We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed in the Presidential Suite at a Castle on an island.....does it get better?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterford Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Waterford Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Waterford Castle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Island, Ballinakill, Waterford, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Waterford
Largo, Florida
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Stayed in the Presidential Suite at a Castle on an island.....does it get better?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Waterford Castle was owned for generation after generation by the same family, going back to Norman times. There were things there before them. The city and the island on which the Castle sits are loaded with history. We were there the week before St. Patrick's Day and found a great deal on the Presidential Suite. It was our anniversary, and was a highlight of our trip staying in the Suite....the suite is bigger than some houses; it was quite grande. Everything was huge....and very quiet. We opened the windows at night, and only heard animals in the woods. It has older furniture, but it all adds up to what you would expect a castle to be.

We enjoyed dinner in the restaurant and had breakfast in the living room of the suite a couple of times. Both were scrumptious.

To get to the Castle, you have a take a very short ferry ride across the river. The wait for the ferry was never longer than 5 minutes, and the ride itself might be that long. Driving into town was a breeze. Tons of history around Waterford. The Irish 3 color flag was flown there for the first time, and the Viking settlement goes back over a millenium. They like to say it is older and has more history than all of Northern Europe's capitols.

The staff were all super-attentive. One person even made a special trip into town to get some laundry done for us.

The only possible downside was trying to take a nap one afternoon...we were kept up by skeet shooting...but how cool is that?

Room Tip: Find a deal on the Presidential suite, even if it is off-season. You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KerryEllen, Sales & Marketing at Waterford Castle Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

I'd like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the full splendor of the Presidential Suite for your anniversary. It is also great to see that you had an opportunity to take in the history that surrounds Waterford City.

I hope you get an opportunity to visit us again,
Best Wishes
Kerry Dunne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    163
    72
    43
    16
See reviews for
208
338
7
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We got married in Waterford Castle last December and it was the most beautiful and romantic setting we could have imagined. We currently live in Australia so we organised everything from overseas. Gillian was so helpful with our planning and all of our guest’s commented on how helpful and nice the staff were for the whole weekend. The venue is so lovely and intimate and its charm just shines through. Also at Christmas the setting was fabulous with the tree and fire.
We held a dinner in the golf club on the Friday night for a lot of our guests. The room was done lovely and it was a really nice way to start the weekend. Unfortunately there was a wedding on the Friday night so we could not stay in the castle but the lodges are lovely and really spacious. They are a really good option especially for families.
The day couldn’t have gone any better and the food was amazing...so many people said that it was the best wedding food they have ever had. Steaks were cooked to order which was a really special touch and the quail pie we had for starters was divine. Everyone’s glasses were always refreshed and the reception room looked amazing.
The following day was really enjoyable starting with a lovely cooked breakfast. We had clay pigeon shooting on the grounds in the afternoon and afterwards wedding cake and tea/coffee was served by the fire to all our guests. Our families stayed down for the Sunday night also and we had a lovely early bird dinner.
We could not have wished for a more perfect wedding venue and loved everything about the whole weekend. We are really looking forward to spending our future anniversaries there and will definitely be making a visit next time we are home.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KerryEllen, Sales & Marketing at Waterford Castle Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your review of Weddings at Waterford Castle, I am very happy to see that your special day here was everything you had hoped and dreamed for. I have passed your lovely comments onto all of our staff including Gillian, who were all delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. I hope that Waterford Castle will be a special place for you for many anniversaries to come.
Best Wishes
Kerry Dunne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

EVERYTHING about this place was exceptional. From the moment we drove off the punt and meandered up the tree lined driveway and entered the grand entrance hall, complete with a huge fireplace and waiting staff, there was a feeling that we had left the 'real' world behind and had been temporarily transported into another life....much like i imagine royalty live! The rooms were beautifully cozy, the bathroom perfectly antiquated, the bar serene with attentive service and huge windows overlooking the colourful gardens that encompass the whole of the island and a breakfast room with food and service fit for a queen. A truly unique and value for money experience! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Room Tip: We got a room facing the front driveway and loved the view but I think most rooms on this island oas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KerryEllen, Sales & Marketing at Waterford Castle Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your wonderful review of Waterford Castle, I am delighted to see that our staff made you feel like you were in another world and that you had an opportunity to explore the island. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Kerry Dunne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

If you are looking to experience an old castle with great food, this is the place for you. The public areas of this hotel are covered in old oak pannelling and the reception has an enormous open fire place. The restaurant is really atmospheric and breakfast is served in the conservatory. Most of the grounds on the Island are laid out as a golf course but there is one maked walk by the water. I stayed in the lodges which are of a 5 star quality.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KerryEllen, Sales & Marketing at Waterford Castle Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and the atmosphere in our Munster Room Restaurant. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the hotel on Trip Advisor and I hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again.

Many Thanks
Kerry Dunne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

I recently stayed in Waterford Castle for my fiancé's birthday. The entire weekend was very relaxed and we were made to feel very welcome. A bottle of wine had been left in our room which was a lovely touch! The room itself was lovely, very cosy and my fiancé made good use of the roll-top bath! We had a meal in the "Munster Room" which was a lovely experience. A live pianist played in the background as we enjoyed each delicious course. A particularly lovely touch was when the dessert was brought out. The pianist played "Happy Birthday" and the staff had put a candle in the dessert + "Happy Birthday" written around the plate, there were genuine tears of joy at that moment and such a lovely touch! I expected quite a formal atmosphere as it is quite a spectacular venue but it was quite the opposite. There were standards (smart casual clothes at dinner), but at no point did it ever feel awkward or pushed on you. This is one of the few hotels we have stayed at that we were sad to leave, we will be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KerryEllen, Sales & Marketing at Waterford Castle Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, I am glad to see that you and your fiancé enjoyed your stay with us and in particular the meal you had. I will be sure to pass this onto all of our restaurant team and pianist, who will be delighted to hear you both enjoyed such a special occasion. We looking forward to having the chance to delight you once again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Kerry Dunne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Attended a small function in the conservatory off the main dining room and the whole experience was exquisite. The room was beautifully set out and very athmospheric. The food was excellent, a good choice and prepared to the highest standard. Only snag was that the vegetables were served a little late into the main course. Everything top class. I will definitely return to have dinner here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KerryEllen, Sales & Marketing at Waterford Castle Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
I'd like to thank you for your recent review of Waterford Castle, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. Our team of Chefs take great pride in the food they use and are always happy to hear such positive feedback. I also appreciate your constructive feedback regarding our service of vegetables for main course, in the future we will ensure that this service is more prompt. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Stayed in the lodges in Waterfird castle last weekend with friends.The houses are fab,warm,spacious,and everything you would need .We had dinner in the Castle and although it is a bit expensive ,it is worth it for a special occasion,the food is fantastic,the dining room has charm and elegance and the staff throughout are friendly and very helpful.. definately worth a visit..we will be back.Highly recomend !!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian O, Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our lodges and that the food in the Castle and staff that looked after you would encourage you to return! We hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind Regards
Gillian O'Dea
Wedding & Events Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterford Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Castle Hotel

Address: The Island, Ballinakill, Waterford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#3 Business Hotel in Waterford
#4 Family Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterford Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on its own private Island on the River Suir, Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort offers 4 Star Luxury Castle Accommodation nestled in the suburbs of Waterford City.Feel yourself travel through time as you make the magical journey by our complimentary Car Ferry to the 310 acre Island Resort.With an amazing history stretching back to the 6th century, wake up in Waterford Castle Hotel Ireland after a peaceful night’s sleep to the picturesque and enchanting scenes and sounds the island has to offer. Enjoy gourmet food served in our award winning Munster room restaurant and Fitzgerald Bar or simply relax by the large open fire in 16th Century surroundings.For family, group or self catering in Waterford our Island Garden Lodges are the perfect place to experience the South East.Island Activities include our 18 hole Championship Golf Course, our fantastic tennis courts, clay Pigeon Shooting or croquet on the Castle lawns.Waterford Castle also provides a stunning Irish castle wedding venue for an unforgettable Wedding Day. Imagine… A legendary Castle, on an Island Haven; exclusively yours. All in all Waterford Castle Hotel and golf resort provides a luxury destination to escape from life itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Waterford Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterford Castle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterford Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.