We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bar food on a very busy day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Granville Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Granville Hotel to your Saves list
Granville Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Quay, Waterford, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great bar food on a very busy day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Yesterday while in Waterford, my friend and I said we would try the Granville for lunch. There was a huge crowd there due to Graduations in WIT but despite the queue, we hung on in there and waited. What struck me was the friendliness and efficiency of the staff, on what, must have a nightmare day. In the carvery, the food was excellent and my lamb was delicious. The tables were cleared immediately, making room for the next customer. Well done on keeping the standard high on a very busy day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Your comments after your recent visit to the Granville Hotel on Graduation day are very much appreciated. Many thanks for taking the time to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    199
    60
    27
    15
See reviews for
122
328
17
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is family run and when we stayed was packed (late December )
I stayed here before so always try get a room overlooking front of hotels. Other rooms not as nice. Food is standard bar food - roasts spuds cabbage etc in monstrous portions. I suspect hotel does a lot of golden oldie packages from what we saw. Band playing in bar was Margo/joe Dolan/big tom vintage. Breakfast in the tapestry room was like something from 50's. All in all everything is fine, it's clean but it's catering to a certain market...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. Your comments are appreciated and I am glad that all-in all everything was fine. We try to cater to a mixed market and would certainly look forward to your comments when you next visit the hotel. Please ask to be shown some of our back rooms as we have recently completed refurbishment. We have only used the Tapestry twice for breakfast recently and it was an overflow to our main restaurant. We receive great comments about our breakfast but before I use it again for breakfast I will consider your comments and for this I am grateful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterford Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Although this place is local to me a feel I have to write this short review as the service and staff is excellent. Recently awarded their 4th star I dropped in for lunch and was extremely impressed by the quality of food and in particular the service. The bar and eating area is full of old world charm so if your in the area drop in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Delighted that you took the time to write your review. We very much appreciate your comments on the food and service and we are very grateful to all our local customers. Gaining our fourth star was a great achievement for us. We hope it will benefit the hotel and Waterford into the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Our second night in Ireland was spent at the Granville Hotel in Waterford. We booked the bed and breakfast for one night. This is a gorgeous hotel. The staff was wonderful, very friendly, courteous and helpful. Our room was clean and the beds were very comfortable! We closed the window due to vehicle noise from street but a fan was provided in the room for air movement. Nice touch.

The bar was beautiful and several people were coming in for dinner both there and at the main restaurant. I should have noted this and stayed for dinner there but ventured out instead. Needless to say, the the breakfast I experienced at the hotel the following morning was the best. The chef just added his version eggs Benedict to the menu and they were the most fabulous, mouthwatering that I have ever had. His sauce was spectacular and he serves it over a wonderfully moist yeast or potato roll. Eggs Benedict, step aside this Irish version is FABULOUS!

I highly recommend a stay at the granville, steps from shopping, Waterford crystal, overlooks the warf, close to everywhere one would want to be. My only regret is that we didn't stay more nights!

Room Tip: Noise from cars but completely quiet with window closed or chose room facing the back of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. We very much appreciate your kind comments and are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Perhaps the next time you will be able to stay more than one night. It is lovely for all of us to read what you had to say and that our new addition to the breakfast menu Eggs Benedict Waterford style was a big hit. We are very grateful for your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dromore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I had read the reviews about how good the food was in this hotel, so when we were in Waterford last week, we thought we would try to get a meal, as the place only had about 20 people in the bar. But despite waiting for 20 minutes, while 3 bar staff walked past cleaning the floor and chatting we were not asked if we wanted a meal or a drink. So i went up to the bar, and asked if I could order a meal, and was told that someone would be down to our table shortly. But after waiting another 10 minutes, no-one appeared, so we left and found a small restaurant called the Pantry next door, which although hadn't the same style of seats as the Granville, it did provide excellant food. During our 30 minute wait 2 other couples that were sitting close to us, also got tired of waiting to have their order taken and left.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. As you will appreciate we are very concerned when we read such a review. It is clear that some where our procedure broke down and you where left waiting and for this I am truly sorry. By bringing this to our attention we can revisit our procedures and remind everyone what we need to do. The staff has read your review and are very disappointed that they left you waiting and damaged the reputation of the hotel. What would help us to ensure this does not happen again is if you could email the day and the time this happened to rhurley@granville-hotel.ie. Hopefully you will return to the Granville Hotel and see that this incident was a once off. Again my apologies and many thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio U.S.A
Level Contributor
136 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I'm on holiday with my Sister Roseann from American to celebrate her Birthday! We have ventured across all of Ireland and had the greatest of luck to find this wonderful Hotel and Restaurant!
I happened to see its lovely stain glass entrance as we drove down the main street! I had my sister walk in to inquire about room rates and if they had any rooms available? Roseann was meet by the Receptionist, miss Mary, who was as friendly as could be and explained the rates and their specials. What a kind thing to practice being kind and helpful! I stay in a lot of hotels through a lot of them have lost this Professional approach to management! We had a delicious Dinner( I had the seafood chowder soup! it was excellent! I watched a sweet lady pick up a penny as she walked thru the restaurant! I told her in jest that its was a lucky penny and she was going to have a wonderful night! she laughed and introduce me to the gentleman next to her and said her was blessed and lucky all ready, they were the Owners of this charming place. to see the pride and love that those two spoke of this hotel tells me that this why such attention to detail is so important! I write a lot about clean and affordable Hotels and this one is at the top! they have easy access for handicap or elderly persons wanting to stay!
Thank you again for the wonderful memories, Ann and Liam Cusack !

Room Tip: Our room had a bay view and in the morning it revealed a lovely town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterfordhotel, Owner at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We were delighted to have met you and that you enjoyed your visit to the Granville Hotel. We really appreciate your very kind comments and hope you both get the opportunity to visit us again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Level Contributor
73 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Booked through laterooms.com, 89 euros for an executive twin room (one queen bed and one twin bed with view of water through a smaller type window) with cooked to order breakfast included in main dining room. Boutique type hotel with every room decorated differently. Staff very friendly. Excellent central location. Had excellent dinner in hotel restaurant in main dining room. Went for early bird special (5:45-7PM) with plenty of food. Free cookies at front desk. Free parking across from hotel only from 5PM-11AM. Had washclothes, magnifying mirror, complimentary tolietries, safe, desk, shower/tub/free wifi, a/c. Needed to pay for computer in lobby. Nice decor in pub also. Some street noise.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
The time you took to write your review is very much appreciated. From your review you seem to have experienced most of what we try to achieve and excellence is our goal. Perhaps you will get the opportunity to return to the Granville Hotel one day. I am sure this review will direct customers to the Granville and we very much appreciate that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterford hotels
2.2 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel
Waterford Castle Hotel
#2 of 13 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 stars 876 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#4 of 13 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 stars 735 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel
Dooley's Hotel
#5 of 13 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 stars 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#6 of 13 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 stars 743 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#9 of 13 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 stars 972 reviews
0.6 mi away
Athenaeum House Hotel
Athenaeum House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Hotel

Address: The Quay, Waterford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#1 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#1 Family Hotel in Waterford
#2 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Granville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Hotel Waterford overlooks the waterfront & marina in the heart of Waterford City's business & shopping centre. The Granville Hotel, Waterford offers 100 comfortable guestrooms, extensive conference, banqueting and wedding facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Granville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville Hotel Waterford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Granville Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.