and we never recieved ant money back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Travelodge Waterford, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Jen,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review about us here.
I would be grateful if you could contact me directly here at the hotel so that I can discuss your comments fully with you and have an opportunity to explain our cancellation and credit card policy to you.

Kind Regards

David Ryan
General Manager

david.ryan@travelodge.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Waterford

Address: N25 Cork Road, Waterford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterford Travelodge Hotel is ideally located opposite the Waterford Crystal visitor centre in the heart of Waterford’s busy commercial district. Travelodge Waterford is located on the main Cork to Rosslare Road (N25) our hotel is the ideal gateway to all that the sunny South East has to offer. Local beaches and golf courses are all on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterford Travel Lodge
Waterford Travelodge
Travel Lodge Waterford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Waterford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.