We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great balance between old character and modern facilities and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Granville Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Granville Hotel to your Saves list
Granville Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Quay, Waterford, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Killorglin, Ireland
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Great balance between old character and modern facilities and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We were really pleased with our stay here as it reeks with Irish and USA history based on the lives of previous owners .
Personally, we were interested in the history of the Bianconi coach business which operated from here since the 1840s and which had a pit stop at our home in Kerry !
Service was friendly in the good old Irish tradition.
Dinner was excellent fresh hake cooked as a scampi, just perfectly.
Bedrooms were spacious , spotless and full of character.
We intend to stay here again in a few weeks' time.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    175
    58
    27
    14
See reviews for
109
286
16
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A lovely hotel, as nice a place as anyone could ask for. The place is old, no surprise there but very well maintained, clean and friendly. I cannot speak of parking since we arrived by bus but the manager of the establishment came out to introduce himself, warned us that the sidewalk could be slippery, there was a very light rain at the time, offered help or an umbrella to anyone needing it and set a great tone for a great stay. It's right around the corner from some interesting sights and shopping of a utilitarian nature such as a pharmacy. Waterford factory less than 10 minutes away. And now when I am around people who root for Notre Dame football I can speak of Thomas Meagher.

One thing I would say though is that we had portage of bags and the zippers on mine were open when we arrived at our next location in Dublin. I had been VERY careful to have them completely closed before putting the bag at the hotel room door so my suggestion is put a lock on your bag before it gets set in a hallway. No accusations here because we had portage at the other end of the days travel, just beware and careful.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Dublin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Here’s my balance sheet about this hotel:
Negatives:
No car park attached and no means of setting down outside – you have to cross an extremely busy road carrying your luggage from the nearest Quay pay car park. There is an arrangement for free parking from 5 p.m. to 12 p.m. but the hotel uses “p.m.” instead of “noon” and this can cause misunderstandings – is 12 p.m. midnight or noon?
There is only one small lift situated at one end of a long horizontal building so that if your room is at the other extreme end, you have to negotiate a series of undulating corridors with up and down steps to reach there. The beds in the room we occupied, though very comfortable otherwise, were extremely short – certainly not suitable for anyone over 1.8 metres.
Positives:
Prime location: Walk out the front door and find yourself right in the heart of the town. The food is great with a choice of dining room or bar service. The staff are friendly and efficient.
Top tip: Make sure to sample the porridge for breakfast. The Granville porridge is unique and you will find yourself coming back for more…..

Room Tip: Rooms at front of hotel facing river have best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

As the Granville Hotel in Waterford city is situated on the now re developed quays it makes it even more difficult to get parked except that there is a public car park across the road which makes it a challenge to get across as its always busy even on a Sunday.
I was in Waterford over Easter and went with my sister for lunch in the Granville. We had a pre lunch tipple in the bar before being seated by the window in the dining room. As my sister is a vegetarian the menu had only two choices none of which suited her and with the help of the waitress very patient I may add, going to and fro from the kitchen the chef came up with a meal suitable for her.
I had fish cakes to start with and a beautiful lamb dinner with all the trimmings piping hot and we were asked a number of times "was everything alright" dessert was a scrummy chocolate brownie with homemade ice cream, a POT of coffee followed something which is very rare now anywhere.
Including a bottle of wine the bill came to under €70. For what we had it was extremely the good value we could see why its a popular hotel for food and very friendly staff made it a place to go back to in the future.
Its such a pity that this well established hotel is situated on a very busy road. Waterford city Council have a lot to answer for in destroying access to their lovely historic city with the horrible road dis-improvements they carried out.

Room Tip: I cannot comment on the noise level but as it on the quayside in Waterford it could be noisy .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Myself and my partner recently stayed there for one night only, having ridden off the ferry at Rosslare. We were treated to the booking by my mother who we were riding to see in Kerry. We had ridden 220 miles in UK and 70 in Ireland, and arrived at the hotel somewhat fatigued. The lady behind reception was so friendly, on seeing we were on a motorbike, allowed us to store it not in the open car park opposite, but the side storage garage; meant for deliveries etc. When I asked about booking the restaurant, she said that would be no problem, but we would probably relax in a more informal setting such as the bar, also sporting a good menu and live music. She obviously could read my mind, as we wanted to chill in a casual manner. The bar food menu was very good as was the quality of the food (especially the Seafood Chowder). The next morning, at breakfast, we were served at the table (thank God not the buffet shuffle). What was also nice our waitress was local and informative. We wanted to spend a few hours in Waterford, and as we were on top the Viking Quarter; the hotel looked after our motorcycle and associated equipment. The building is historic and classy, lots of character. Will return.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PANAMA CITY BEACH
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for three nights on our trip to Ireland. This is an older hotel in the historic district of town. The rate was more than fair (around $95 for a 2 person double a night on Expedia) and it actually included breakfast. The room was quaint, albeit a bit dated.Tub was sizable and room was small but for European room standards, not that bad. The worst part about it is that you haul your luggage up a few stairs into the lobby, get the luggage inside to the elevator, get off the elevator, go through doors to get to hallway, go up another set of stairs part the way down the hallway, walk another 30 feet, go down another set of stairs then to your room. Now, if you've got nothing but a tiny bag, fine, but if you're the typical American female who cannot put two weeks of clothing into one carryone bag, you've probably got a purse, a big suitcase and a smaller carry on? Yeah, lug THOSE up this contraption....along the lines of who though this was a good idea? Anyway, Room was cute, but a pain to get to. There was a small desk with coffee & tea making but no minibar, you can ask for ice at the bar. Room service is basically a list of two or three cold sandwiches after a certain time so don't pay attention to the 24 hour room service, for 2 tiny cold sandwiches, a coke it was like 30 euros.... The bed was pretty awful, it seems to be a trend in the older and in many European hotels to find the hardest, flattest brick bed they can find and throw a cover over it. Maybe they are of the opinion that you don't actually need to SLEEP while in a room? Or somehow that the cheap bricks won't matter? Awful....After a long day of walking up & down hills and stairs and trying to see the sights, you are tired and want a COMFORTABLE place to rest. This isn't it. That said, I cannot say I'd ever return when I go back to Ireland because of the beds. The staff, were all friendly, breakfast was substantial.

Room Tip: get one where you don't have to go up and down stairs after you get off the elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed on 14th April as I was working in Waterford. The young lady in the bar was excellent and couldn't have been more helpful. The room was well set with a good strong shower (all hotels please note!). The breakfast is second to none and a Lady with the Surname of Collins was outstanding!

Keep up the good work

Room Tip: Room 226.... lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Granville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Hotel

Address: The Quay, Waterford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Waterford
#1 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#2 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Granville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Granville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville Hotel Waterford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Granville Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.