We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the lodges” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterford Castle Hotel

Save Saved
You added Waterford Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waterford Castle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Island, Ballinakill, Waterford, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Waterford
Naas, Ireland
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Loved the lodges”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I stayed the night of the office Christmas party and shared a lodge with 3 coworkers.
The lodge was lovely, fitted to a very high standard and the bed was the most comfortable bed I've slept with in a long time.
The lodge is basically a three bedroom house with a large open plan kitchen and sitting room, two of the three bedrooms en suite, a downstairs toilet and a main bathroom upstairs. All is very spacious, you'd happily live in one of them.
They are a bit of a trek to the Castle - we ended up driving up and down.
Definitely recommended if you are a big enough party or a family.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Reviewer
Thank you very much for posting such a positive review. We were delighted to read of your findings with the lodges at Waterford Castle. I hope you enjoyed your Christmas Party.
We appreciate the recommendation you have given us and we greatly look forward to having you return.
Wishing you a very Happy Christmas.
Kind Regards
Derek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    156
    70
    42
    15
See reviews for
201
324
6
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My family and I stayed in one of waterford castles lodges in mid November.

It was late when we arrived but as we got off the ferry (5 minutes outside waterford city) the adventure began for my 7 year old ( and my 17 year old- but she'll deny it!) as two deer's trotted across the road! We then checked in with very friendly and helpful staff. We Followed the map to our lodge/ house. On the way we spotted a fox and a badger! (None of us had seen a badger before! - sad I know,) it was a lovely start to a very relaxing weekend.

The lodge was beautiful so spacious, the glass panel on the stairs was a lovely feature as is the glass doors into the open plan sitting room and kitchen.
The lodge/ house was lovely and warm and so inviting. The fire was lit and the heating was obviously on a while as it was freezing outside.

We had brought milk tea and coffee with us but there was no need as there was enough there to get us through the night.

Next we had a fight for the rooms. All very well presented. Spotlessly clean. Loads of towels, shampoo, etc.

All of the rooms had a lovely view, two were of the golf course and the main one was out the front but you could still watch the golfers strolling around the course from there.

The deer's have free rain running across the course too. You also get the odd dog racing around loving the freedom.

I have to say it was the best sleep I've had in years!! So good I even pulled off the sheet to get a photo of the make of the mattress. (The next best sleep I had was in the wine port lodge in athlone).

After breakfast we went for a stroll around the grounds. The dog loved the freedom as he couldn't go too far as it is a island so we weren't worried about him running off.( he's a bit thick). I did ring before we arrived to see if dogs were allowed and was told there was no problem to bring him along. There is a charge (€37 I think) but it was still cheeper to bring him than put him in kennels where he wouldn't have been happy as he sleeps indoors.

Afterwards we went into waterford to shop. No shortage of good shops there. We went out to dinner in waterford that night.

Again slept like a log. The showers are really powerful you could stay in them all day. But check out is at 11am!! Way to early if you've been out on the town. Your also fined €10 for every half hour your late checking out! Thought this was a bit too much. But we were up on time so I don't know if they do actually fine you.

We got a great deal on pigs back.com. The houses sleep 6 in 3 bedrooms. Two are en-suite.

I will definitely return and have already booked to go again in the new year. Again we got the offer on pigs back.com €175 for 2 nights for up to 6 people.

The best sleep I've ever had!!

I'd give it 9.5 out of 10. It's loosing the .5 because of the early check out! That's my only fault with it. Highly recommend it for a lovely relaxing break in beautiful surroundings.



  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Reviewer
We appreciate the time you have taken to share your views with us. It was a pleasure to read your review which was most complimentary indeed. To hear that you describe your stay with the words 'The Best Sleep Ever' is most gratifying.Thank you for your strong recommendation along with an extremely high rating. In relation to the late check out charge, I am sure you will understand that this is just an internal policy to assist incoming guests. As with all policies these are essentially guidelines which more than often we tend to bend the rules on !
We look forward to having you return to Waterford Castle
Kind Regards
Derek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

After a nice stay spoiled somewhat by poor food and service in the bar earlier this year, we went back in July and had a great time - all good, food and service spot on.
Well done on getting customer service right.

Room Tip: stayed in a lodge, nice modern bright well equipped three bed houses
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Reviewer
Thank you very much indeed for sharing your feedback. We were delighted to read of your experience and we are most grateful that you have returned and noticed improvements.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Derek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
county cork
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed there early nov with two friends . We had afternoon tea which we didn't enjoy at all the bread was hard and obviously the sandwiches had been made wih a while the nicest part of the tea was the scones we did complain to waiter ( a lovely guy) but he never came back to us on it. When we got to the bedroom we were gobsmacked the room was absolutely freezing there was two single beds in the bedroom wit single quilts and king size covers ??? Because there was three of us a bed had been made up in the sitting room why they couldn't leave it to make up later that night I don't understand , we tried in vain to get the rads to work and in the end had to ring reception a lovely Italian duty manager came up got the heat workin eventually .. At that stage we were numb . The tv was inside in the bedroom which meant the three of us sat on the bed to watch the news... The duty manager did in fairness offer us another room with the tv in the sitting room but you just couldn't stick the cold in their we had the dressing gowns on.. Dinner was so disappointing the starter of risotto was bland and my friends soup was only Luke warm fillet steak was well seasoned and tasted good but the veg was disappointing and so was the potato gratin it looked and tasted as if 'twas made a few days. Desert was ok .. Breakfast the following morning was ok good variety and fresh that was the best part of our stay.. When we checked out they never even asked us were we happy with our stay .. Have to stay we were so looking forward to our stay we were left gob smacked !! So so disappointing !!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for finding the time to share your feedback. As you may imagine we were extremely dissapointed to read of your experience at Waterford Castle.I believe that a work colleague sent an email to follow up with you and I am sorry that our lines of communication do not seem to be effective. I must apologise for letting you down and I would welcome the opportunity to discuss things with you. I would ask you please to contact Waterford Castle and ask for me directly.
Kind Regards
Derek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athy, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

A group of us stayed in the lodges in the island. The lodge had 3 double rooms, 2 with en suites and all had a balcony. It was great as we brought BBQ stuff and we had our own outdoor seated area. The sitting room and kitchen were huge and had everything we needed. We have gone back and will go again. The too sweet very modern and beds were comfy.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We were delighted to read of your approval and satisfaction of our lodges. It is great to hear that you have already come back and intend to come again. We are grateful for your complimentary review and we look forward to having you back.
Kind Regards
Derek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, UK
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My wife and I booked a room here at the last minute after leaving another hotel that had severely disappointed us. From the moment we crossed onto the island on the ferry we knew this would be different. We were welcomed at the door by Christina and made to feel at home. At her suggestion we took the scenic walk that traveled around part of the island. Aside from being a little muddy from recent rainfall, it was a beautiful walk and we even saw a herd of deer that lives on the island. Later we sat down to an exquisite meal at the restaurant that showcased Chef Quinn's obvious talent. The breakfast was also good and the hardest thing to do in the morning was leave. Would stay here again in an instant. Was a perfect castle experience to cap off our holiday!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Reviewer
Thank you very much for finding the time to share your feedback. We were delighted to read your review which was most complimentary. It will be a pleasure to pass your commendations on to the staff members you have recognised. Thank you again for such a seal of approval.
We look forward to having you back at Waterford Castle and hope you can stay longer the next time.
Kind Regards
Derek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Had our wedding here in April. Amazing location and staff. From the planning of the event through the wedding day itself, everything went very smoothly. Many guests were in Ireland for the first time and Waterford Castle left a very positive impression on everyone. Food was top class. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Go for one of the suites. They are all amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Reviewer
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We were delighted to read such a complimentary review and to learn that Waterford Castle left a very positive impression makes us immensely proud of what we do. We are sincerely grateful for your high recommendation and we greatly look forward to having you back.
Kind Regards
Derek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterford Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Castle Hotel

Address: The Island, Ballinakill, Waterford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#3 Family Hotel in Waterford
#3 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterford Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on its own private Island on the River Suir, Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort offers 4 Star Luxury Castle Accommodation nestled in the suburbs of Waterford City.Feel yourself travel through time as you make the magical journey by our complimentary Car Ferry to the 310 acre Island Resort.With an amazing history stretching back to the 6th century, wake up in Waterford Castle Hotel Ireland after a peaceful night’s sleep to the picturesque and enchanting scenes and sounds the island has to offer. Enjoy gourmet food served in our award winning Munster room restaurant and Fitzgerald Bar or simply relax by the large open fire in 16th Century surroundings.For family, group or self catering in Waterford our Island Garden Lodges are the perfect place to experience the South East.Island Activities include our 18 hole Championship Golf Course, our fantastic tennis courts, clay Pigeon Shooting or croquet on the Castle lawns.Waterford Castle also provides a stunning Irish castle wedding venue for an unforgettable Wedding Day. Imagine… A legendary Castle, on an Island Haven; exclusively yours. All in all Waterford Castle Hotel and golf resort provides a luxury destination to escape from life itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Waterford Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterford Castle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterford Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;