We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class - even with kids!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Island | Ballinakill, Waterford X91 Y722, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“First Class - even with kids!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We have just returned from a last minute one night stay in the family lodges at Waterford Castle, our new "summer home" (I wish) where the kids have told us we have to go every time we go away again.

This has a perfect mix of luxury and family friendly, beautifully equipped spacious lodges, really comfy beds, gorgeous cocktails, great food in the bar, and most importantly really really great friendly and professional staff and service. People make a place, and this is really understood and valued here - special thanks to Eugene and Amy who looked after us so well.

Its a 2 hour easy drive from Dublin with a fun 2 minute trip on the ferry. It sets the scene for a very special private experience. We were indoors most of the time as we were there in January but when we return during the summer we will make use of the driving range, archery, picnics, walks and tennis. Even with horrible weather the lodge was really cozy, and the candles and fires in the castle made a great atmosphere.

I would totally recommend this to any family, or those lucky enough to be able to go without kids :) its a really special place. I can't wait to go back.

All at the castle should be very proud of the job they are doing so well and the exemplary hospitality they show in beautiful surroundings. Its great to come back from somewhere and say not only that it was worth every penny but that it was excellent value. We got a lot more than we had expected and we will be back again soon with family and friends!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Missraisineyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Reviewer
We greatly appreciate your feedback and the kids seal of approval puts a smile on our face. You have spoken so highly of the lodges which is most reassuring for us.It will be my pleasure to pass on the recognition you have given to the staff. To hear that you got a lot more than expected is most rewarding and indeed humbling.
We look forward to having you and your family return!
Thank you
Kind Regards
Derek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed in one of the Lodges for 4 days after Christmas. The house itself was superb, top quality finish, beautiful and well equipped kitchen, tv with satelite channels, 3 bathrooms, plenty of space for us all. It was a novelty having to get the little ferry over and back to the island, do not let that put you off staying here as it goes over and back every 15 mins during the day and there is always cars on it what with the golf club etc there. We brought our dog which was a great help and brought him for numerous lovely walks around the island - note if you are bringing your dog you MUST keep them on the lead at all times as there are lots of deer on the island. The only negative I must state is that the castle was closed for private functions for 3 out of the 4 days we were there which we were told when we booked and when we wandered up on the last day to have a drink were told we needed a reservation - for a drink?? There were a lot of people around as it was the first day the castle was open over Christmas, surely they have a room they can set aside just for people having a cup of coffee? We left with our tails between our legs, embarrassed, especially as we had managed to secure seating in the main hall area.. I do understand that they have restricted space but with the volume of people obviously staying in the lodges they need to cater for them a bit better and not treat them like second class citizens especially when you have to go into the castle itself to check in and checkout. There was a golf clubhouse there but that isn't our scene so we didn't go in there and again it closed at 7pm anyway so you had to leave the island for restuarants etc. We would recommend Jack Meades for great pub food and atmosphere (obviously the old part!!) and we cooked some of the other nights we were there. House was lovely and warm, plenty of towels etc, only fault I can think of is that they need to put some floor mats inside the front and back doors, it was very wet and rainy while we were there and we ended up having to put a towel down to dry our fee coming in so we didn't dirty the floor. Waterford is a great spot and this is nice place to be based to visit all that the county has to offer. Apart from the rudeness of the man in the castle we had a great stay , it was very relaxing and would definitely visit again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanie1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Having proposed to my girlfriend thought this was a great way to spend the night. Fantastic castle, beautiful grounds and getting the short ferry across put the icing on the cake! Booked a room plus dinner which I thought was very good value. Food was lovely but there was a draft at table in the conservatory and were glad to leave to warm up. We were asked by the very attentive waitor (probably over attentive) on the way out were we cold but it was too late. Room was lovely the only thing was that it was two single beds pushed together which if 2 people are getting away for a romantic weekend takes away from and its not the most comfortable. Last minor thing I did email the hotel and ask if they could do something special in the room because we were getting engaged but never got a reply (perhaps people try that on all the time but did say I would pay for it). Anyway thoroughly enjoyed it and would recommend a stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Damien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Reviewer
Many thanks indeed for sharing your feedback with us.I was delighted to read all of the positives in your review but I must apologise for falling short in the areas you mentioned.I am glad to hear you enjoyed your overall stay and your recommendation is most kind. I am truly sorry that we did not get back to you in regards to your request. I do hope that you will return to Waterford Castle and that we can make it even more special for you on that occasion.
Kind Regards
Derek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

I brought my husband to Waterford Castle for a meal for his birthday and it was so special, a meal we will remember for a long time. The dining room was beautiful,high ceilings,beautiful decor,tasteful music,attentive staff and most important spectacular food.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone for a special occasion as we were made to feel like we were the only people in the whole castle and we will definitely return in the summer to explore the walks around the castle grounds.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susiemc15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for finding the time to give us such wonderful feedback. Your review was a delight for us to read and we greatly appreciate your compliments and recommendation.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the summer or if not sooner!
Kind Regards
Derek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Although we only stayed for one night in this hotel, it was a fabulous experience! The room we had was spacious and clean, and very quiet. It was our first time staying in a castle and you really knew you were in an old medieval building from the moment you walked into the lobby. The staff were very friendly and chatty. The food was excellant as well. The main hotel only has 19 rooms in total, so be sure to book well in advance. It would be an ideal location for a small wedding also as it would provide great intimacy for a group.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aido_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
187 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Waterford Castle is an amazing hotel in a genuine castle on the outskirts of Waterford city. From the moment you enter this comfortable oasis you'll feel cared for from the huge welcoming fire to the well porportioned bedrooms with their antique furniture and the friendly and very helpful staff are so welcoming. The dining room serves up some of the best hotel food I've ever tasted and the breakfast, served in the conservatory, will fill you for the day - they even have a "fish of the day" choice on the breakfast menu! It can be pretty expensive but visit their website as they do deals from time to dine that include 2 or 3 nights B&B plus a dinner - at very affordable prices. It's a great location if you're visiting Waterford or touring around the South-East and it's an experience you will not forget. Cant wait to get abck there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bsfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for for taking the time to post your review. We were delighted to read your commentary and it will be a pleasure to share with all at the Castle. It gives us great pride to hear that it was an experience you will not forget.
We sincerely look forward to welcomong you back.
Kind Regards
Derek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The castle its self is very nice and very clean. The staff was friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was very good and lots of variety. The whole area was very well maintained. Would love to stay there again! Very cool to take a small boat to get to the private island the Castle is on.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Reviewer
We greatly appreciate the time you have taken to share your feedback. It was wonderful to read of your findings with staff friendliness and welcome.
We would love for you stay with us again and will promise to deliver the cool factor with the small boat again.
Kind Regards
Derek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterford
2.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#1 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 stars 902 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 stars 835 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#6 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 stars 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
2.6 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#8 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 stars 1,096 reviews
1.7 mi away
Athenaeum House Hotel
Athenaeum House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 stars 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort

Address: The Island | Ballinakill, Waterford X91 Y722, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#2 Family Hotel in Waterford
#7 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on its own private Island on the River Suir, Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort offers 4 Star Luxury Castle Accommodation nestled in the suburbs of Waterford City.Feel yourself travel through time as you make the magical journey by our complimentary Car Ferry to the 310 acre Island Resort.With an amazing history stretching back to the 6th century, wake up in Waterford Castle Hotel Ireland after a peaceful night’s sleep to the picturesque and enchanting scenes and sounds the island has to offer. Enjoy gourmet food served in our award winning Munster room restaurant and Fitzgerald Bar or simply relax by the large open fire in 16th Century surroundings.For family, group or self catering in Waterford our Island Garden Lodges are the perfect place to experience the South East.Island Activities include our 18 hole Championship Golf Course, our fantastic tennis courts, clay Pigeon Shooting or croquet on the Castle lawns.Waterford Castle also provides a stunning Irish castle wedding venue for an unforgettable Wedding Day. Imagine… A legendary Castle, on an Island Haven; exclusively yours. All in all Waterford Castle Hotel and golf resort provides a luxury destination to escape from life itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterford Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing