We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful location for a magical wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterford Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Waterford Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Waterford Castle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Island, Ballinakill, Waterford, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“beautiful location for a magical wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in December for a friend's wedding.

Our accommodation was in the lodges which are in the castle lodges, approximately 10-15 minutes walk from the main castle. The lodge consisted of three double bedrooms, two with en-suite and also a separate bathroom. The lodge was large, extremely spacious and comfortable.

We visited the castle for the wedding breakfast and reception. The surroundings are just magical. The castle was beautifully decorated for Christmas (see profile pic) and the staff were incredibly attentive and helpful. As were leaving early the next morning, we required the ferry at 6am. The hotel receptionist was helpful and assured us there would be no problem with this.

The food at the wedding breakfast was exceptional and highly recommended.

Overall this was a wonderful, romantic experience and hopefully one I will repeat :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian O, Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank so much for your lovely review of the lodges and experience of the Island. We really appreciate the lovely comments and I have passed them on to the staff in the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you to the again in the future.
Kind Regards
Gillian O'Dea
Wedding & Events Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    176
    74
    43
    17
See reviews for
220
354
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We had a magical wedding at Waterford Castle on 3rd December 2011. The castle is unique, authentic, cosy and warm...in contrast the lodges are sleek, modern with a real wow factor...the ferry is fun and quirky...the grounds are green, vibrant and teeming with wildlife...the food is a dream...the service attentive... and the staff....well...Gillian helped us create our dream wedding, Adrian charmed and ensured the day ran smoothly and Kerry made us feel special and welcome...all in all the PERFECT wedding venue and a place we will treasure and visit on our anniversaries for years to come...thank you...none of our guests wanted to leave.

Room Tip: The presidential suite is amazing for a real princess experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian O, Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
JennyMac2,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We really enjoyed welcoming you throughout the planning of your wedding and then the culmination of all the organisation with the big day itself ! We know we will see you soon and definately for your anniversary, I hope!
Thanks again,
Very Warm Regards
Gillian O'Dea
Wedding & Events Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

My husband and I were not able to spend Christmas together this year, so we decided on a pre-Christmas mini break. We arrived on the Island later in the day, but not too late, as the sky was still bright enough for us to be able to see the group of deer out on the golf green.

Our room was small, but we were very happy with the bathroom including the large clawfoot bathtub. I found the room decor was not outdated, as some reviewers had mentioned, but really fit well with the atmosphere of the chateau.

One thing both my husband and I highly recommend is dinner in the hotel's dinning room. We both had staters and mains, while sharing a dessert; as well we enjoyed the chef's chosen red wine of the week. The food was delicious and despite what seemed like smaller portions, we were both absolutely stuffed. Excellent.

Make sure to also walk around the island, as the scenery is beautiful, no matter what time of year.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian O, Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for choosing us to spend such a special break away together. We pride ourselves on our food and it is always lovely to hear that it was the highlight of someones stay with us. We hope to see you again during 2012.
Kind Regards
Gillian O'Dea
Wedding & Events Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

Waterford Castle is exactly that but its also on a private island. The ferry over gives you the sense of escaping from the world and between this and the deer along the beautiful drive, lets you feel very special indeed. The building itself is lovely. The service from all staff members we met was excellent. I couldn't fault them. In addition we had a baby with us and everyone was more than accommodating.

Meals were very enjoyable. Breakfast was great with plenty of selection. The dinner option is prix fixe but there's an early bird option for 32.95 that was very good value for those who dine early (baby) or don't want to spend the full dinner amount.

Bathrooms were nice with big claw-foot tubs and the old style toilets with the raised tank. They work perfectly - no complaint here, it actually adds to the ambiance. Beds were comfortable. Rooms were clean and nicely furnished with antique-styled chairs etc. My only suggestion would be that some of the rooms need a little refurbishment in terms of keeping the wallpaper & other details fresh looking. Its worn in spots or there were scratches and marks on bedside tables etc. I would happily pay more per night if it were 'perfect' in this way.

It really is a singular 'experience'. The grounds were lovely for walking around with families and you could tire them out in this way. I will definitely recommend this to anyone visiting Waterford.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian O, Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to give some feedback on your stay with us and I'm delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay.
We have taken on board your comments on your room also and are always working to improve.
We hope to see you again soon!
Kind Regards
Gillian O'Dea
Wedding & Events Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Just back from a stay at Waterford Castle. There is no question that it is charming from the outset. It is set on a private island and can only be accessed via private ferry. The private driveway up to the castle is full of twists and turns and adds to the anticipation. We arrived around 5pm on a winters day so it was already dark and the Castle looked stunning, there with hurricane lamps outside the large arched doors and i can only describe it like "Hogwarts" ! (This is a good thing). The reception area is very informal, it is a desk in the main grand hall so it is unimposing as a reception which is nice, you do feel as though you are in someones home (albeit a very grand home). The fireplace and architecture are wonderful, the christmas tree was up when we went in and people were sitting around on the large sofas reading papers and enjoying music. We were shown to our room which was furnished inkeeping with the surroundings and the bathroom was very big with a central roll top bath. We got ourselves changed and went to the bar and enjoyed some drinks. My husband commented how utterly relaxing it was just sitting in the wing back chairs with the fire on and soaking up the atmosphere. We had dinner in the restaurant at around 8pm, the menu was a set price which we thought was great as we knew beforehand what we would be spending. Some of our choices included, curried parsnip soup, quail pie on a bed of creamed leeks (stunning and not heavy as "pie" often suggests), Shrimp risotto with parmesan, Fillet of beef with potted ox tail, haunch of venison with individual venison wellington, chocolate brownie with coffee ice cream and panacotta flavoured with rosemary. Sounds a lot, I know, portions were a fair size, not too big and certainly not too small, we received complimentary glasses of fizz as it was our anniversary. The staff were courteous and most importantly not intrusive which i hate. One girl in particular ( i did not get her name which is a shame as i would have mentioned her) was extremely nice and made us feel relaxed and at home. The room was light by lamps and candles and a gentleman played piano in the corner, I cannot fault anything about it as it was all just perfect. In the morning we went for breakfast and i underrstood the breakfast had won awards so I was looking forward to that. There was a good selection of juices, cereals, pastries etc and then there was the cooked option. I had full irish (minus egg and mushroom as i hate those), the bacon was unbelievably salty, that is no ones fault and the choices on the cooked menu seemed good, scrambled eggs with salmon through it and there was also kippers, a good selection. The only downside to the whole experience and it's not even a big deal but the difference in the attitude of the breakfast staff compared with the dinner staff was night and day. The breakfast staff (one older girl in particular) seemed asthough we were inconveniencing them by being there. She showed us to our seat and said she would be back to take the hot food order, she came over a while later and grunted "you want eggs or anything" which was the first thing i noticed then someone else was left sitting and had to ask her if they could order hot food and she kept walking past then and said "yeah just give me a minute", i know this sounds petty but she was obviously wanting to be someplace else. All in all the place was fabulous, tucked away, atmospheric, value for money, the only reason I am not giving it 5 stars is because there is no spa and i was so in the mood for a massage!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian O, Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your wonderful review and all of your positive comments. Thank you also for your feedback on breakfast which will help us to improve the service that we offer. Happy anniversary and we hope to welcome you back for another relaxing stay soon.
Kind Regards
Gillian O'Dea
Wedding and Events Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

Waterford Castle was a fabulous place to stay for a Family Wedding.
My Husband and myself were amazed at the splendour of the Castle as it came into view.
We were impressed with the food and would recommend visitors to dine at the Castle.
Some of the guests stayed in the lodges nearby, and they catered for themselves, but eating at the Castle for the wedding breakfast.
We had a standard room and found it was a wee bit small, a small fridge and tea making facilities would have been nice and I was surprised to find the room didn't have either, also the lighting consisted of two bedside lamps that did not throw out enough light for my liking The excellence of the place and views of the countryside were absolutely wonderful.
Would return again no problem.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian O, Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Dear Reviewer,
We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us overall and the wedding that you attended! We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards
Gillian O'Dea
Wedding and Events Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

I just thought has to write down my thoughts on what an amazing place this castle is. My family hosted a wedding there last weekend and from start to finish the staff could not have done any more for us. Gillian is a credit to the hotel and in fact should be bottled!
The location of the castle is magical as you are on your own island but its the extras that give it that special feel. The food the rooms the heat the cleanliness the whole vibe was just amazing. I cannot over emphasise how brilliant the place is and if you are travelling to Waterford you MUST check it out. Its a hidden treasure.......

Room Tip: I stayed in the Rose Room which was a large corner suite fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterfordcastle, Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2011
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your lovely comments. Im delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us and hope to be able to welcome you again. Best wishes to the happy couple in their future together.
Kind regards
Louise McNamara
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterford Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Castle Hotel

Address: The Island, Ballinakill, Waterford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#4 Family Hotel in Waterford
#4 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterford Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on its own private Island on the River Suir, Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort offers 4 Star Luxury Castle Accommodation nestled in the suburbs of Waterford City.Feel yourself travel through time as you make the magical journey by our complimentary Car Ferry to the 310 acre Island Resort.With an amazing history stretching back to the 6th century, wake up in Waterford Castle Hotel Ireland after a peaceful night’s sleep to the picturesque and enchanting scenes and sounds the island has to offer. Enjoy gourmet food served in our award winning Munster room restaurant and Fitzgerald Bar or simply relax by the large open fire in 16th Century surroundings.For family, group or self catering in Waterford our Island Garden Lodges are the perfect place to experience the South East.Island Activities include our 18 hole Championship Golf Course, our fantastic tennis courts, clay Pigeon Shooting or croquet on the Castle lawns.Waterford Castle also provides a stunning Irish castle wedding venue for an unforgettable Wedding Day. Imagine… A legendary Castle, on an Island Haven; exclusively yours. All in all Waterford Castle Hotel and golf resort provides a luxury destination to escape from life itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Waterford Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterford Castle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterford Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.